• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Maggie II Has Settled In

Apologies on the front end for the long post. It’s the first time I’ve blogged about Maggie I and Maggie II and I guess I had more to say than I realized when I started writing.

On September 7, I had to put my beloved Border Collie, Maggie, to sleep.

 

Maggie and Me 2007

 

Maggie was over 15 years old, which is quite elderly for a BC. It has taken me this long to be able to talk about her. Her death left a hole through my chest large enough to park a semi-truck. Sometimes I felt like I could have leaned over and look straight through me. (Anyone remember the movie with Meryl Streep and Rosanne Barr where neither could die but RB shot a hole through the middle of MS’s body? That’s how it felt.)

I picked Maggie out of her litter when she was 2 weeks old. I went to visit her a couple of times a week until I could bring her home at 6 weeks. She and I were inseparable for years. If I took a shower, she waited on the mat for me. If I went to bed, she went too, even if it was a nap in the middle of the afternoon. She was my shadow for 15 years.

I’d know for the past year that it was only a matter of time before I lost her. I tried to “prepare” myself. My husband and I talked about it. I would wake up at night and make sure she was still breathing. I tried to imagine her not being here. You know what? You can’t really prepare.

And then she was gone.

And I was lost.

The husband wanted to go down to one dog, Jill (our flat coated retriever.) So for two weeks, I wandered around the house, no 4-legged shadow following me. Jill is great, but Maggie had always kept Jill away from me. Jill didn’t spend a lot of time in the den with us (Maggie wouldn’t let her.) But after Maggie was gone, Jill moved into the den with us. Stayed around us all the time. Enjoyed being “only dog.”

I thought I was doing great. I’d cried for a couple of days, but then I’d gone relatively numb. One day we went out to our motorhome to move some thing around. When I picked up Maggie’s food bowl and her toys from there, I just lost it. Sobbing so deep that it hurt my chest.

I had broached the subject of getting another dog, but the hubby wasn’t keen on the idea. That day, he told me to get another dog. I’d been some online “shopping” at www.petfinder.com (the most dangerous website on the internet!! LOL) A week earlier, I’d seen a baby Border Collie at a rescue organization in West Tennessee (Another dangerous website. Just ask my brother-in-law, who adopted a BC after visiting the site!) West Tennessee Border Collie Rescue Without telling my husband, I’d contacted the WTBCR to ask about the baby BC they had rescued. The dog’s name was Maggie. Then, without telling my husband, I’d completed an application for Maggie, telling myself that filling out that paperwork didn’t commit me, right?

The next weekend, Husband went to Memphis and picked up Maggie. She was 16 weeks old and scared to death. In her short life, she’d been in five different “homes” – breeder, first owner (stupid idiot who left her outside in the summer heat), the vet office, the foster home and now my house. She wasn’t very trusting.

This is the first time I met her on September 27, 2010. She is terrified.

At first Jill was NOT HAPPY that we’d brought home a new puppy. 

Look at how Jill is watching the new puppy.

Now, the two of them are BIG buddies. The wrestling, chasing, and general chaos is so much fun to watch. I’m smiling again.

Oh, and I have a nap buddy again.

If you haven’t seen enough pictures of Maggie, I’ll post more on my personal blog

If you’ve made it all the way to the end, thanks for letting me ramble on about finding my smile again.

Tell me about your pets.

6 Responses

  1. […] you’re dropping by here before visiting my group blog, go there and read my post. Then come back here. I’ll […]

  2. So glad to hear she’s fitting in and finding her place! (hugs)

  3. Okay, I’m crying. Because I know how you feel.

    We have dogs. Dogs I love – Georgia and Ike. But there is, and was, no dog like my black and silver minature schnauzer Gatsby. I loved him like he was my child. In fact, he kind of was.

    I have a picture of him I framed when we found out he had cancer. I wrote a poem and we stamped his paws on the back of the picture right beneath the poem. I still can’t talk about him without crying. I know it sounds silly but I loved that dang dog. SO I get you.

    I still keep the papers from the kennel where we bought him so I can go back and get another puppy one day. SOmeday, I’ll go to Richardson, TX and get me a new baby from that same kennel. If they are still up and running.

    Enjoy your new “Maggie” 🙂

  4. Thanks Keri. Maggie II is settling in very well.

    Thanks Liz. I have Maggie I’s ashes on my desk. Her paw print on the letter from the vet. I think that without Maggie II, I might have sunk into a deep funk.

  5. I am glad things are going well between her and Jill.

    I am dreading the day we lose our black lab. He is my husband’s baby and I know without a doubt he is going to cry like a baby. We’ve had Rocky since he was a 6 wks old and he is now going on 13 yrs next month. We even nursed him through heart worms about 5 years ago.

  6. Congratulations on your new family member! That’s terrific! You’re lucky to have each other.

    LindaC

Show us some love and leave a comment!

