• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Turning Back the Clock, A New Tradition

I woke up Sunday morning with no idea where my weekend scurried off to.  Then I read a friend’s Blog and found out I don’t have as many days until Christmas as I thought.  Ugh…

This is the kids last week of school.  That means I must get busy taking care of those last minute errands.  Certainly don’t want to have them tagging along with me, repeating every few seconds “Are we done yet?”

All this craziness makes me wonder what has happened to this beautiful time of year.  This holiday is all about the most precious gift of all.  Jesus.  And you know what?  HE didn’t come with a single $$$ sign attached. 

How did things get so messed up over the years?  We used to look forward to Christmas time.  Decorating the tree together, riding around to look at lights, singing Christmas carols, visiting with friends and family.  Now it seems like it’s all about the gifts. 

I read a statistic that says we American’s spend in the billions every year at Christmas time.  What?  How many zeros is that anyway?  Now don’t get me wrong.  I’m guilty, guilty, guilty.  But finally after all these years I’m starting to get it.  The bigger the gift, the more money it cost, and the quantity of gifts received doesn’t mean a thing. Except how high my stress level is going to rise. And with the economy the way it is, it’s been really tough on a lot of people.  I for one just want the madness to stop.  The long lines at the stores.  The traffic jams.  The rushing around to fifty different places to find that one toy that everyone just has to have.  Time is passing way too quick as it is. 

My last goal for 2010:  Start a new tradition.

This year the best gift I can think of to receive is spending time with my family, eating those homemade Christmas cookies, laughing, singing carols, sharing and making new memories.  I don’t know.  Maybe this all comes with getting older.   But I’m at least going to try. 🙂

 Anyone else feel like turning back the clock a little?

14 Responses

  1. I spun that clock in reverse a few years back, Melissa. Drove myself insane seeking the ‘perfect gift’ for someone who, at best, would read it then shelve it, or wear it once then shelve it, or watch it once then shelve it, or (insert action verb here) and then shelve it.

    It was insane, it really was. Now, the Holidays are peaceful, memorable, and stress free. I like Stress Free…:)

  2. So we thought back to last year’s Christmas gifts … My daughter never rode the ‘blue’ 12 speed bike that she “had to have”. Like every holiday or event on the calendar, retailers market to us consumers, they commercialize everything to the point we lose the true meaning.

    You’re right Missy, it’s time to get back to basics. I will have your favorite cookies and hot chocolate waiting for you, if you do some of your Caroling at my home.

  3. we’ve cut out a lot of our extra shopping this year and it’s been nice. the stress just isn’t hardly there.

  4. LOL Will! Stress Free is the only way to go! 🙂

  5. We have several of those gifts around here too, Terri. I think I’m going to unplug the TV’s around the middle of October. LOL If they don’t see it, they won’t want it, right?

    Cookies and hot chocolate sound good. Not so sure about my singing though. 🙂

  6. Yeah, Keri! Glad to hear it works. I’m looking forward to next Christmas already! LOL

  7. we cut back dramatically on the Christmas presents this year. I tried to go cold turkey and not buy any presents for a grown nieces and nephews, but I just couldn’t. But I spent about 1/2 as much as I used to. That’s progress. Christmas gift giving was getting out of control.

    Next year, I’ll make another stab at cutting back again. 🙂

  8. I think you’ve got the right idea, Cyndi! Cutting back a bit each year might work best. 🙂 With the kids getting older and the family multiplying on both sides, it’s just crazy, not to mention a huge strain on everyone, to try and keep up. I’m feeling much better knowing others are doing the same thing. Yeah! Maybe it will catch on everywhere!

  9. Sorry I’m late stopping by but just got home from my grad scool final for marketing.

    We try and cut back but with Lilly (grandbaby) it’s hard. You just want to spoil them so much. I have cut back on hubs and daughter and we have cut back on other family members.

    Usually we go in w/mom and the gifts are from everyone. Only problem, mom doesn’t do moderation and we can’t convenence her that drawing names would be better for everyone. We have got her to accept that gift cards are a good thing.

  10. I agree with you so much on that Melissa! So much money is being spent during this time.

  11. Sorry I’m very late stopping by. We’ve cut the spending way down this year and at first it really bothered me. I’m a giver by nature and it was hard.

    What I’m finding out is the yes, the stress is way down and I’m actually enjoying the season the way I used to.

  12. Ahh, the wisdom that comes with age! Jesus, family, friends and good health. What else do we really need?

  13. I can see how grandbabies would make it hard. It’s those precious little faces as they open up the gifts that gets to you I’m sure. 🙂 My kids are in big trouble once they have kids. LOL

    Jamie, I was shocked by the number! LOL

    Giving and making others feel special is what it is all about, Vicki. 🙂 I think we, especially me, need to realize giving comes in all kinds of different forms. All of which can still mean so much to the receiver.

  14. Barbara, AMEN! 🙂

Show us some love and leave a comment!

