• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

I Get By With a Little Help

from my friends. Sing it with me! LOL

Gosh, love the Beatles. Actually, I love that song. And isn’t it so very true? Don’t we as writers get by with a little help from our friends? Heck, you don’t have to be a writer to know that. Just work as a waitress. Rap star. Petroleum engineer. Anyone. You need friends to make life totally tolerable. Or booze. But I would recommend the former.

I’m also blogging today over at the Ruby Slippered Sisterhood about this same thing – needing good friends to make the journey we take easier. Here’s the link (not because I’m lazy. I am. But because I like the post I did there):

http://www.rubyslipperedsisterhood.com

If you wouldn’t mind, go read it. Then pop back over here. If you refuse to, well, that’s your choice. You can still play along and pretend the you read all the wonderful things you are supposed to be doing to ensure that you are successful. Ah, now you’re wondering. You are hovering the mouse over the link, wondering if you have time to visit yet another blog today…especially when you are working on that deadline you imposed on yourself thanks to Jamie’s post yesterday. Go ahead. One more won’t hurt.

So what do you think? Is it true? Have you had a little help along the way? Do you get by with a little help from your friends?

I know I do. And that includes many of you here at ENALR. Especially Keri who was my first real critique partner.  Gosh, did she come up with some ideas to save my boring plot. And Cyndi with her guest spots and reviews. And so many of you who bought my book and made me feel like the real deal. See? What would I do without you guys?

So what about you? Where have you seen your writing life made better by the gift of friendship?

6 Responses

  1. Two great posts, Liz! My writing life is made better every day by my great writing buds. Could never do this without the encouragement and support! 🙂

  2. oh, goodness. All over the place! I wouldn’t be where I am if not writing buds that have influenced me over the years—you, cyndi and many, many, many others! (it def took a village to get me this far!)

  3. Yep, that’s how I feel. I don’t see how people can go it alone. I wouldn’t have sold if I hadn’t joined RWA. If I hadn’t entered contests and learned from them, if I hadn’t attended conferences and learned what e/a were looking for.

    I’m ever so thankful to be surrounded by generous souls who have helped me on my way.

  4. Thank you Liz for the nice note about my reviews and interviews.

    I don’t know how people write without anyone else to read for them. I owe WAY too many people to list. 🙂

    BTW Liz – Got partial off to Wanda today. Thanks for you help getting me in touch with her.

  5. Glad I could be a FWB for you, Cyndi. And I always appreciate when people give me nice reviews 🙂

  6. Nice posts, Liz. Thanks a lot. I do have good critique partners (and friends) who I don’t know what I would do without. As well as the writers group. I try not to push myself too hard even while imposing a deadline on myself. I still make a little time for friends and family during that time just not as much as I normally would. I don’t know how it is possible for a writer to make it alone, do you?

Show us some love and leave a comment!

