• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Go It Together

It’s pretty hard to follow up Jamie’s post with that yummy guy. Nice eye candy for a Tuesday.

But, nevertheless, it’s my day to blog and so I’ll just have to carry on with something not so sexy but just as inspiring.

Yesterday, right before my wonderful husband called me in to his office to complete the root canal from hell he’d started a few weeks ago, he sweetly stopped by our favorite cafe and bought me lunch…yummy tuna salad and a potato-corn chowder. And I love these teas that have the sayings underneath the cap. The one he got was an African proverb that said “If you want to go quickly, go alone. If you want to go far, go with others.”

Nice proverb, huh?

And it got me to thinking. About us. Writers. Specifically how so many other genres marvel at romance writers and how we (gasp!) help each other on the road to fame and obviously not much fortune if the numbers can be believed. But, yes, we do. We like to join groups, critique groups, partnerships, chapters, blogs. We like to be together, and more importantly, we support one another in a way no other business ever could.

I mean let’s face it. We all want success. We want to top bestseller lists, get advances that make our tongues loll out, and have readers camp outside bookstores on release days. We want that. And the people we surround ourselves with want that too. But do we trip them, press them back, and talk bad about they momma and them? Well, I’m sure there are some, but for the most part no.

I’m so glad Im a romance writer. Not just because I write about love and happily ever afters, but because I’m surrounded with classy, friendly, well-meaning women who are not just my colleagues, but are my friends.

So, what do you love about being a romance writer…or a reader?

6 Responses

  1. Wow, your husband is your dentist? I am terrified of dentist and even if my hubby was one I don’t think I’d let him work on my teeth!! LOL.

    I love being a romance reader. I am on several message boards and it’s nice to see actual authors on there joining in on the conversations and commenting back to others like they are just regular people (I know they are but you know what I mean).

    I love up and coming authors the most because they seem to appreciate the readers, they enjoy corresponding and visiting with them.

    There are several well known authors that are still that way and then there are some (NYT Bestsellers) that don’t have the time or day for readers/fans.

  2. i love this togetherness. I love we’re not “competition” against one another, but helping each other along.

    I remember way back when when I had to first explain about a cp to my husband…and then my mom…and again to my sister…my aunt. Same spill over and over.

    Me: “no, they’re not going to steal my idea. Why would they?”

    Them: “how do you know?”

    Me: “well I guess if they do, I can steal theirs right back since I have their work too!”

    speaking of togetherness–did you book our room for NOLA or do I need to be calling??

  3. That’s a good way to feel a part of a reader’s life. Well, and an authors. It’s a two-way street, isn’t it? I like that I can “hang out” online with my favorite authors. Pretty cool.

    Keri, I stole your idea. LOL

    Haven’t booked the room yet, but I will. Deadline is the 10th. Trying to get this blasted book in by my 1st deadline and then I will come back to the land of the living.

  4. I love our togetherness! It’s so cool to have such great friends who share the same dream and struggles. šŸ™‚ Throw in the fact we have an opportunity to meet so many great people we wouldn’t otherwise and it just doesn’t get any better!

  5. Being that I am a social person, I wouldn’t be happy going it alone. No matter how great friends and family are, they just don’t get a writer’s life! You need other writers who “get it” šŸ™‚

  6. I’ve tried to go it alone, and that didn’t work at all. That was before I joined NOLA. I can’t even describe how much my writing has improved and how much I’ve learned over the past few years since I’ve joined. And I’ve made some good friends in the group too.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

