• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Getting Into the Scene

Have you ever gotten REALLY involved in a scene of you WIP?  I mean REALLY involved.  I recently did this for the past couple of days.  One of the scenes in my current WIP took place in a nightclub with progressive house music playing in the background.   I actually played this kind of music and looked at pictures of the inside of nightclubs and at my characters I have chosen while I am writing the scene.  It is SO much fun to allow my imagination to go crazy! 

My characters were involved in a very intense situation while they were trying to solve a problem.  

  I haven’t went to the town my story takes place just yet, but I plan on going very soon.  Perhaps after the holidays. 

It will be fun to experience going into the nightclub, the houses, where my heroine works in the town, and other places the scenes in my story takes place. 

I got just as involved with my last book I wrote.  It made me want to get busy writing.

But I seem to get more and more involved with each new book I begin writing.  And I have began writing much faster than I did last year.  It should take me four months to write this new book.  I have NEVER wrote a book in that amount of time.  It usually takes me a year or more. 

What about you?  What do you do to get involved in your book?  How do you do your research?

8 Responses

  1. I’ve been pretty much sticking to what I know…except when I wrote Vegas. I’ve never been. More’s the pity on that. Should have rewarded my first sale with that trip.

    In writing Vegas, I took a conglomeration of everything I’d read in books and seen in movies and used that. Adding in some research into clubs and hotels. I used some real places and some made up places, like the club and a restaurant they visit.

    For the past five books, I’ve had a made up town. I have to be careful to keep everything consistent from the statue in the town square to the Curlique salon and other stores around the square.

    Hope you get to visit your city soon. That’s when research is fun. I’m heading to Baton Rouge soon to do some legwork for my next series that I hope to sell.

  2. Funny you should bring this up. One of the things I’ve been thinking about is doing some short videos next summer highlighting areas around Lake Hamilton where I have a series planned. Where the hero “lives”…Where the heroine is hanging out for the summer (house sitting), etc.

    It’s amazing how much research you can do online without actually visiting a site. For example, if I wanted to send my story to Australia, there is no way I could actually travel there except by the internet!

    But there is nothing like real life experience! Get to your “town” if you can. 🙂

  3. Love the research! I tend to get too involved in that. LOL Since I’m not a big traveler, the internet and books are the only way I get to learn about new places most of the time. You can even contact a town or state’s tourist info online and they will be happy to send you all kinds of great stuff. A friend got some brochures sent from Ireland and other countries even!

    Hope you get to visit your town soon!! 🙂

  4. my series is set in a fiction town, but some aspects of it come from my home town! I just take what’s there and twist as needed 🙂

  5. Oh I would love to go to Vegas, Liz! That is actually a dream trip for me. Gathering some friends together and heading to Vegas for a blast….and to do some research for a book of course! 😀 I plan on writing a book later on that takes place in Vegas. I will have to do a lot of research. I may have to research it the way you did. I hope you have fun in Baton Rouge. 🙂

  6. That sounds like fun, Cyndi! That is funny, my hero has a house on the lake. Lol Well he goes there for the summer. That house where that takes place was actually my great-grandparents. It’s still there and in Texas. I plan on paying a visit there too. Good luck with your research, and I hope you enjoy it. 🙂

  7. I get really involved in research too, Melissa. It is so much fun. 🙂 Ireland would be an awesome place to visit.

  8. I did something similar to that with my last book, Keri. It really took place in Shreveport, but I named it differently and fictionalized it a little….added other things to it. That’s a good idea. 🙂

Show us some love and leave a comment!

