• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Promise Canyon, Robyn Carr

After years spent on ranches around Los Angeles, Clay Tahoma is delighted to be Virgin River’s new veterinary assistant. The secluded community’s wild beauty tugs at his Navajo roots, and he’s been welcomed with open arms by everyone in town—everyone except Lilly Yazhi.

Lilly has encoutered her share of strong, silent, traditional men within her own aboriginal community, and she’s not interested in coming back for more. In her eyes, Clay’s earthy, sexy appeal is just an act used to charm wealthy women like his ex-wife. She can’t deny his gift for gentling horses, but she’s not about to let him control her. There’s just on small problem—she can’t control her attraction to Clay.

Release Date: December 28, 2010

This is the eleventh book in Robyn Carr’s Virgin River series, and my first book to read by the author. The book is a stand-alone, so if you’re just jumping into the series you don’t have to worry about being lost.

This book was a change of pace for me. Robyn Carr’s writing is soft and intimate, and moved at a more leisurely pace than I’m accustom to. Rather than biting my nails or yelling, I wanted to be reading this book while relaxing in a hammock on a breezy, summer day. In my head there was a large glass of tea and beautiful view of a lake to go with the scenery.

My favorite part of this book was the horses. Sometimes us “higher beings” forget that animals do more than eat, poop, and look pretty. They can be aggressive, depressed, and even traumatized. Sometimes it takes a special someone to pull them through, in this book it’s Clay. As an animal lover I appreciate the way Carr’s writing reminds the reader of how beautiful these animals are.

Another really fun part of the book was the character’s Native American heritage. I was not a good student in school, there’s no doubt about it. I’m not one who knows much about other cultures. It’s a treat for me to read about another culture in a fiction setting. A setting that I can really get into.

The characters were pretty great, and I liked the ex factor. She was the best conflict of the story. My favorite line of the book is Clay’s remark to her when she unexpectedly shows up wanting to pick things back up, “…I don’t think she’d [Lily] appreciate a little ex-wife maintenance.” I love that line.

Lily was my favorite character, although I wish Carr had spent a little more time on Lily’s past. She had real pain, and real reason to stay away from Clay. I personally like an author to yank a few tears out of me.

Over all I enjoyed the story, loved the horses, and had fun reading it. I took my time with this book and didn’t engulf it. It was definitly a nice change of pace.

*Received via Nancy Berland Public Relations, Inc. in exchange for an honest review.

4/5   

You can visit Robyn Carr’s website here and Promise Canyon can be purchased at:

BordersB & NIndieboundAmazonPowell’s


Show us some love and leave a comment!

