• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Scaredy Cat!

I’ve always liked scary stories.  Alfred Hitchcock and the Twilight Zone were my favorites growing up and I even sat through a few of the Friday the 13ths and survived.  I like scary not gory.  You know, the scary ones that really play with your mind and keep you on the edge of your seat.  The ones that tie your insides in knots as you try and figure out how in the world the story will end well.  The ones with a twist at the end you never see coming.  Ah, yes.  Suspense is my all time favorite genre.

So here’s my dilemma.  My two daughters are pestering me like crazy to see a certain movie at the theater.  Now this movie shouldn’t bother me.  After all, it’s supposed to be modeled after a children’s story I read over and over to my kids when they were little.  But I’ve been told by several people that I will never look at this story the same way again after seeing this movie.  What on earth does that mean exactly?

“Little Red Riding Hood” opens at the theaters here on March 11.  Just watching the previews gives me the willie’s and chills like you wouldn’t believe.  I keep telling my daughters there is no way I’m going.  But that part of me that loves suspense keeps tempting me to step out of my comfort zone and take a chance.

So I need some help.  Anyone brave enough and thinking about seeing the movie?  Should I make my sweet daughters happy and go?  Or should I stand my ground and wait till it comes out on DVD so I can watch it in the privacy of my own home.  That way I can stop it, pause it, or just up and leave the room if it gets to be too much.  Man, this is just another thing that really makes me feel so old.

What say you, my wise and all knowing friends?  Should I put on my big girl pants and quit being a scaredy cat? It might be really great writing research! 🙂

“FAITHFUL DECEPTIONS” 

*Now Available*

Amazon

Barnes &  Noble

Print

10 Responses

  1. From what I’ve heard/read about it, it’s no gorier than the TWILIGHT movies (which I have not seen.)

    I vote Go For It!

  2. Good morning, Will! 🙂 Now how did I know this is what you’d say. LOL I haven’t seen the Twilight movies either.

  3. Not me! I”m out! I don’t like horror or gore or even a little bit scary!

  4. I so want to see this movie. Keep in mind, it can’t be too bad because it is PG-13 rated.

    My daughter and I are going to see it as soon as we can.

  5. LOL Keri! 🙂

    And Heather, see I thought it was rated R. Now I feel a tad bit better. 🙂 Maybe I’ll wait till you and your daughter go. Then you can warn me. LOL

  6. it has the girl from Mamma Mia in it and one of the guys from Twlight.

    I hope to see it in the next couple of weeks.

  7. Love the picture of the cat.

    It probably depends on how old your girls are and not if they like scary movies, but how they react in the days (and weeks) following seeing one.

    Part of me wants to see it, but I don’t really like scary movies. They stay with me for a long, long time.

    Besides, watching a movie in the theater with my hands covers my eyes, just peaking through will probably look pretty silly.

  8. Lol, love the picture of the cat. 😀 From the previews, the movie doesn’t look gory. I would say go for it. 🙂 I am the exact same way when it comes to gory movies. I can’t stand them. It’s not that I get scared. It just grosses me out. But I am a HUGE fan of those scary movies that play with your mind, like most ghost, demon, suspense, thriller, or mystery movies. 🙂

  9. Um, no way. I don’t do scary movies though I do like suspenseful books. Something about the visual is just too much for me.

    So I hope you enjoy it. I bet it’s fine for your girls.

  10. I thought this was the funniest picture. It seemed to fit exactly how I’m feeling. 🙂 (Jump. Oh, No. I shouldn’t. Couldn’t. Come on, just do it. LOL)

    With two teenagers, they should be fine. I’m the one I’m worried about. So sad. But after this, I’m leaning more on the side of going. Who knows how I’ll feel tomorrow! Thanks everyone!!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

