• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Sweet Sixteen

Oh, to be young again.  Well, maybe not that young.  I’m not so sure I want to do all that difficult teenage stuff over.  LOL  Just shy of sixteen years ago, Valentine’s Day, 1995, I received a beautiful gift.  My first daughter entered the world at a whopping 6 lbs 2 oz.  Yes, she was a little bitty thing.  Now she stands an inch taller than me and looks like she’s 21 all decked out in her uniform for colorguard.  How can this be?  Where did all that time go between her birth and now?

At this point in her short life, we are having a blast learning to drive and experiencing the excitement of high school.  No boys have entered the picture yet, so things are really good. 🙂  I wonder how much longer my luck will hold out on that one.  I shudder at the thought of some boy driving away with her in his truck for a date.  Over protective mom doesn’t come close to describing me.  I can totally see me sneaking out behind them with a sudden need to pick up milk or eggs.  Just to make certain they are safe of course.

So what started all this sweet sixteen stuff? I discovered a few things as I searched for the best party ideas and things to make it a special and memorable event.

This tradition dates back to historical times.  It was a celebration to mark the passing into adulthood.  A young woman was now old enough to marry and have children. (I can’t even wrap my mind around this one.)

There are even special ceremonies.

Candle lighting Ceremony (Never heard of this one)

  • The first candle is for the girl’s parents.
  • The second candle is for the siblings. (If there are no siblings, then this candle can represent the grandparents.)
  • Candles 3, 4, 5 and 6 are for the rest of the family members.
  • Candles 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 and 14 are for friends.
  • Candle 15 is for the girl’s best friend or friends.
  • The 16th candle is for a significant male, such as a boyfriend or good friend.
  • Some add a 17th candle which represents good luck

And then you have, shoe and tiara ceremonies, Father-Daughter dances, and video montages.  Some parents really go crazy.  Limousines, rented ballrooms, disc jockeys, overnight stays at hotels.  Oh, dear.  I had no idea.  We will be celebrating with an ice skating party, which the group will be chauffeured to by yours truly, and a special cake made by my favorite pastry chef from Drew’s Pastry Place.  All this followed by the ever popular sleepover.  Thank goodness I was able to talk her out of wearing formals to the skating rink.  Kids and their ideas!  I’m exhausted already.

As I think back really hard, I seem to remember a fun sleepover when I turned 16.  Boy have things changed.   Do you have a special memory from your sweet sixteenth birthday?

 

 

 

 

 

20 Responses

  1. I dare not imagine the daughters’ sweet sixteens. Fortunately, I have a few more years.

    As for my own, I honestly can’t remember. Good grief, was it that long ago? I think that was the year we went to a Mexican restaurant where the waiter got great pleasure in smashing b/day cake into my face. 🙂

    Give your daughter my b/day love!

    Jenn!

  2. Thanks, Jenn! Now I don’t feel so bad about not remembering since you are younger than me! LOL And gosh, that was so not nice. No tip for him I’m guessing. 🙂

  3. I can’t remember my sixteen birthday party either but at that time in my life, there were parties every weekend (and many at my house), so they all seem to blur together.

    I do not like the “father-daughter” prom/dance thing. Seems creepy to me!

    I’m pretty sure one of my presents was keys to all the cars we owned at the time (my own set!!) That was a big deal.

    I’m also pretty sure I had a fender-bender on my 16th birthday…not paying attention. Alas, that “not paying attention when driving” still happens today. 😦

    Happy 16th to your daughter!

  4. I can’t remember mine either. I think I had an Elvis impersonator at a pizza place.

    Let me explain, my mom is a huge Elvis fan and joined this fan club. I went along with her to the annual picnic and fell in love with Sammy (the elvis impersonator) so needless to say she got him to perform at my bday and few days later at my grandmother’s house out by the pool and then again the next year.

    We went to a lot of stuff where he performed and we got to be good friends – he was my first love/crush and still remains there today. Haven’t seen him in years but do still think about him.

    My granddaughter’s bday was yesterday (she turned 2) and my daughter’s bday is the 17th (she will turn 23).

    Happy Birthday to your daughter!!! I hope she has a wonderful time at her party.

  5. I can’t remember much about mine, but my daughter’s was fabulous. We had a huge party for her. She and her friends danced, ate, sat around talking and laughing and then did it all over again.

  6. Can’t remember much of mine. Hope your daughter has an amazing one!

  7. Hmm. I don’t remember much of mine, but I remember this picture I have from my party. One of those classic shots where you’re holding up the cake? That one. On the cake ’16’ is written in thick, hot pink frosting. that’s the part I remember the most. 🙂

  8. I will keep with the theme, I don’t remember much of mine, either. All I know is, I don’t look forward to my daughter turning 16. Some of the shows on TV don’t help the cause either. Have a great weekend.

  9. Gosh, thanks guys! I feel better. I’m normal! LOL Well, almost. 🙂

    Cyndi – handing over those keys isn’t going to be easy. 😦 Ouch, on the fender bender. Did it make you less excited about getting behind the wheel?

    I must think about the good things that will come of this mile stone, like errands she will be able to run and taking her brother and sister to school. Yeah, that makes it all better.

  10. Heather, my mom was a huge Elvis fan too. I still have several of his records. Nothing to play them on, but I have them. LOL Great story! Too funny!!Sounds like you have a busy birthday month. Happy birthday to your daughter and grandbaby as well!

  11. Vicki, your daughter’s a lucky girl. 🙂 I’m taking lots of pictures and writing everything down so my daughter will remember all this when she’s older.

  12. Thanks, Jamie! I think we all must have had such a spectacular time, it’s just to overwhelming to remember. LOL

  13. See, Keri! Pictures do help you remember! Yep, lots of great shots this weekend!! LOL Thick pink frosting. I bet it was buttercream icing. Love that stuff!!

  14. I’ve seen a few of those shows, Terri. What are these parents thinking?? Unbelievable!! I wonder what their weddings will look like? Geesh! And thanks, it should be really fun. This is a great bunch of girls! 🙂

  15. No big party for me, but my friends did get together and have a little party for me. I remember that my best friend baked me a cake and it was really, really terrible. But it was the first cake she’d made and she seemed so proud of it. I ate a piece even though I really didn’t want to. LOL.

    That’s all I remember. Food! Of course!

  16. LOL Liz! Well, without food is there really a party? 😉 I’m just glad nowdays a homemade cake comes from a box!

  17. I don’t remember my 16th at all! Shows how old I am! But my daughter’s was great fun!

  18. Hey, Tess! I should have called you when I started planning all this stuff. LOL I’m looking forward to the party. Just the idea she still wants me to hang out with her brings so much joy to my heart. 🙂

  19. Okay, I raised boys so missed out on the Sweet 16 parties. I guess that puts me on the other side of the fence, huh? I didn’t totally miss out on special moments, though. My sons enlisted me as designated driver…until they each got their driver’s licenses. I’ll always cherish the night I received high praise and thanks for ‘backing the car around the corner so my oldest could get his good night kiss at her dad’s door.” It was his 16th birthday.

    As for my 16th, well, that was back in the covered wagon days. I think we had a barn dance. Hahaha!

  20. Hey, Jaye! Covered wagon days….You are too funny! Yeah, girls are definitely different than boys. Thank goodness my last one is a boy. I’ll be way too old for this stuff when he reaches 16. LOL

Show us some love and leave a comment!

