• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Bulls Eye Research

I’m not sure how it happend so quickly, but it’s Monday again.  After a wonderful week filled with excitement due to my New Release, “Faithful Deceptions“, which you can get at both Amazon and Barnes & Noble, I was ready for a little rest and relaxation. 

But first….FIELD TRIP!!!

My wonderful Northwest Houston RWA chapter took a field trip Friday night to a local shooting range.  Have I mentioned what great ladies we have on our board?  They’ve put together an awesome line up for 2011 and this is just one of the outings they’ve scheduled.  A huge thank you to our Vice President, Stacey, for setting this up and assuring everything went smoothly. 🙂

Talk about terrific research.  I grew up around guns and learned how to shoot one at a very early age.  I’m a pretty good shot too, which keeps hubby in line. LOL But that said, I have very high respect for guns and those who use them as part of their jobs. Even with all my experiences being around them, loading them, handling them and shooting them, I still never get too comfortable around any gun.  Learning everything I can about gun safety is a very high priority in my book.  Our group had an hour of great instructions and safety rules (thank you Peter!) before we even thought about stepping into the firing range.

The best part was being able to shoot a variety of calibers and brands.  There were Berretas, H & K’s and several different revolvers of all sizes.  Our fearless president, Jenn, allowed her husband to bring his Smith & Wesson .460 Magnum Revolver, and yes, I shot that baby too! LOL  Talk about adrenaline rush!!  And intimidation!  Wow!  It’s the Biggest handgun I’ve ever seen.  And it packs quit a punch!  But I’d do it again in a heartbeat.

Needless to say I thoroughly enjoyed every minute.  A few ladies had never shot a gun before, but everyone did awesome!  I’m looking forward to participating again and it’s not even scheduled yet.  The next ladies only class offered at the gun range, I plan on taking to get my hand gun license!  Not because I intend to carry one every day.  But with all the crazy stuff lately, I’ll feel a lot safer on a long road trip by myself.  And then there is that feeling of pride inside me that pushes me too.  It’s my right as an American to do so.

Like I said, Awesome Research!!   The fun was an added bonus! 🙂  I highly recommend taking a class like this if you ever get the chance.  Especially if your stories deal with any kind of law enforcement or scenes where a gun is involved.  It will make your writing so much more powerful.   And if you’re not a writer or even a gun person, it’s a good idea to at least be familiar with how a gun works.  You just never know, especially today, when that expereince will come in handy.

Wishing everyone a Terrific Monday!  I think I’m going to pretend it’s a Friday and see how that goes. LOL

7 Responses

  1. Smith & Wesson .460 Magnum Revolver, looks huge! I didn’t know it existed. What does the holster look like?

    I look foward to reading more of your gun and other research. For the purpose of writing of course.

  2. Too funny Terri! It’s sitting on the holster. 🙂 I have an idea this one is used for fun and maybe hunting Huge wild hogs! LOL

  3. This looks like SOOO much fun.

    I have a friend who shot a HUGE wild hog. Let me know if you need any research info on that. 🙂

  4. I’ll keep that in mind, Cyndi! LOL My kids were watching Hogs Gone Wild on the Discovery channel. They’re growing in numbers and coming into some neighborhoods. Yikes! Those things are not only huge, but mean!

  5. Nice field trip! I’d love to do this. Unfortunately, the last trip I took like this (In Dallas 2007 RWA) I got so grossed out by the visit to the Waco PD that I couldn’t eat all day. Figured I wasn’t cut out to write suspense if I could stomach the thought of violent crime. LOL

    Looks like you got plenty of “real” info. 🙂

  6. Yeah, unfortunately that comes with the territory. My mom still wonders if something bad happened to me when I was younger that she doesn’t know about. LOL It’s strange how our taste’s differ as readers. I’ve tried to write a sweet romance, honest I have. But dang if something doesn’t end up exploding before I can stop it! LOL

    It was really great information. 🙂

  7. is that a big gun you’re holding or are you just…

    heh. what an awesome field trip! and I didn’t know your book was now available!!! Congrats on the release!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

