• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Never a Dull Moment

Will someone please tell me where the month of October slipped off to.  The last thing I remember, we were getting ready for our RWA Chapter conference here in Houston.  Then there is a brief memory of ghouls and goblins running about in the dark of night that resulted in a truck load of chocolate candy being brought inside, which is still causing havoc on our suppertime routine, not to mention my waistline.  But somehow the middle of October is a complete blur.

So much for thinking November would slow down and let me catch my breath.  November 1st kicked off NaNoWriMo and I’m bound and determined to finish my 50,000 words or let my kids come up with a punishment to fit my crime.  Boy is that a scary thought. LOL  The first week has gone really well.  I’m up to 8,000 words so far, although with this busy weekend filled with football games and tennis tournaments slowing me down, I’m now behind a few words.  Okay, I’ll be honest.  A lot of words.  🙂

But there is a bright side.  Despite all this, I did manage to whip my requested manuscript into shape and am proud and excited to say I finally hit that SEND key! Yippee!   Talk about anxiety.  I thought I was on the road to recovery with all that.  But I almost had a heart attack the day after I sent it in.  I woke up the next morning and there in my inbox was an email from the agent.  What? I already received an automated response, so I know it went to the correct address.   Okay, that was way to fast.  This can’t be good.  Awe man, my story must really suck.  All these thoughts and quite a few more went zipping through my head.  I couldn’t even bring myself to open the email and see what it said.

In comes my fifteen year old daughter. ( My hero.) She takes me by the hand, sits me down in my chair where I squeeze my eyes shut, rambling ninety to nothing about why the agent must have rejected me so quickly.  And Bam! She clicks the button and says, “Mom, its say she got it.”

“Oh, that’s all.”  Boy did I feel silly.  I opened one eye at a time and smiled.  “Thank you, sweetheart.  I love you.”

She walks away shaking her head. LOL  So I sighed and then took a deep breath telling myself that I really should get a grip.  One thing is for certain, there is never a dull moment on this long bumpy road to publication.

 Yeah for NaNo!  Talk about a great way to keep my mind off of that submission.  🙂

Anyone else have a funny submission story they’d like to share?  If you’re doing NaNo, how’s it going?

8 Responses

  1. HAHAHA on the automatic query reply. I think we’ve all been there…afraid to open in fear it’s a rejection! 🙂

    So this went to an agent? Or was it an editor and I misread?

    Fall is FLYING by for me. I don’t remember September AT ALL. And it seems like October should have just started. Where the heck did November come from? YIKES I’ve got to get busy!

    Not sure if I should wish everyone a Happy Thanksgiving, or just jump ahead to Merry Christmas. As fast as the time is blurring as it races by, I’ll be wishing everyone a Happy Valentine’s Day before I turn around!

    And you know what, Melissa? Time passage gets faster the older you get! 🙂

  2. No kidding. Time is flying so fast everything seems a blur.

    Good luck with everything, Melissa. Have confidence and faith that your hard work will pay off.

    I don’t have any good stories – I pretty much sucked when it came to agent hunting. Seems no one wants to take me on, though I can say I haven’t tried to find one all that hard. I like what I’m doing now, but really want a partner who can push me to new heights and pull my best out of me. I know many people have that without it being an agent, but still, I would love someone on Team Liz. I know the publishers have lots of people already on their team. So good luck, sister!

  3. Sent it to an agent I’d love to have in my corner, Cyndi. 🙂 Now the waiting begins.

    And you’re right,. Time does seem to pick up speed with every new year. Yikes is right! LOL

  4. Thanks, Liz! I’m excited and crossing everything I’ve got. LOL She was so nice and I feel like we would make a really good team. I haven’t done the mass agent search either. I like to meet them in person first and see if our personalities click. 🙂

  5. Just think, madame, how wonderful it will feel the day it SELLS…:)

  6. Now that’s a scary thought. 🙂 I wonder how long it will take to pick myself up off the floor!!! Hope the submission fairies are listening! LOL Thanks, Will. You’re support and encouragement means the world to me!

  7. Good luck Melissa! I am feeling that kind of excitement right now too! I know the feeling. 😀 It’s a thrill.

  8. Thanks, Jamie! Don’t you wish you could bottle that feeling and then pull it out for those times when fear and doubts pull you down. 😉 Good luck to you too!!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

