A review – An Offer From A Gentleman – Julia Quinn

The ENALR Gang is thrilled to welcome Crystal Posey as a reviewer, alternating Fridays with Heather Brewer. Crystal will be reading some new books and some oldie-but-goldies books. Today is certainly is oldie-but-goldie. Welcome Crystal!

AN OFFER FROM A GENTLEMAN is the third book in Quinn’s Bridgerton series, and her own version of the classic, Cinderella. I’m always interested to see new versions of classics, particularly this one (I’m a big Cinderella fan!), but I’m also hesitant. The remake of any great classic can be disastrous.

Sophie Beckett never dreamed she’d be able to sneak into Lady Bridgerton’s famed masquerade ball—or that “Prince Charming” would be waiting there for her! Though the daughter of an earl, Sophie has been relegated to the role of servant by her disdainful stepmother. But now, spinning in the strong arms of the debonair and devastatingly handsome Benedict Bridgerton, she feels like royalty. Alas, she knows all enchantments must end when the clock strikes midnight.

Who was that extraordinary woman? Ever since that magical night, a radiant vision in silver has blinded Benedict to the attractions of any other—except, perhaps this alluring and oddly familiar beauty dressed in housemaid’s garb whom he feels compelled to rescue from a most disagreeable situation. He has sworn to find and wed his mystery miss, but this breathtaking maid makes him weak with wanting her. Yet, if he offers his heart, will Benedict sacrifice his only chance for a fairy tale love?

This book was wonderful! What I liked the most about this book was that, even though Quinn does keep with some of the traditional details of the Cinderella tale, you won’t find any glass slippers left behind. Rather, you will find subtle, more powerful gestures that Quinn has threaded in throughout the story. I was unaware that gloves could be so romantic. 🙂

The characters themselves…

Sophie is not a “sing-to-the-birds” type of Cinderella. In truth, who’s really going to be singing after being denied, abandoned, attacked, locked away, and then thrown out in the cold? No one. Sophie held her head high and kept right on playing her cards, but she never sang to the birds. There’s a strength and determination in this character that I admired.

Benedict comes from a strong, well-developed family–many of who make a lot of appearances in this book–and is suddenly thrust into a confused state, in which his mind plays games with a moment from the past and the girl in front of him. I always enjoy seeing a confident, attractive male confused. It tugs the heart.

All in all Quinn takes the traditional Cinderella story and twists it into a beautiful story about breaking social standards for love, and never settling for less than what one and one’s future deserves. The book is utterly romantic, and Benedict had me continually melting in my seat.

An Offer from a Gentleman receives 5 Flaming Hearts. 

buy from: BordersB & NIndieboundAmazonPowell’s

10 Responses

  1. Julia Quinn has been one of my go-to authors for a good read. In fact, after finishing one of her Bridgerton books (Eloise) I decided to start writing, so JQ has been very influential on me.

    I don’t remember this one as one of my favorites. I like The Viscount Who Loved Me the best, followed by Colin’s book – can’t remember the name, but Penelope was my favorite character.

    Great review!

  2. Love all the Bridgertons. Hard to pick a favorite! Three-way tie between The Duke and I, Romancing Mister Bridgerton and To Sir Phillip, With Love.

    And in one fell swoop, I just named almost half the series as my favorite! haha

  3. Welcome Crystal!!! so thrilled you decided to join us! I’ve read a few JQ’s in my day and she is full of win.

  4. […] that I recently read, and fell in love with. It also happens to be my first review for Everybody Needs A Little Romance. […]

  5. Liz, Collin was actually my favorite. It was Sophie that won me over in Benedict’s story. Truly, Collin and Daphne are my favorites.

    KJ, I loved the Duke and I. Daphne was my favorite of the daughters.

    Keri, I’m thrilled as well. I’m excited to see how much better I can get at this, as I keep it up.

  6. I haven’t read this one, but it’s now on my list to buy. I love Julia Quinn’s books. Fab review!!

  7. Thank you, Vicki! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

  8. Welcome Crystal. Great review. it was fun talking to you last night.

  9. I did love this book! That’s one of the reasons I wanted to post this review…remind us that there are some wonderful oldie-but-goldie books, as well as the fresh, shiny new books!

    Great job, Crystal

  10. Heather, Thank you! I had fun too. I love book talk.

    Cyndi, Thanks! There are lots of oldie-but-goldies. I’ve read a lot over this last year.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

