• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Black Heels to Tractor Wheels by Ree Drummond aka The Pioneer Woman

From the book cover:

I’ll never forget that night.  It was like a romance novel, an old Broadway musical, and a John Wayne western rolled into one.  Out for a quick drink with friends, I wasn’t looking to meet anyone, let alone a tall, rugged cowboy who lived on a cattle ranch miles away from my cultured, corporate hometown.  But before I knew it, I’d been struck with a lightning bolt…and I was completely powerless to stop it.

Read along as I recount the rip-roaring details of my unlikely romance with a chaps-wearing cowboy, from the early days of our courtship (complete with cows, horses, prairie fire, and passion) all the way through the first year of our marriage, which would be filled with more challenge and strife – and manure – than I ever could have expected.

This isn’t just my love story; it’s a universal tale of passion, romance, and all-encompassing love that sweeps us off our feet.

It’s the story of a cowboy.

And Wranglers.

And chaps.

And the girl who fell in love with them.

If you just-so-happen to follow The Pioneer Woman’s blog then you’ve more than likely read some this love story.   She started writing blog posts about how she and Marlboro Man met, but didn’t think anyone would be interested in reading them.  Much to her surprise, readers were begging for more.  Literally, begging.  You can go back and read those posts and the hundreds of comments they received.

Publishers got involved, and BAM there’s a book.

And it makes me happy.

Let’s just get something out in the open.  I know Ree.  I know Marlboro Man.  And their kids.  Marlboro Man’s family, and some of Ree’s as well.  There, I said it.  I can promise you that I can be objective.  I am going to keep it real, as Ree would say.

Oh, one more thing, I don’t typically read anything that resembles a romance.  So, I really was unsure about reading this one, let alone reviewing it.    But this isn’t, what I imagine to be, a typical romantic novel.  It is a memoir.  That makes it different; in my mind it makes it different anyway.

This city girl meets cowboy love story is such an easy read.  It is a sweet and funny – okay, in some parts it is laugh-out-loud funny – love story.  How many romances include manure?  Fire, other than the burning desire?  Post-partum depression?  I loved it!

I tried to find something about this book that I didn’t like, and I can’t.   I will admit, I would wince a bit when she would mention anything of a romantic situation between them just knowing that it would be too much information for me to endure.  But yet again, it isn’t your typical romance.  It is written in a way that her daughters will be able to read this book, and not be grossed out.  Admit it, you’d be grossed out if your parents told you every little detail of their “hook-up.”

I really like Ree’s writing style.  I felt like it was more of a conversation, a one-sided conversation, but a conversation nonetheless.  It was just so easy to imagine that she was telling me this story over a glass of wine.

Knowing that this is a true story might give some single females a bit of encouragement.   There is one true love out there for all of us, and sometimes it finds you when you least expect it.  Just like it found Ree and Marlboro Man.

 

P.S.

I’m hosting a little giveaway over on my personal blog, Another Chance Ranch.  Head on over there and enter to win an autographed copy of Black Heels to Tractor Wheels.

6 Responses

  1. what a love story! I read it chapter by chapter on her site, but I understand this book has chapters that weren’t on her site. I want that autographed copy!

  2. I want this! I love romance and a real life romance story—all the better!

  3. Well, um, no I wouldn’t say this is an “objective review.” Sorry, but I read the book and did not like it. And the fact is, I don’t actually believe much of what PW writes; she’s a marketing person, period. Good at marketing, sucks as a writer/cook.

  4. What a useless review of a useless book.

  5. I have read the book and LOVE it! I read all the chapters she had on the website and they are great and the book is even better. PW is awesome and totally believable and REAL. She is not a “marketing person” at all, but just a down to earth, honest person. Great review!

  6. Love PW, loved the book!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

