My One and Only by Kristan Higgins – A Review

 

Available March 29, 2011

Disclaimer: Harlequin provided an Advance Reader Copy via NetGalley for a fair and objective review.

I “discovered” Kristan Higgins the year she won the 2008 RWA® RITA for best single title romance with Catch of the Day. Since then, I’ve read everything she’s ever written. While I’ve loved every book, some hit my hot button more than others. MY ONE AND ONLY was one of those books that made me want to return to page one and read it all over again as soon as I was done. Maybe it’s because I’m a sucker for second chance love, or maybe it’s because I teared up at the ending (something I almost NEVER do.) Whatever the reason, MY ONE AND ONLY resonated with me.

The heroines of Higgins’ early books were mostly naïve girls with an optimistic view of life and love. With Harper James, the heroine of MY ONE AND ONLY, Higgins has given us a slighter older heroine (34 years old)…jaded by her work as a divorce lawyer and by her own personal divorce. She’s been dating Dennis-the-fireman for a couple of years. They’re in love. They get along well (especially since Dennis does pretty much whatever Harper tells him to do.) Harper decides it’s time to get married because she’s not getting any younger. The story opens with her proposing to Dennis and supplying her own engagement ring (since she can afford exactly what she wants and poor Dennis can’t!) Dennis is a lovable character…not exactly the sharpest tool in the shed nor the most mature man, but he means well. But he is no match for the career-driven, cynical Harper.

When Harper’s sister announces she’s getting married, Harper is less than thrilled about rearranging her life to attend. First, it’s her sister’s third marriage. Second, it’s a destination wedding in Montana which will require Harper to leave her thriving divorce practice for a couple of days to fly cross-country to attend. Third (and worse), her sister is marrying Harper’s ex-husband’s brother.

Ex-husband, Nick Lowery took Harper’s heart when they divorced. Now, she is being forced to see him—and worse, interact with him again because of this wedding. But it’s only a weekend. She can handle that and then it’s back to work and her almost-fiancé, Dennis. Right?

Wrong. Due to a cruel fluke of fate, she is forced to travel home via a cross-country road trip with ex-husband Nick. Wouldn’t it have been great for her if Nick had grown fat, bald, obnoxious, and unemployed? But no. He’s funny, smart, sexually appealing, and down-right gorgeous. His architectural designs are fabulous. His buildings are objects of beauty. His career is on overdrive for success.

For Nick, it’s great his career is taking off and he’s getting recognition for his hard work. But without Harper—the girl who is his one and only—his life isn’t complete. He’s never forgotten her nor what they had. Can this cross-country road trip give him the chance to show her what she’s missing? Can they find their way back to the love they shared and build a happily-ever-after?

If you are a sucker for second chance love…a sucker for hunky man…a sucker for some sexy romance, this is the book for you.

MY ONE AND ONLY releases March 29, 2011. You can preorder your copy at one the following sites:

BordersAmazonIndieboundB & NPowell’s

12 Responses

  1. […] about MY ONE AND ONLY by Kristan […]

  2. Love her books! Must pick this one up!! 🙂

  3. So far, it might be one of my favorites!

  4. This sounds really good. I will have to pick this one up.

    Great review.

  5. CAN’T WAIT to get my copy and read it!…Been waiting a LONG TIME!…LOVE me some Kristan Higgins!

    ~Brandy~

  6. Brandy – It is wonderful. I think you will love it. After you read it, let me know what you thought!

    Yeah, Heather. Worth putting down the textbooks to read. 🙂

  7. I love Kristan Higgins’ books. They are so very yummy, and I must confess I strive to write like her. I want to be her. LOL. Who wouldn’t? In fact, just last night last night I accepted a friend request on Goodbooks, I popped by my page and saw a few new reviews. Someone who I didn’t know or beg to give me a review had given me one that said, “If you like Kristan Higgins, you’ll lke this author.” Seriously, I almost cried. It meant that much to me.

    I don’t profess to be nearly as good as Kristan Higgans, but it really made me dream about being that kind of author.

    So, yeah, I’ll have to check this one out 🙂

    Nice review!

  8. Thanks Cyndi! I know I will. I LOVE ALL of her books. I have my own little Kristan Higgins shelf on my bookshelf. I will DEFINITELY let you know what I thought. I already pre-ordered it the first part of the month 🙂

  9. I’d love to have Kristan’s talent! And yeah, I dream of being that kind of author also.

  10. Hi Cyndi!
    I used to love Kristan Higgins. She has a great voice and style. Her books are fun. But the last one I read I craved a different POV. I couldn’t even finish it. And that rarely happens to me. Maybe I’ll give this one a look.

  11. Well, the good news is that Kristan will be visiting us on April 8!! So come back then. I’ll be giving away a copy. 🙂

  12. […] am thrilled to be here, and thanks for calling the books awesome! Your review of MY ONE AND ONLY was so generous…You are well on your way to being my new best […]

Show us some love and leave a comment!

