• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

An Early Christmas Present-ation

Do any of you have a favorite presentation ever given at a writers meeting?  I just witnessed the best one yet this month!  I heard an amazing author who lives near me speak for our Christmas meeting, and this lady was great.  Jennifer Blake is a huge inspiration to me with all the hard work she has placed into her writing career and having done so well with it. 

During the time she spoke, I’ve never felt so pumped up and ready to go straight home and do a long writing marathon for the entire week.   I have been writing  7K words a week, but I am now itching to push it up to writing 10K words a week.  I loved all of her advice and the stories she told about the things she has done throughout her career. 

I didn’t know that I was not the only writer who got ideas for new stories when I drove around in my car and listened to music. 

There are so many other ways to get ideas for new stories.  I just got another one the other day while riding in a horse carriage in an old historic town. Now that was awesome! 

Another tip of hers I liked very well was staying healthy.  I try very hard to stay healthy.  Physically, emotionally, and spiritually. 

A Christmas party was held after Jennifer spoke, and several of the other authors were there.  Some came who I haven’t seen in awhile, and it was a joy to see them.

What about you?  Which author inspires you the most and why?

5 Responses

  1. That’s a tough one because there are quite a few who inspire me.

    Before I joined RWA and my local chapter I thought all romance writer’s had the life of…well, a perfect life. The dishes never got dirty, the bathroom was cleaned by someone else, and the kids were the best kids on the block.

    Then I met the authors, became good friends with them. What I found out was they have the same issues as the those of us not yet published. Their homes have to be cleaned and their kids are not always perfect. Add to that the deadlines, traveling to speak and/or signings, staying up till all hours of the morning to meet the word counts and still have time for a few friends.

    They all inspire me. To know that my ‘normal’ life is many times just like theirs. To know how hard they’ve worked and continue to work at their writing. To know that they too have days when they wonder why they could ever be a writer.

    All that inspires me, because I know I can do it too. It takes hard work and never giving up, but they did it and they keep telling me I’m going to do it as well.

  2. wonderful Jamie. I wanted to be there for that so stinkin’ bad, but I had a wedding to attend instead.

    sounds like yall had a good time!

  3. Sounds like a great meeting! 🙂 I’d have to say that every author I hear speak inspires me. Learning about their struggles and how persistence paid off gives me hope. Like Vicki said, hard work and never giving up. That’s the key!

  4. An impossible question to answer. there are SO many! and so many in different genres.

    I have heard Jennifer Blake speak. She’s wonderful. So inspirational. Glad you got to hear her.

  5. I was a great meeting, Jamie. I always enjoy having Jennifer join us – she’s full of wonderful wisdom, isn’t she?

    I can’t really say that I have one particular author that inspires me. Julia Quinn inspired me to write a book, SEP inspires because I strive to place emotion in my books the way she does. I’m particulary fond on Francine Rivers, merely on style alone. Of course, I don’t really *know* them. Only met them once or twice.

    I think I’m inspired more by the people I meet on the blogs and the readers who read my story and connect with it in some way.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

