• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

A Night to Remember

Happy Valentines Day!!!!

And Happy Birthday to my sweet Valentine’s baby!!!!  16 years ago and it feels like only yesterday.

Friday helped me remember all those great things about being a teen.  My daughter’s birthday party was a huge success.  I wasn’t sure about the ice skating, but it went really well.  Even for those less experienced skaters.  Yes, I put on a pair of those uncomfortable shoes and took my chances that I’d remember what to do and not end up a big pile of mush in the middle of the ice.  If my feet hadn’t started hurting, I’d have kept up with those teenagers.  🙂

The best part of the night was when Chilly, the mascot of the rink, came in to wish the birthday girl a “Happy Birthday.”   After shaking hands and a bit of goofing off, I asked for a picture.  He gladly obliged.   He put his large furry paw around my daughter’s shoulder, I raised the camera ready to shoot, and the next thing I knew she was airborne!  He swooped her up into his arms and before anyone knew what happened had her hanging upside down from one arm.  All of this done while wearing ice skates!  Oh, what site!  And great picture!

The laughter was hysterical and after a few more twirls, he set her on her feet and was down on one knee proposal style.  The look on my daughter’s face was priceless.  I laughed, but deep inside I was dying.  It won’t be long before this happens for real.  But talk about make her night.  I’m still not so sure it wasn’t someone who knows her from high school.  I don’t think this came with the birthday package I bought. LOL  The rest of the night he followed her and her group of friends around doing silly stuff and they loved every minute.

Then there was the cute boy who accidentally knocked her down.  Yeah, like I believe that one.  Especially since I witnessed the sweet hug he gave her after helping her back up.  Ack!  I’m so not ready for this stuff.

I don’t see how she will ever be able to forget this night.  But just in case, I have lots of pictures.  And she’ll kill me if she finds out I posted these.  But I just couldn’t help myself! LOL

Hang on to every precious moment!  Life is way too short!!

9 Responses

  1. This post made me smile…BIG GRIN

    Love the “accidental” knock-down and the quick “I’m sorry” hug after.

    And the upside down picture will be something she will treasure FOREVER. I have a few of those from my teenage years and they are special.

    Looks like a great party.

    Come back on Wednesday. I have birthday party pictures too…not exactly the same as yours, but you’ll see!

  2. Awww…this post brought back memories, both of me at that age and my daughter. And Ack is right, it goes by so fast and before you know it their grown.

    From the sounds of it, she had a great party and one that her friends will talk about for a while. 🙂

  3. what a great time it looks like they had. I love the upside down picture.

    I’m glad her party was a success and wish her a happy birthday from all of us here on the blog!!!!

  4. I sure hope she remembers, Cyndi! LOL And I’ll be back Wednesday for sure! 🙂

  5. Vicki, my mom used to tell me to enjoy all those hectic moments when the kids were little. Now I know why!

  6. Heather, when he first picked her up I thought he was going to carry her away! LOL I would give anything to have had a video camera. Dang it! 🙂

  7. Great Job Melissa (mom), your daughter will remember and love you for life … even more!

  8. Thanks, Terri! I know I will remember it!! 😉

  9. What a special day to have a birthday. And I am glad your daughter enjoyed the wonderful birthday you gave her. I know she will remember it.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

