Oh What A Feeling

I think we must have brought the darn cold weather back with us after our trip.   So much for thinking I’d be able to get warm once we got home.  This Texas climate is crazy.  There’s a saying Mark Twain is credited with that fits perfectly.  “If you don’t like the weather, wait five minutes and it’ll change.”  Warm isn’t going to happen for me anytime soon.  The low’s this week are forecasted to be in the lower thirties.  For a Texas girl that translates into Brrrrrrrr…LOL  Well, at least we’ve got our warm clothes still out.

As long as I can stay inside bundled up in front of the fire or heater, I don’t mind the cold.  But with three kids and extra curricular activities there isn’t much hope of that.  My oldest daughter had a colorgurad tournament this weekend.  This was the most strenuous, action packed and thrilling performance I’ve ever watched.  I was on the edge of my seat.  Flags were swaying in perfect unison, rifles flying so high I cringed at every precisionaly (not sure that’s even a word, but I’m going to use it.) timed toss and catch.  How they kept the smiles on their faces and stayed so focused is beyond me.  The tension in the room as the music played with these young ladies executing skillfully mastered maneuvers left me and the rest of the crowded gym breathless.  My heart picks up just thinking about it.  They took home the First place trophy and no one had to question why.

I haven’t seen the movie “Inception” starring Leonardo DiCaprio.  But after watching this performance and listening to parts of the soundtrack, the CD is on the top of my list for inspirational music.  Intense.  Yeah, that would be the perfect word.

I for one had no idea what color guard or winter guard was before my daughter joined last year.  We had flags that performed with the band during marching season when I was in high school.  Okay, I know it’s been a few years and things change.  But colorguard is one highly competitive sport now.  Not only are these performers tossing flags and rifles, but heavy metal sabers too.  Like I said, I cringed every time something went up in the air.  They use other props too.  The chorography, imagination, dedication and energy put into this sport is mind boggling.   No wonder my daughter is exhausted after a practice. Talk about great exercise! 

It’s been a while since I’ve been taken by surprise and moved like this.  Tennis will start up soon for my other daughter and I’ll be sitting on the sidelines cheering her on, amazed by her as well.  I’m not sure I can take all this wonderful excitement. LOL  The time and dedication these kids put into their work, is really inspiring.  Something we adults can learn from.  Man, I wish there was a way to bottle that feeling and use it every day.   Oh, the things I’d get done.  Proud momma here!

Talk about great emotional impact to draw on.   Have you ever had something just blow you away?

“We overestimate the event and underestimate the process.  Every fulfilled dream occurred because of dedication to a process.” John C. Maxwell – Failing Forward

8 Responses

  1. What a wonderful experience! Don’t you love when our kids are involved in such great things? Really cool.

    My “blown away” event happened last year at my son’s fifth grade play. He attends a performing arts magnet school and they put on “Annie.” I sat there wondering how I didn’t know kids could do something so incredible. It was awesome!

  2. I was trying my best to film the performance, but I had tears in my eyes, Liz! My other two sat there looking at me like I was crazy or something. LOL Our kids really are amazing, aren’t they. I still see them as my little ones and don’t give them enough credit.

    My middle daughter has been in drama for the past 4 years. Plays are not an easy thing to pull off. Even for adults. But 5th graders…. And “Annie” Wow! I bet it was Awesome! Would have loved to see it. 🙂

  3. What a great way to spend the weekend. I remember the Flag line when I was in High School, we had drill team, Flag Line and cheerleaders but not color guard.

    A friend at work has a daughter in color guard and It’s a really big deal to them too.

    I don’t have any special blown away moment but everyday Lilly (my almost 2 yr old granddaughter) does something new. It’s always such a joy watching her.

  4. Heather, I love that age! And you’ve got some great blown away moments in your future. I hear that when it’s your grandkids, it’s even more spectacular. 😉

  5. Congratulations to you, your daughter and school. I know there’s ALOT of pressure in team competition to complete their part. Great job.

    As I watch my kids grow into their teenage years, I’m ‘blown away’ on how they a can manage 6 classes but can’t make-up their beds. I guess that’s something I have to work on with them.

  6. LOL, Terri! Yeah, these teenage years are a challenge, aren’t they. 🙂 Try not to sweat the small stuff. Too much bigger stuff to worry about!

  7. Glad you had a great weekend, Melissa. That looks like a beautiful performance.

  8. Thanks, Jamie. I wish I new how to get the video off my camera. I would love to share! 🙂

Show us some love and leave a comment!

