• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Valentines Deadline Approaching

Do you set a deadline for yourself to finish your book on time?  Whether it’s writing one or reading one? 

I have set a deadline to prepare myself for when my second and third book is published.  

It can become hectic when the deadline approaches because you are cramming to finish on time.  So far, I am writing 2k words a day.  Two days ago, I hit my maximum word count.  I have NEVER written this many words a day in all my life.  2700 words in one day.  That’s almost 3k!  I was on a roll.

My deadline to finish this book is on Valentines Day.  What a perfect day to finish a romance novel, don’t you think?  Of course, then I have my revisions to do.  It will then be time to fight the perfectionist within me!  Lol 

If I finish the revisions in March, I would have worked on the book for five months!  I began working on it in October of last year.   It has always taken me a year and a half to write a book.  I have gotten much more serious about my writing than my earlier years. 

I can’t wait to finish it because so many of my friends are wanting to hang out with me, and there are places to go with them.   There is time to spend with my family, which I have postponed.   But I can’t until I finish the book.  I’m so excited about finishing the “creating the story” part of it.   

How many months or weeks do you write before you set your deadline?  What’s the most words you have written a day?  Or how many books do you read a month?

10 Responses

  1. Deadlines are a must for me and I have to tell others so they keep me on track. I’m a big procrastinator. LOL I do pretty good on word count during NANOWRIMO, but most of them are not keepers. 😉

  2. Great post. I set them for both reading and writing but don’t always make them. This is a good push.

    I have linked this over at The Loft romance here:

    http://www.facebook.com/#!/permalink.php?story_fbid=139458932785778&id=111001582299788

  3. I try and map out my books for the month, especially my review books but I don’t always make it through them all.

    I’ve been so busy with the review books I’ve gotten that my series I follow regularly have new books and I haven’t been able to get to them. Then add my MBA Finance class in the mix this semester, that leaves no time.

    I keep telling myself I more class after this one, the end is in sight 🙂

  4. I started scheduling at the beginning of the year. Now that I have deadlines, it was a definite must. I have weekly things I need to accomplish to stay on schedule (of course I’m already behind!). It’s really cool that I just need to pull up my calendar and see what I need to work on.

    And then even more fun—see when I can start new things! Come on May! I’ll be anxious at the end of the year to clock my output and see what I accomplished, where I think I could have done more or should of done less!

  5. As someone coming off a deadline, I will say that is it very important to plan well in advance. I didn’t do so well with the last one and I suffered for it. Some things were beyond my control, but my deadline didn’t care.

    I can buckle down and crank out words when needed, but I’d rather take my time.

    Once I wrote over 10,000 words in one day. It was exhausting!

  6. I’m a big procrastinator too, Melissa. Deadlines seem to help me stay focused and stay on track.

  7. Thanks Kwana. Glad it helped. 🙂

  8. I know what you mean, Heather. My mom is SO bogged down with class and homework from school. She has hardly no time for anything. I hope it works out for you soon.

  9. That’s a good idea, Keri. Having a calendar handy. I wish you luck with your deadlines.

  10. Yes, that’s true, Liz. It’s best to plan well in advance, and it’s best not to push yourself too hard.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

