• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Writing Aids

Most writers do have to have help along the way, and yes I am one of them.   I have to attend my local RWA meetings, have a critique group as well as friends in the goup,  read many books on writing, read tons of romance books, support my other fellow authors, attend workshops and conferences,  blogging, email,  and many other things.

And there IS time to do those things during my busy schedule.  

Meetings  are very important.  That’s where I learn more about how to improve my writing, meet other writers, and make friends with them.   I love supporting my friends in the group and buying their books.   Then, there is the annual conference where there are more workshops on writing, and I get the chance to pitch my book to editors and agents.  It is good to meet them in person as well. 

A writer needs a critique partner.  I have a critique group of three, and they have helped me come a long way.  I hope I have helped them too.  They are such wonderful  ladies, and I love them to death.  We are good friends too.  There are several kinds of critique partners or groups.  Some are just helpful to each other, some are friends too, and there’s some that are cliques.  Some cliques can be needy of each other, and I am glad I don’t need to be in a clique like some.

Reading many books on writing and romance novels helps me so much to improve my own writing.   One voice I connect with on so many levels is Jaquelyn Frank.  I LOVE her voice.  I am about to read a book on revisions since I am doing them currently. 

Blogging helps to connect with other writers and gets your name out there while you also get the chance to see other authors being interviewed with their new books being released.

What about you?  What helps you the most with your writing?

8 Responses

  1. Having a support group keeping me going is wonderful. and then of course–practice practice practice! nothing helps more than sitting down and actually writing and taking all that you’ve figured out from friends and books and trying it out for yourself!

  2. For me, I’d have to say all of the above! 🙂 But I agree with Keri, a great support group makes all the difference in the world.

  3. Support is important, and I find reading invaluable too. I’m picky about workshops and craft books because sometimes they can sway me and make me confused and doubt myself. There’s a good balance to be had. Moderation in everything.

  4. Interesting that this is your subject for today. I wrote nothing today. Not one word.

    HOWEVER, I spent 4+ hours plotting my book (a mystery) with my plot partner. Without her, her insights, and her wonderful note taking, I might still be wandering around in the dark! When I brainstorm, it’s free form. If I stop to write anything down, I lose my next thought. Lee takes notes of my ramblings, tosses in suggestions, rolls her eyes at the giant dragon who flies through the scene (because this isn’t a paranormal!), generally keeps the pieces together.

    How do people/writers do this all alone?

  5. That’s true Keri. It helps to keep practicing at writing. Even when you get rejected, you have to keep trying and never give up.

  6. I agree Melissa. 🙂

  7. Very true, Liz. There has to be a balance in everything. I agree with you there.

  8. That’s good that you have a supportive partner with you, Cyndi. It sounds like you did get something accomplished on this day with your writing. She helped you solve a problem with your plot. 🙂 I don’t know what I would do without my critique partners. I would be lost as a goose. Lol

Show us some love and leave a comment!

