• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Hunks on a Tractor

Recently I spent an afternoon trying to avoid working on my actual manuscript. I’m not far along on it, and I’ve been having a hard time getting flow going. So I did the usual. I visited Romance Divas, Ruby Slippered Sisterhood, Facebook, etc. Occasionally, I like to poke through the archives at places like Dear Author and Smart Bitches and other review sites. And then if I feel like sticking needles in my eyes, I’ll look for reviews for my books. This particular avoidance web surf brought me to a review site (which shall remain nameless.) I didn’t find a review of my book, but I stumbled upon one for another Superromance author. Now the grade for the book wasn’t good, mostly because the reveiwer had a problem with the whole “sex during danger” concept. But a few readers brought out a point that sorta stuck in my craw. Their chief complaint with Superrromances and books similar to them was that there couldn’t possibly be a good-looking, single guy in a podunk small town.

Huh?

Okay. I know there are a lot of tobacco-spitting, NASCAR hat wearing slobs who wouldn’t know a pair of Armani loafter from the ones purchased down at the Walmart. Sure. We got ’em. I see ’em everyday. But, hello, city chickadees, we got the good ones too. I mean, you don’t have to suspend belief to realize that not all the hunks live in Chicago or New York City. Some sexy, successful, intelligent men prefer the open space to the concrete jungle. And screw Armani. Put ’em in well-worn Wranglers and a flannel shirt, and you’ve got my heart racing.

As I type this I realize that in my fictional town of Oak Stand, Texas, there is an abnormal amount of single sexy men running around nailing on boards and running gang rehab centers. Now I’ve added a button-up police chief just waiting to be unbuttoned. But if I can believe your forked tongued dark angel with the power to disappear, then you can darn well believe that McHunky lives in a farm house and raises feral cats. It’s called suspending belief. Cause trust me, sister, there’s a way better chance of me getting it on with a hot dude on a tractor than it is having Avenging Angel or hairy wereworlf man feast on your flesh.

Okay, enough of my rant. I happen to have a good looking fellow who drives a tractor and goes bass fishin’ sleeping in my bed right now. I’m not going to try and convince the world that small towns have their own hunks. Why would any of us small town divas need all those city girls traipsing through stepping on our fall vegatable gardens in their quest for our men? I wouldn’t.

So what do you think? Do you suspend belief when it comes to sexy single men in small towns? Or do you know it to be true?

6 Responses

  1. Have to say I’m sorry about the abnormal amount of typos. I proofread, I swear. Just goes to show that a gal should do multiple passes BEFORE she presses send.

  2. Huh. This may force me and my camera to go out hunting in my small towns.

  3. Too funny. I think the hunky guys in small towns that wear the wranglers are just as hot as the male models in the expensive suits.

    they are more down to earth and real to me if they are coming froom a small town, I’d take them anyday over big city jerks.

  4. I have missed you guys! Glad to be home!

    No good looking guys in small towns? Ridiculous!!

    I think Kari Lynn has the right idea…field trips to small towns for pics of small town hunks…and maybe a few Wrangler butts in the process. 🙂

  5. I know. We need proof. I still cant believe how easily those posters agreed with the whole “there are no hot guys in small towns” statement. Get your cameras out, gals. We’ve got to capture some proof.

  6. LOL – I’m with you on this one Liz. – give me a small town hunks any day. Of course, I happened to have married one of those ‘Prince Chrming on a tractor’ types myself so I may be just a tiny bit biased.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

