A Werewolf in Manhattan by Vicki Lewis Thompson – A Review

The author gave me an Advance Reader’s Copy (ARC) to read because I whined that I wanted it! Vicki had no idea that I would write a review. Thank goodness she gave me A WEREWOLF IN MANHATTAN. I was stranded in the DFW airport overnight on a trip home from NYC. I was entertained all night with this read! And what a fun read. Here is how her publisher explains the story…

Emma Gavin writes about werewolves, but that doesn’t mean she believes in them-not until a pack of real-life New York weres decide to investigate the striking accuracy of her “fiction”.

When Aiden Wallace, son and heir of the pack leader, tries to sniff out Emma’s potential informant, he discovers something even more dangerous- an undeniable attraction to her.

 

Aiden Wallace has had Emma Gavin under surveillance for months, trying to determine which werewolf is feeding her the inside scoop on the were lifestyle, including tapping into her email. When Emma begins getting emails from someone claiming to be a werewolf and offering to show her the reality of the life, Aiden gets himself appointed as her bodyguard more to find out her source of all things were rather than actually protecting her.

But Aiden finds himself drawn to her and of course this leads to sexual arousal. Unfortunately for Aiden, he has inherited an unusual genetic disorder that causes him to begin to shift when he becomes aroused without resolution (if you get my drift.) Kind of a problem around Emma! Plus, he’s already affianced to another, an alliance that is important to his clan and to his eventual leadership of this clan. (I will note—and I don’t think I’m giving away too much—I really loved the woman he is betrothed to. Classy. I hope Vicki uses her in future stories!)

Emma is extremely attracted to Aiden…EXTREMELY. But he won’t make a move on her (damnit!) However, her email stalker (the one claiming to be a were) is real and does attack. I won’t say more about this person, only that Aiden’s dealing with this person can really cause some problems among the werewolf clans.

I did love this book. Enjoyed it from page one through to the end. Loved the characters. Loved her descriptions of Aiden’s family.

Now a note about the sex scenes. Hot. Scorching. Sensual. Vicki writes some damn hot sex! Good lordy, gal! Those scenes were AWESOME!

I’m giving my ARC of A WEREWOLF IN MANHATTAN. I will be drawing from the comments here and on http://getlostinastory.blogspot.com/

To win, leave a message here and tell me you want it. Then on Wednesday, go read Vicki’s interview on http://getlostinastory.blogspot.com/ and leave a message there. I will draw a winner on Friday, January 7 and post the winner on my personal website http://cynthiadalba.wordpress.com/ and on the Get Lost In A Story blog. Be sure to leave an email address so I can notify you if you win the ARC. If you want it signed, I’ll have Vicki sign it in March when I see her.

Without qualification, I give A WEREWOLF IN MANHATTAN

8 Responses

  1. Oh yes please, I WANT the ARC!

  2. Cyndi, thank you for that terrific review! I wish you hadn’t been stranded all night in DFW, but at least I was *there* to keep you company. See you in March!

  3. Hey Gail..I have a wonderful interview with Vicki on Wednesday. Different blog but hysterical interview. You’ll love th book.

    thanks for dropping by Vicki. Thank goodness I had your book to keep me company!

  4. Oooo, this sounds like a very fun book. I’m already a fan of VLT and it would be great to win an ARC.

  5. The book sounds good and what a gret review. Thanks for sharing with us. I can’t wait to read this one.

  6. I want, I Want, I WANT!!! Gimmee… please? spw

  7. Oh, I’m a huge shifter fan and this one sounds great. I’d love a copy. 🙂

  8. […] book in the “Wild About You Novel.” The first, A Werewolf in Manhattan, was reviewed here. If you haven’t read that book, go read the review. You don’t have to read A Werewolf […]

Show us some love and leave a comment!

