• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

A Cozy Environment For Writing

Do you have a certain place you love to do all your writing?

My favorite spot is on the couch, with a flannel blanket across my lap, a cup of  flavored coffee, my earphones, people around me watching television and talking, and my laptop of course.   🙂

Flannel blankets can be used to keep you warm in a cold house-especially when the other people you live with keep the air conditioner running in the winter.  Oh!  It gets so cold!  Lol  I bundle up, and it helps when you place your laptop onto your lap.   That keeps you extra warm and cozy.  🙂

Drinking coffee  is also good.  I drink either coffee or a diet coke when I first wake up to get started writing for the day.  And coffee keeps you extra warm.  🙂  I love the flavored kind-especially the Belgian Toffee Chocolate Creamer.  Mmm.  So good.

Listening to music with your earphones plugged into your laptop with Pandora Radio playing gives good inspiration if you put the radio on the right channels you like.  I like the Deadmau5 station the most while writing.  They’re a good progressive house group.  There’s no words to the songs but only music to type to. 

I thought I wrote better by myself.  Well, I learned recently that having people around me, while writing and having music in my ears to avoid distraction, makes me keep writing.  With them seeing that I am staying busy and into my writing, it makes me feel like I am really making progress….especially when they say how hard they see me working on my book.   

Where is your favorite environment for writing your book?  Describe it to me.  🙂

8 Responses

  1. I guess it all depends on what scene I’m working on. If it’s a serious or dangerous one, I need my music but as little outside distractions as possible. Otherwise bring on the noise! LOL With the family hustling about, I don’t feel so alone. 🙂 I’m liking that more and more and I think it’s because I know my time with them is getting shorter and shorter.

    I will have to try the Belgian Toffee Chocolate Creamer. Sounds Yummy!! 🙂

  2. I do pretty well at Starbucks. Don’t really like music playing because it distracts me and pulls me out from my scene. I like a nice quiet house. Nothing on. Dogs asleep. Kids at school. Me and my keyboard and my imagination.

    That’s the recipe for writing success for me.

  3. I don’t know about writing so much but I love to be sitting on my couch with a fuzzy blanket and the fireplace going with a glass of tea.

    Distractions don’t bother me, I think I’d rather have everyone around than the quite. I always have the TV or radio on while I am reading.

  4. I do write better either at 2 am or at Starbucks.

    When at home, I write in my Lay-Z-Boy in the living room.

    I get distracted by my dogs, the tv, the husband, and the carpet that needs cleaning (or laundry to be done or kitchen that needs to be cleaned up)

  5. I agree so much with you on family or other people being around, Melissa. I don’t feel alone at all when they are around me. I don’t like being alone. Family and friends are so good to have.

    That coffee creamer is yummy. You should like it-especially if you like sweets. 🙂

  6. I love writing at the coffee shop too, Liz. That is my other writing place. I can really concentrate there. 🙂

  7. Oh I love the fireplace too, Heather. Tea sounds great too. 🙂 I recently tried hot peppermint tea for the first time, and I loved it!

  8. Cyndi, a lot of writers I know write better at night. I tried, but I couldn’t do it. The amount of caffeine I consumed started giving me the jitters. Lol

    I write very good in the recliner. One of the couches I sit on has a recliner, and that one is my favorite!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

