• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Catching Fire Review by Suzanne Collins

Review by Julie at Another Chance Ranch

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
2nd book in The Hunger Games Trilogy

Note:  If you haven’t read The Hunger Games please do not read this review.  It won’t completely ruin the book for you, but there will be some spoilers.

Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has won the annual Hunger Games with fellow district tribute Peeta Mellark.  But it was a victory won by defiance of the Capitol and their harsh rules.  Katniss and Peeta should be happy.  After all, they have just won for themselves and their families a life of safety and plenty.  But there are rumors of rebellion among the subjects, and Katniss and Peeta, to their horror are the faces of that rebellion.  The Capitol is angry.  The Capitol wants revenge.

This is the WORST cliffhanger I’ve ever read!

Really it is, but the only reason I say “the worst” is because if you have to wait any length of time to get the third book in this trilogy it is agonizing.  The honest to goodness truth is that Suzanne Collins has a captivating writing style.  I knew this after finishing The Hunger Games, but it was so much more evident after reading Catching Fire.

I’d like to say right up front that this book started a bit slow for me.  The pacing just wasn’t the same as it was in The Hunger Games, but after the Quarter Quell announcement was made everything suddenly got very interesting.  The pace picked up, and I was flipping pages so fast I could have caught on fire.  Ha ha.  Yea, that sounded a whole lot funnier in my head.

Let’s get to the meat of this book.

First of all, this book has a little more of the whole love triangle thing going on.  I am not a big reader of romance books so this made me roll my eyes a little here and there.  Yea, I know, I am writing a book review on ENLR but I can’t help it.  I have nothing against romance books or authors.  Really!  Oh I digress.  Now that I have read all of the books, and recommended them to several friends, I tend to giggle when I think about the men that I know that have read these books.  These are manly men:  cowboys, farmers, and hunting men.  Shoot, I digress.

Catching Fire picks up pretty darn close to where The Hunger Games ended.

After reading THG (The Hunger Games) we are under the impression that Katniss and Peeta will live the life of luxury since they did win the 74th Annual Hunger Games.  They, and their families, have moved into a new home in the Victors Village.  You would think that Katniss would finally be able to relax a little.  Take it easy.  Enjoy her victory.

But no.

She and Peeta have to embark on their Victory Tour of the other 11 districts.  But before leaving on this little tour, President Snow pays Katniss a little visit and gives her an ultimatum.  She has to convince everyone that the little stunt she pulled (eating poisonous berries in an attempt to commit suicide in the previous games) was done as an act of love.  This act of love, as the Capitol is calling it, was really deemed as an act of rebellion in their eyes.  If she fails, the lives of the people she loves most are at stake.

She tried, she really did.

With this being the 75th Anniversary of the Hunger Games the Capitol has named them the Quell games, and promises that they will be spectacular.  Instead of holding the customary Reaping Day ceremonies, previous victors from each district will be selected.   Katniss is the only female victor from District 12 therefore she is automatically chosen to compete.  The Capitol, or President Snow rather, feels that Katniss made fools of them and now they want revenge.

Oh man! It is really hard for me to summarize this book.  It’s a really good book, but I am afraid that everything I say is going to give something away.  I want to keep as much of the details, twists, and turns a secret.  So I have to wrap this up before I say too much.

I will say that Peeta does go to the Quell games with Katniss, but does he live?  WE DON’T KNOW!  I told you – CLIFFHANGER!  Stinkin’ cliffhangers!!

All in all, Catching Fire might be a little more action packed and intense than THG.  It is more complex, and it leaves you wanting more.

One more thing, the most ingenious part of the book is the clock.  That is all I’m saying.

Another Note: I have read all of these books, and I considered posting all of the reviews at one time but I just couldn’t do it without giving too much away.  So be on the look out for my review of Mockingjay coming soon.

Review by Julie

8 Responses

  1. You cliffhanger reviewer is just as bad as the cliffhanger of Catching Fire! LOL

    Great review. Your enthusiasm for this book (and this series) was obvious. Sounds like a fascinating series.

  2. Thank you for the kind words Cyndi. I never thought about the review being a cliffhanger too. 🙂 LOL Well, it worked for Suzanne Collins. 🙂

  3. I wish I had the nerve to read this series, but after everything I’ve heard I’m afraid it would haunt me forever.

    Excellent review, Julie. Welcome!

  4. “I could have caught on fire. Ha ha. Yea, that sounded a whole lot funnier in my head.”

    LOL. I love that.

    Welcome to the ENLR!

  5. Great to have you with us Julie! The book sounds great!

  6. I love this series and I LOVED the clock! So brilliant. Can I be Suzanne Collins when I grow up?

  7. Still reading the book!!!! i would of never thought about the clock!!! But I still don’t know if there is a lot of romance. Can someone tell me if there is any romance after she finds out about the whole clock thing?

  8. […] parchment girl, The Wertzone, Presenting Lenore, Dear Author, Maw Books Blog, Bewitched Bookworms, Everybody Needs a Little Romance, A Year of Reading,  Jen Robinson’s Book Page, Monniblog,  Linus’s Blanket, Booknerd […]

Show us some love and leave a comment!

