• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Congrats! It’s a….Kate?

It’s me, it’s me, it’s Liz T.

On a whole new day. Hey, I like Thursday! 🙂

Well, I screwed up the release date for my January book. Ahem, A Little Texas was released on January 4th. Don’t know why in the world I thought it was the 11th. Maybe because they (and by they, I mean Amazon) had it listed as Jan 11. Which meant January 2011. Not the actual date. So me and my blonde moment had it bassackwards. LOL. Who said I was Einstein?

So my third book is out, and I’ll go ahead and admit that I really, really like this story. Maybe because it’s about Kate and she just makes me smile. Such a big character in such a tiny body…and the chick has baggage. The fun kind. The kind you pull out and go, “Wow!” and then “Aww!” I’m pretty proud of this book. I’m sure there will be some who won’t like it, who’ll think Kate is too hard or tough. But she really embodies the kind of heroine I like to write. And her story is the kind I love to write. Deeply emotional. In fact, as I wrote this story, I sometimes cried. Which I’ve never done before and haven’t done since. But something about Kate’s pain touched me. And so there were points in the story that I put my head on my desk and I cried for her. It scared my kids a bit. They thought someone had died. And they darn sure didn’t understand why I was crying for a person I made up! LOL.

But that’s who we are. We’re creators. And sometimes we create too well and that character feels really, really real. So, yeah, I love this book. If someone said, what book should I read that would give me a sense of you as a writer, this would be it. So if you’ve been waiting to read one of my books, then pick this one up. I’d be perfectly happy if you want to start with the first one. It’s fun and sweet. And the second one is realistic and funny. But this one, well, this one is fulfilling. It’s about anger and forgiveness. It’s about thinking you know what you want but then…not really. It’s about appearances and what’s really underneath the veneer. But most of all it’s about finding love. Not merely romantic love (dude, it’s a romance!) but love for someone Kate thought she’d always hate.

 So, I guess this is a little bit of promo. Or whatever. But I haven’t had the opportunity to say the above. I’ve mostly talked about Oak Stand. Or Bubba. Or how I started writing. Which is totally cool. But I haven’t had the chance to say what this book means to me.

You’ll probably go out and buy it, read it, and be, like, what the h*ll? LOL. But still,  I wholly endorse this one as the best I’ve done…so far.

So, what about you? Have you written a character or read a book that had a character who seemed to leap off the page and become larger than life?

Leave a comment and I’ll choose a lucky duck who’ll get this puppy sent to her…or him.

19 Responses

  1. can’t wait to read your books…know they are great…as are you…

  2. I can’t wait to read this. Don’t put me in the drawing. I’ll have bought – probably this weekend!

    I love your voice. Can’t wait to read it.

  3. Congratulations on A Little Texas. Kate sounds fantastic. Loved your first heroines so looking forward to this one. Cover is sexy:)

  4. I can attest to the fact this book is one of the best Amy has written. It is a sweet, emotional, happy book. I could hardly put it down and wanted it to go on and on and on and on. Quite a talented daughter I have. 🙂

  5. Really looking forward to reading this book AND pimping it to all of my friends!

    I have written some characters that I absolutely love and hate to leave. The funny thing is, sometimes those characters are secondary characters that just spring to life from nothing.

  6. I would never have guessed that meant 2011 either, Liz! Do not feel bad.

    As for characters that leap off the page and stick with you forever, there are so many. Oddly enough, two of my favorite characters on Earth are Earl Swagger and his son Bob Lee Swagger in Stephen Hunter’s series. I love these guys so much. They are like eye candy for the brain. So heroic and daring. (Remember the movie Shooter? Yeah, Bob Lee. And the books are MUCH better.)

    And there are so many more. OH! Simon Bassett of Julia Quinn’s THE DUKE AND I. I have to reread that book every so often.

    Super congrats on the release, Liz!!! Don’t put me in the drawing. They are already on their way. Just wanted to comment and say hey!

  7. Hey Liz,
    It sounds more like you had a ‘Mary’ moment instead of a blond moment.

    I absolutely love books when the characters jump out at you and then they stay in your head long, long after you’ve read ‘the end’.

    Good luck with your new release!
    mary

  8. You know, Louisa. Kate was a secondary character, but halfway through the book, I knew I would have to write her story. She kind of demanded it, tapping her foot in those kickass Manolos she likes to wear. Write my story! She may or may not have added a colorful name to the end. LOL.

  9. Thanks, everyone for the super duper comments. Darynda, I love many of Julia Quinns characters, especially the featheringtons. Loved Penelope.

  10. Hey, doll. Already have my book, so don’t include me, but wanted to stop by and say, “Hey, girlfriend!” Any character that can garner that kind of emotion has to be a winner in my book. Just finished another friend’s book. It’s heroine appeared in earlier books, and I just didn’t like her. Too brassy, too loud, a flaming sex-kitten type. Well, my mind is changed. Good writers can do that, so I’m sure Kate will be a hit. I KNOW I’ll like her–she sounds a lot like my Katie.

  11. Really loved Kate’s story! I would say she is a little hard…but she is like a piece of candy coated chocolate, ya know? Hard on the outside but really worth getting to the inside!! With her past hurts, I would say you wrote her very accurately, Liz. At times, I wanted to give her a hug and let her know it was all going to be great (I read the end first…lol!)

    Other characters that have seemed so real to me were the sisters (Mackenzie and Delancey) from Lori Wicks’ Pretence. I read the novel in college and found myself praying for those poor girls!! And I do agree, Darynda, Julia Quinn’s Simon is rather yummy!

  12. Thanks, gwenlyn. I don’t like to write brassy and bold just to say my charter is brassy and bold, ya know? I’m just not that indulgent. I like sassy. And I like chicks who stand up for themselves but I hate intentional ballbusters. They’re just not that likable.

    Thanks for stopping by, Tafta. 🙂

  13. Sounds Good. I can’t wait to pick it up.

  14. Oh I can relate to you on crying for your character, Liz. I did that with my last book! I broke down into tears for my heroine and her family near the end of the book, but it was a happy ending for her. 🙂 It amazed me how much I placed myself into that story and into my characters shoes.

  15. We tend to do that, don’t we? They sometimes feel so very real to me. Once I remember getting so into my story that I actually thought “I need to tell Nellie about that.” then I was like “oh Lord, I’m going crazy. She’s Not even real!!”

  16. […] since finaling in the Golden Heart in 2009.  You can check out some interviews with Liz here, here, and […]

  17. Congrats on the release! I know a lot of people are going to fall all over Kate.

  18. I love emotional stories! I will go out and buy this one Liz. Great post BTW.

  19. […] to read all the new ones anyway!!)  You can check out some interviews with the lovely Liz here, here, and […]

Show us some love and leave a comment!

