• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

The Good Side of Failure

“Finding Your Voice” by Les Edgerton.  “One of the most beneficial things that can help you become the best writer you can be is to realize that no book, no authority, no teacher, no classic book example, should be absorbed unless it’s ingested with a grain of salt.” 

“Failing Forward” by John C. Maxwell.  “If your perception of and response to failure were changed, what would you attempt to achieve?”

2011 is here and I’m pumped.  I found time over the Christmas break to sit down and read a few books from my ever growing pile and it was just the kick in the pants I’ve needed.  Tackling the monster of self-doubt and rejection have a whole new meaning. 

Above I’ve listed two great quotes from books well worth your time.  Successful people have only one major difference from those average folks who can’t seem to find the right breaks in life.  They believe in themselves even when others think they’re crazy and they don’t let failure stop them.  In their minds, failure just means they are one step closer to figuring out what works.  It’s a mind game.  Optimism over Pessimism.  They don’t let a little bump in the road knock them down.  Now it might steer them in a different direction, but they don’t let the possibility of failure stop them.  They get back in the game reenergized.  Ready to make another attempt, try something new and risk failing all over again.

Everyone fails.  At some point in their life, everyone tried something that didn’t quite pan out the way they wanted, be it big or small.  And I’d be willing to bet this failure happened more than just once.  I’ve never really thought about it this way.  But it is true.  Failure is a part of every learning process in life.  We must put on our tough skin of perseverance, look failures straight in the eye and forge ahead with all we’ve got.  When self-doubt or critics try to deter us, we must ask ourselves, “If failure wasn’t an option, what would I do?”

Topping off my goals for 2011: 

Be positive about the future and never miss an opportunity to take on a new risk. 

How do you look at failure?  Does it make you angry and more determined?  Or does it slow you down and make you question yourself, as it has done me in the past?

 

8 Responses

  1. Two motivational posters I try to always keep in mind, no matter what:

    FALL DOWN SEVEN, GET UP EIGHT.

    I MISSED 100% OF THE PITCHES I NEVER SWUNG AT. (Nolan Ryan)

  2. Great ones, Will! It’s never easy, but it is doable! 🙂

  3. Failure is a given in our crazy career dreams. Everyone fails at some time or another. I tell my daughter that in order to succeed, you must bleed first. May not be what a 9-year old want to hear but it’s true.

    One of my favorite quotes reads “We cannot direct the wind, but we can adjust the sails.

    Great post, Missy!

    Jenn!

  4. LOL, Jenn. I can see your sweet daughter’s face, eyes wide with horror. But she will be stronger and ready for anything. 🙂 Just wish this learning curve didn’t have to sting so much. LOVE the quote!! Adding to my list now!

  5. Starting today (again), I’m going to come out of my shell and take heart all the great quotes and bumper stickers that remind us that failures are stepping stones to success. (I made that one up, I think).

    Thank Missy, I’m gonna take advantage of every opportuntiy in 2011.

  6. Great attitude, Terri! Wishing you all the best in 2011!! 🙂

  7. Great post, Melissa. I have experienced failure, but it makes me more determined to try harder. It disappoints me at first, but then I overcome it and try again and much harder. I know if I give up, I will never be successful. I have to keep trying-especially if I am passionate about what I do.

  8. Wish overcoming those disappointments was easier. LOL But if we keep everything in perspective and our eyes on the goal, in the end we’ll be stronger and so much better. 🙂 Keep that passion alive, Jamie! 🙂

Show us some love and leave a comment!

