• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Are We There Yet?

Good morning!  Hope the sun is shining where you are.  As you read this, I’m either trying my best to get down a mountain without breaking something or having snow ball fights with the kids.   And losing terrible, I might add. LOL  For some reason our school district decided we should have a four day weekend two weeks after we got back from Christmas break.  Now no way are we complaining.  We are taking full advantage of it!

Angel Fire, New Mexico is one of our favorite places to go snow skiing.  Mainly because we can just hop in the car and in about fourteen hours and one very twisty curvy mountain road be there.  Yeah, I know it’s a long drive, but air fare for 5 really limits us.  I’ve been blessed with kids that don’t mind the long trips too much.  We still get the “Are we there yet?”  and “I’m hungry.  Or the dreaded, “I’ve gotta go.  Now!”  But all in all, they travel really well.  Maybe even a touch better than me.  But don’t tell them that! Ack!

One of our favorite vacations was to Yellowstone National park.  At the time we had a third grader, second grader and kindergartener.  Even took our pop up camper and stayed inside the park.  Amazing experience and the kids were awesome troopers.  I look back now and can’t believe they were so young when we went.  They sure do take up more room now days.

Of course long trips aren’t anything like the ones my family and I took growing up.  My brother and I used to drive our parents nuts arguing over who got the back window spot.  You know, the place where the speakers are above your head.  The nice flat spot that’s just perfect for a tiny body to squeeze into with a pillow and their favorite blanket.  No seat belts were required back then and I remember being all over the backseat in every crazy position you can imagine.  Ah.  Those were the days.  🙂

With all these high tech gadgets, it sure makes travel a bit easier.  On the kids anyway.  I-Pods, video games, e-readers, oh what I would have given for one of those during those trips to visit my grandparents.  These kids don’t know how great they have it.

 Do you have a favorite family vacation?  Can’t wait to hear how you passed the time when you were younger and deprived of all these great new toys our kids have today.  I’ll check back in on Wednesday.  🙂

3 Responses

  1. we used to drive everywhere on vacation too because frankly, there was no way my parents could have afford the airfare for the 4 of us.

    We did lots of trips to Texas (Six Flags over Texas) and to Florida. To this day, the smell of hot asphalt makes me happy. I’m sure my brain is associating the smell with all those summer trips to the hot hot Texas amusement park!

    But it sounds like your family is having a blast with you time off.

  2. You sound like me, Cyndi. We didn’t have the money for lavish vacations. So Six Flags it was! LOL

    My grandparents took us to Dogpatch a good bit. Arky people know exactly what I’m talking about. I loved Dogpatch, USA. We also went to crystal caverns, Booger Holler, and every other crazy stop on our way up. Oh, man, it was a kid’s dream. Good Old Days!

  3. It sounds like your family had a blast, Melissa. My favorite vacation was taken at home one summer, and it lasted for about a month. My best friend from high school came to live with me during that time, and our other best friend came to stay with us for the weekend when she first came down from Tennessee before she got married. That was the best weekend ever! We had SO much fun! We acted wild and silly just like we did in the old days. That was in 2007. We still talk a lot, but I wish we could do it again. 🙂

Show us some love and leave a comment!

