Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

From Scholastic:

Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has survived the Hunger Games twice.  But now that she’s made it out of the bloody arena alive, she’s still not safe.  The Capitol is angry.  The Capitol wants revenge.  Who do they think should pay for the unrest?  Katniss.  And what’s worse, President Snow has made it clear that no one else is safe either.  Not Katniss’s family, not her friends, not the people of District 12.  Powerful and haunting, this thrilling final installment of Suzanne Collins’s groundbreaking The Hunger Games trilogy promises to be one of the most talked about books of the year.

My thoughts:

Out of all three of the books in this series, this was the hardest to write a review on.

My husband is reading The Hunger Games right now, and he asked me how the series ends.  No worries I didn’t tell him, but he wanted to know because he didn’t want to waste his time reading the whole series if it ends badly.  Seriously, if I had told him that I didn’t like the last book in the series he would stop reading right now.  No joke.

I am not going to go into the details of the story.  The blurb from Scholastic is really enough of a summary.  I wouldn’t be able to say much more without giving the whole thing away.

Now, I said I didn’t like this last book but let me explain.

I didn’t even know about this series until after all of the books had been published, so I didn’t have that long agonizing wait for each book.  I finished one, downloaded the next one, and just kept on reading until I had finished the series.  That could have been part of my problem; the wait and anticipation might have made the last part of the story more exciting.  I loved The Hunger Games, and really loved Catching Fire.  I just had higher expectations for Mockingjay, but felt kind of let down.

This book didn’t have the sparkle and flair that the other two books had, and it was a bit darker.  Several of my favorite characters died, and the love story didn’t end up the way I wanted it to.

With all of that said, after thinking about all of the books and all of the different ways the author could have ended the series, this is the only way it could have ended.

I am glad I read this series, you will be glad you read it too.

Would you like to win The Hunger Games trilogy?  Head on over to my blog, Another Chance Ranch, and leave a comment to enter this little giveaway.,/s> Contest Over

Show us some love and leave a comment!

