My Irresistible Earl, Gaelen Foley

I’m going to be a bit long-winded in this review. Follow along, you won’t regret it…

The Series: THE INFERNO CLUB

The Inferno Club. A scandalous gathering of wealthy libertines and highborn rakehells devoted to their wicked pleasures. So the Club’s members are known to London Society.

But little does the world suspect the true purpose of the Inferno Club or the danger that looms over England which these select, powerful lords are secretly sworn to fight.

Recruited as lads from noble families, trained in an array of deadly arts, and sent into various countries throughout Europe to hunt down and destroy their targets, they are the operatives of an agency so secret that few beyond the Crown and a few top officials even know it exists.

Their mission: to stop the insidious spread of an evil, centuries-old secret society with tentacles in every court in Europe and members among the uppermost reaches of power.

The dissipation of the Inferno Club is merely their cover whenever they return to England for further orders from their handler. With Napoleon’s defeat at the Battle of Waterloo, the agents of the Inferno Club believe their shadow war is over, too; but as it turns out, their not-quite-vanquished enemies still have a few evil tricks up their sleeves.

In the meanwhile, the agents try to get on with their lives as civilians, and this means finding wives and siring heirs to carry on their titles. Each book centers around one of the lords of the Inferno Club and the lady who teaches him to love.

 

The Book: MY IRRESISTIBLE EARL, Book 3

She has loved him for as long as she can remember…

Once, she had vowed to marry the Earl of Falconridge. Now, she vows to forget him. After he abandoned her for a life of shrouded secrets, Mara, Lady Pierson, has succeeded in keeping him away, until he appears in London unexpectedly, making her fall in love all over again.

Forced back into Mara’s life by duty, the earl quickly stays for love. He has never forgotten this passionate beauty and never meant to break her heart. But their newfound happiness is endangered—because the Inferno Club demands much of its members, and his vital mission is exposing a deadly plot that could threaten their very lives.

 

The Review

I don’t claim to know all the ins and outs of historical romance, as I’ve been reading the genre for less than a year, but I believe I know enough to say the Gaelen Foley  does not constrain her writing with boundaries. There were several things I read in this book that I didn’t think I’d ever read in a historical romance novel. I was caught off guard multiple times, and as a reader I loved that.

More so, and probably my favorite thing about this book is the men. Falconridge of this book is heartbreaking. The man gets under the skin and breaks your heart. He’s so well written. Beyond him are his brother warriors. As does J.R. Ward and Lara Adrian with their series, the camaraderie you will experience  in Foley’s writing will charm you into become a loyal fan.

With true camaraderie, steamy love making in royal places, breath holding suspense, and a side romance that leave you anticipating books to come this is a must read for all historical romance lovers. Gaelen Foley is a born story teller, and I believe that the best is yet to come from this series.

I leave you with this… Emily. I can’t wait!

4 1/2  HEARTS!

My Irresistible Earl is due out March 29, 2011. You can visit Foley at her website here, and pre-order Book 3 of The Inferno Club at the following: BordersB & N

*I received this eGalley free in exchange for an honest review.

3 Responses

  1. I agree with you about Galen Foley surprising the reader. I’ve read a number of her books and enjoyed them immensely. Great review. Will be looking for this on the shelves

  2. I don’t think I’ve read any of her books, but this is a great reveiw and I’ll be adding it to my buy list.

  3. Cyndi, There were quite a few things that had me stop and go, “Woah, didn’t know historical romance went there!” LOL. I loved that, but I also haven’t been reading historical for long… either way it was great for me.

    Vicki, The entire series is one I’m going to want to buy!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

