It’s NaNoWriMo TIME!

Hope everyone had a very Happy and Safe Halloween!  We enjoyed handing out the candy and seeing all the costumes, some weirder than others.  But my kids don’t want mommy tagging along with them to collect their stash of goodies anymore for some reason.  I just don’t get it. LOL 

With all the chaos October brought with it, I’ve really had to adjust my thinking.  So I’ve taken several deep breaths and come to grips with not making my self-imposed deadline for submitting.  It’s not going to end the world or even my career.  I am allowed to give myself a few more days to get my manuscript to the point at which I can hit the send button and feel good about it.  Although it will still be with a shaky finger.   My good friend Will sent me this video link and I’ve been singing along in my head ever since.  It’s a perfect fit and has been a great motivator.  So thank you, Will!  It really does feel like I gotta a “long way to go and a short time to get there.”

But it can and Will be done!  🙂  And this video goes along great with National Novel Writing Month too!

Now all I have to do is work my NaNo word count, just 1,666 words a day, in there somewhere and I’m good to go!  That’s right.  Today is the first day of NaNoWRIMO.  I will be trudging along with the best of them creating my next masterpiece and enjoying ever second.

Here’s my NaNo ID: mdohno  if you want to join the fun.  Ready, Set, GO! 

Did you dress up for Halloween?  How much candy did you eat?  And most importantly, that is if you are a writer, have you signed up for NANOWRIMO?

12 Responses

  1. 817 words so far this morning! Not great, but not a bad beginning…:)

    Annnnnnnnnnd we’re off!

  2. Go, Will!! I’m so jealous already. LOL 🙂 Keep it going!

  3. I’m catching up, Will! 752 so far! 🙂

  4. nice work you two!

    I’m not nano’ing but I’ve seen several writers this morning in http://writechat.net chasing their wordcount!

    goodluck everyone!

  5. GREAT start, Melissa! Keep it rolling…:)

  6. Go get ’em, Melissa.

    I’m not doing NaNoWriMo, but I should be. I have a manuscript due February 1st. And I’ve writing one chapter. I’m going to be tight on this deadline. So I’ll do NaNo for “pretend” 🙂

  7. Good luck and nice work to both of you! Keep up the good work. 🙂

  8. Thanks, Will! Calling it quits for today with a count of 1827 words. 🙂 Man I forgot how much fun it was to write without worries or rules. LOL Hope you are still going strong!

  9. Due February 1st and one chapter!!! OMGOSH! I’d be freaking out. LOL Liz, the best thing about NANO is the idea of how many people are out there working to meet their goals. Watching those word counts go up is a great motivator for me. I’ve used it to finish up a novel too. So I say go for it! 🙂

  10. Thanks, Jamie!! I hope tomorrow goes as well as today!! Funny how you can start out so strong and then be scrounging for words by the end. I think it has something to do with exhaustion! LOL

  11. You beat me, madame! 1684, and I’m done for the day…:)

  12. This is awesome!!! Go, Will! And for the record, we both Win!!! 🙂 Now time to relax with some Castle!! LOL

Show us some love and leave a comment!

