• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Revisions

Do you enjoy doing revisions?  It’s actually my least favorite part.  I finished my new book in four months, and now I’m using this month to do editing and changing.   

The longer I have been writing, I have found how much it has improved….especially with this book comparing to my last.  There are fewer mistakes because I know what I am doing wrong, and I know not to make those same mistakes again.  But there are other mistakes I have to watch out for and correct . 

My revisions are coming along much faster than they did with the last book because I am doing them a different way.  Instead of reading through the book three or four times for plot, storyline, and grammer changes.  I am reading through each chapter twice or three times at a time to make each of those changes.  So far, I am revising 2-3 chapters a day for five days a week, which is very good for me.  Then, I will let my critique group take a look at it when it is time. 

Last year it took me five months to do revisions because it was my first time doing revisions on a book I wrote.  😦  And now I know more about what to avoid with my writing.  I have been changing and correcting quite a bit with this new story, however. 

It’s funny how before I joined my local RWA group in 2006, I wrote a couple of books loaded with imperfections and mistakes, and I believed nothing was wrong with them.  Lol  Then, I learned all about writing, and discovered how horrible it was then and how my writing is now.  It has done a 360 degree turn from how it was then.

I owe it all to the good Lord and my group with the amazing critique partners I have for their support and honesty.    

How do you do your revisions?  How long does it take you to do them?

10 Responses

  1. I actually don’t mind revisions. it’s the puzzle part of writing a book to me and where the characters and story get a lot of life breathed into it.

    Each story is sometimes different on revisions, so I don’t have any set pattern. for me, it’s just getting in there and getting done what needs to be done!

  2. I have a love/hate relationship with revisions.

    I love having the book done so I can do revision.

    I hate that I can get wrapped up in a single word versus using a different word.

  3. I did the same thing, Jamie! Boy have I learned alot since then. I used to hate revisons. Procrastinated big time. Now I think of it more as adding layers and special touches. LOL Okay, I still don’t like them that much. But as Keri said, it has to be done! 🙂

  4. Revisions? *glances at email from agent* *curls up in corner and weeps*

  5. Keri, that’s good that you don’t mind them. The reason I don’t like them is because I am so much of a perfectionist. I keep going back over and over again and changing things, even things that don’t need to be changed. That’s what I don’t like about it. But like you said, they have to be done.

  6. I agree with you so much on that, Cyndi. I LOVE the idea of having the book finished, but I get disappointed when I keep going back to change words over and over again.

  7. That’s another way to look at it, Melissa. I use them to add other layers to the story too. That’s the part I actually like about revisions. I can go back and add in things I want to. 🙂

  8. I know you can do it, Kari. Just take it one step at a time, and you’ll get there. I wish you good luck. 🙂

  9. I don’t mind revisions too much. The biggest problem for me is to let go of words that I really love, but don’t move the story at all. And my cp is fabulous, which helps tons.

  10. That’s a big problem for me too, Vicki-letting go of words I REALLY love. But I LOVE my critique partners. What would I do without them? 🙂

Show us some love and leave a comment!

