• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Don’t Forget to Zigzag!

With the New Year approaching at lightening speed, I’ve heard a lot of great New Year resolutions over the past few days.  From taking belly dancing classes to eating better to sky diving, everyone has the best intentions to stay on track and make better decisions and cross off some of those bucket list items  in 2011. 

The best one I’ve come across so far had to do with dreams, goals, focus and life.  We all know writing is hard work, a lot more than I ever expected when I first started.  And it’s very easy to get caught up in the chaos and miss out on the special memories we can never get back with our family and friends.  It takes dedication, discipline, determination and a great deal of time to get those words down on the page.   But we must remember to stop and enjoy the moments along the way or we’ll look back one day on that straight and intensely focused path and wonder why the heck our kids don’t visit or why we don’t have friends to share a few laughs with.   

Relationships are one of the most important parts of life.  Our kids won’t be little forever, our loved ones won’t be with us forever, and let’s face it friends come and go along the way whether we like it or not.   What will stay with us for a lifetime are the memories.  

Juggling life’s everyday routine with my career is a tough struggle.  But hearing a friend’s New Year’s resolution to work in a few zigzag moments where she takes a detour from her busy schedule to create a special memory really hit home.   I can make time to watch the sunrise with my hubby, have lunch with a good friend, call and talk to my parents, gaze at the stars with my kids or just play a game and still have plenty of time to write.  I guess it all boils down to organization.  I know I feel better when I can look back over the day and see what all I’ve accomplished.  And nothing feels better than closing my eyes at night and remembering that laugh or conversation I shared with someone special. 

So I bet you can guess that organization and zigzags are at the top of my New Year’s resolution list.  It might take me a little longer to reach my goals, but oh what great memories and interesting stories I’ll have to share when I “do” get there. 

What about you? Do you zigzag?  What tops your list for 2011?

13 Responses

  1. How right you are, Melissa! It’s really hard to achieve balance in our lives, especially when we are supposed to be focused on our careers. I pretty much suck at this and this month I will be going NaNoWriMo on my book that’s due in February. I will have to meet daily word counts and I won’t be taking time off. So I may have to answer this one in February when I turn the book in. LOL. But I do hope to do better and I’m actually going to take at least two weeks off after I turn in my book to rest. Yes, REST.

  2. What a great concept…zig-zag living. I love it.

  3. Oh, Liz! I don’t envy you on that, girl. Sending lots of good vibes your way! 🙂 I’m really enjoying The Way to Texas and can’t wait to read more of your books. So take that two weeks to rest and then get busy! LOL

  4. That’s what I thought, Cyndi! Sounds alot more interesting than what I’ve been doing lately. LOL

  5. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Posey , Melissa Ohnoutka. Melissa Ohnoutka said: New Year's Resolutions? Don't forget to Zigzag!http://everybodyneedsalittleromance.com/2010/12/27/4744/ […]

  6. Well. Yes. I have to say that that was an issue that ate me alive years ago when the children were small and I was pumping out nonfiction books –where I had to travel for research, which was a big time suck– and without my wonderful mother who stepped in as much as unreasonably possible, it wouldn’t have happened. But even during the writing, when I had a child leaning against my shoulder as I hunched over the computer, and read those wonderful advice bits about how a child could tolerate its mother’s absence better than her inattention — oh yes. Those were the days.

    But I have to say this. They all grew up and we’ve spent the last week on top of each other — most of us crowded into our condo and my married daughter and her family with us every day — because we wanted to be together. So I guess it turned out okay!

    But just as important — they grew up with a father who went to the office and worked and a mother who retreated to her study and worked. I had a huge advantage over mothers who went out to work because if something cataclysmic happened — my son broke his collarbone, or one of the girls got really sick — I was there on the spot. But the kids got to respect my need to work, too. Even when I temporarily stopped writing to find a more predictable income (I produced transcripts of federal court cases originally reported on four-track tape), it probably looked the same to the kids! I was on the computer and I was not to be bothered!

    So be heartened. There are minuses, of course there are. But there are big pluses, too. I’d do it the same way if I had it to do all over again.

  7. Gosh…I’ve been doing a lot of zig-zagging, myself, these days. LOL!
    You are right, Missy. We need to stay focused but in the same sense enjoy life and those that we love and care for around us. Be prepared to go this way and that as there is only one shot at life, one shot at this very moment.
    🙂

  8. Beppie, that’s awesome! I hope to look back and be able to say the same thing. 🙂

  9. Very well said, Jenn. One shot, one moment. 🙂 So glad to have so many to share this madness with along the way. LOL

  10. I have a full release schedule for 2011 (5 more AppleTrail stories release through 2011) and then whatever other writing I can squeeze in!

    I think I’m gonna be zigzagging around my torn up house from computer to bed!

  11. Love how you put that, Melissa. Lol I have been zigzagging a lot lately.

  12. LOL Keri! The energizer bunny comes to mind when I picture this. Good luck, girl! 🙂

  13. Zigzagging just seems like more fun, Jamie. LOL Now if I can just find a vitamin or energy drink to help out a little bit, I’ll be good to go. 🙂

Show us some love and leave a comment!

