• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Braces? How Can This Be?

A few months ago we received the news that two of our oldest daughter’s baby teeth failed to dislodge and fall out.  Now her permanent teeth are trying to come in behind them.  I don’t know how many ex-rays she’s had over the years, but we visit the dentist every June and December like clock work.  Shouldn’t they have caught this before now?? I mean it’s not like the permanent teeth just all of a sudden showed up, right?  Well, the baby teeth have finally been pulled and we are in the process of getting braces in order to move the permanent teeth into the holes left behind in the front of her mouth. Of course it would be the front teeth!  And to top it all off, she’s having them put in on Tuesday right before Thanksgiving.  No turkey dinner for her.  Could it get worse?

She will be sixteen years old in February.  A sophomore in high school.  Some of the toughest times in a young girl’s life in my opinion.  Most of her friends are getting their braces off and have beautiful straight teeth to finish out the rest of their high school years.  If we are lucky, she will be brace free right before her junior year ends.  Ack!   It just sounds terrible.

I didn’t have braces.  My brother didn’t have braces.  As I think back, only a few of my friends had braces and it wasn’t pretty.  For once (LOL), I’m clueless and will be unable to offer her any advice on how to make the best out of this little hiccup in her road to adulthood.  I can be supportive and encourage her, but teenagers aren’t the best listeners.  As far as they are concerned, parents are so not cool.  (Big eye roll here!)

 Now I know that a lot of adults get braces these days and they are quite a bit different, in a good way, than they used to be.  There are the regular silver kind, the clear ones and even a multitude of colored ones to choose from.  It seems like every kid at the high school has some form and shade of metal in their mouth these days, so I’m probably just making a big deal out of nothing.  Story of my life.  But dang I wish they would have caught it earlier.

Thank the good Lord above my other two are going to miss out on all this fun.

 Any advice on how to make it through this with as little drama and trauma as possible?  My daughter is not worried.  Shoot, she seems excited.  Say what?! LOL  Wishing everyone a very Wonderful Thanksgiving!!  I’m off to make a list of all the great things I have to be thankful for so I can take my mind off all this.  🙂

7 Responses

  1. Having gone through my own dental issues, my heart is with her…:) It will be worth it, though, eventually…:)

  2. My eleven year old has braces – all his teeth came in early so he’ll have his off in 8th grade. I guess I see so many kids in braces, I don’t even notice that much anymore. She’ll be fine and she’ll be able to eat dinner – just give her some ibuprofen. Some kids do worse; others barely feel anything.

    And when it’s all over, she’ll have a beautiful smile….right in time for college.

  3. didn’t have braces, but i was jealous and wanted them when several of my friends had them!

  4. I’m with Keri. I actually wanted braces throughout my childhood and was jealous of the other kids having them. I think it will be ok.

    Good luck with your daughter’s braces. 🙂

  5. I had braces in high school and the worst part was when they put the spacers/bands on the back teeth t o hook everything too.

    They were sore when they were tightened but didn’t stay sore long. She’ll do ok.

    Good luck though. I know they are very expensive, even with dental insurance.

  6. I didn’t get my braces on until I was 22 years old. When I married at 24, my orthodontist removed the front ones so my pictures would be good and then put them back on after the wedding! That was his wedding present. Cool, huh?

    Your best bet is not to make a big deal out of them. She’s cool with them. Kids are very accepting of braces. No big deal.

    She’ll be glad she did this later…and so will you.

  7. Thanks for the support! 🙂 It’s mommy who really needs it. LOL

    I think she’s alot like you, Keri. In some way this is a cool thing. ” We” will start the ibuprofen before “we” go so we can get a head start on any pain. And since some kind of spacers were put in last week and she had very little trouble with them, I’m thinking she’s one of the tougher ones. Unlike her mother! Fingers crossed! Keeping my mind on the end results!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

