• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Tis The Season

According to Andy Williams, It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year. And I have to agree. I love everything that goes along with the winter holidays. From shopping for the meal that will grace the table and leave us full and a bit sleepy, to decorating both the inside and outside of the house with twinkling lights, and giving gifts (be they small or large, all given on one night, or spread out over many nights),  to loved ones and friends.

I couldn’t wait until the day after Thanksgiving to put up the holiday lights. As soon as it’s dark I’m outside waiting for the timer to flip the switch and see them light up. I’m not anywhere in the league of National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation, but you aren’t going to miss my house when you ride down the street either. Truthfully, I want one of those music things that lights move to beats will it plays. Yeah, Science Guy hasn’t exactly been won over on that one.  I do have a Snowman, who blows fake snow, which is pretty cool even if it isn’t the real stuff. Still, I feel like a child, who gleefully claps their hands together, eyes wide with the wonder of it all.

Yet with all of this excitement comes what seems like fewer hours in the day. And as writer’s the one thing that we tend to give up is a little or a lot of our writing time when that happens. It also happens to be the one thing we constantly need more of.

All the hustle and bustle is exciting, but can take its toll on not only our time, but our creativity. So, this year when you’re out shopping take a few moments to sit and have a cup of coffee (insert tea or soda), do some people watching (no this is not stalking), you may see something that sparks something for your characters. Or pull out that note pad that I’m sure all of you carry around with you when you don’t have your laptop with you and make some notes for your next scene.

And perhaps the most important thing is to try to give yourself a little gift of time when you can, but don’t beat yourself up if the time you want just isn’t there during the holidays. Eating right, exercise and rest are just as important. Besides, some of your best ideas and solutions come when you’re on the treadmill or taking that walk around the park.

Happy Holidays to each of you and may all your hearts desires become reality.

Vicki

8 Responses

  1. I love Christmas with all my heart, and right at the moment I’m so full of Christmas spirit I could pop. My three grown children are arriving today — the other one already lives in the area — and we’ll all be together again. Time is hard to find, but so far I’ve written every day. Let’s see if I make it through Christmas!

  2. Beppie – that’s wonderful that you’ll have all the kids together for Christmas. Loud noisy Christmas’s with people laughing, playing games, and just having fun is the best!

  3. Where are the pictures of your lights?? I wanna see!

    I think the Christmas lights are one of my favorite things about Christmas (right there with all the good food)

    This year, for the first time, we are all traveling to my sister’s house. Here three kids are grown, two are married, and one just had the first grandchild. It should be WILD up there!

    I hope Christmas is wonderful for all of you!

  4. Cyndi – how fun is that going to be. 🙂 And a first grandchild – that will make it even more special.

    I didn’t take any pictures of the house this year. Normally I do, but this year has just been rushed with everything.

  5. Heck! You could have use pictures from last year or the year before and I’d have never known! 🙂

  6. I love Christmas lights! we’re taking son to ride around and see them this year. Christmas lights are one of the things I hate about living so far out in the country. only 3 ppl would see our lights and it’s not worth the effort to put them on.

  7. BTW VIcki…I went a group of friend shopping in Branson 3 or so years ago. We went to the Andy Williams Christmas show. We were not good…His head wiggles like a bobblehead doll when he walks. He really old and looks it.

  8. I love Christmas lights! we’re taking son to ride around and see them this year. Christmas lights are one of the things I hate about living so far out in the country. only 3 ppl would see our lights and it’s not worth the effort to put them on.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

