• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

I’m a SmartPhone Girl

I know what you’re probably thinking; she’s a little late to the party.

The thing is I like my other phone and when I got it that was the cool phone. Very tiny, flip up to answer and really you can could put it in the pocket of your jeans and hardly know it was there.

 The battery life was amazing. At least three days and the phone was 5  years old.

But…

I couldn’t check my email, twitter, facebook, listen to music and although I could text, it was like being on an old fashion typewriter. It took forever.

So…

This past Sunday I went to my carrier and checked out the smartphones. The very wise and extremely helpful associate told me about the difference between the three types of phones I was looking at. And in the end I choose the iPhone since he assured me it was the easiest one to learn on my first foray into the smartphone world. It was also the one that was on ‘sale’, which I thought made him even more great. He could have very easily talked me into one of the higher price phones. I was ready to buy and he knew it. Thank you wonderful associate!

It was funny when he kept asking me questions like: how much time do you spend listening to music on your phone, or how much time to do you spend emailing, and things like that. Each time I held up the tiny phone and said, ummm…don’t really know. It wasn’t an option.

Which wasn’t exactly true. I could do most of those things on my tiny phone (not the music), but it took forever and was a royal pain, so I didn’t.

And…

Now I have a few apps, (love Zombie Farm), got my Kindle for iPhone, of course Twitter and Facebook. I’ve added some songs to the phone (haven’t listened to them yet), and have my email accounts, including my work email on my phone at the touch or swipe of my fingers.

Yep…

In basically 2 days I’m hooked and don’t know why I waited this long, other than it’s that how change issue. I’m not so much fond of change.

How about you? Have you been at the party for a while now, or are you like me and just coming to the smartphone world?

What do you love best about your phone and what’s your favorite app?

Vicki

12 Responses

  1. I’m pathetic. My daughter thought it was stupid to get an Iphone because she said I’d never use it properly. I probably don’t, but I love it because I can take pictures with it, I can email with it, and I’ve finally found a ring that I recognize when I hear it. I may even break down and get Angry Birds — two of my daughters are addicted.

    It would be lovely if it were smaller, but then all the disadvantages you list would be there, too

  2. That’s why it took me so long to decide to get one, but now that I’ve got it I love it. It makes me feel like I can stay in the loop a little easier.

    Now we just need an app for our blog. Anyone here know how to write one? 🙂

  3. I refused to get an iphone 2 years ago when Hubs got his 1st one. i went with a smart phone but it was the Blackjack. I could still check email and text (had a lovely keyboard to text/email with) and everything but it wasn’t touch screen.

    I figured that my nails would get in the way and I wouldn’t like the touch screen – boy was I wrong. I played with his one weeknd and was hooked. I ended up trading in my phone and getting the 3GS Iphone and haven’t looked back since.

    Hubs has a 4G but might switch to Verizon since they have them now and he works there. I want to keep my AT&T I think.

    Fav apps, I have every book app available Nook, Kindle, Borders, and even our blog has an icon. Love the folder options and there is another reader app you need to download, Bluefire it reads adobe formats. You download the books through the iphoneapps page when it’s connected.

    Don’t forget Ibooks, you can use it to download epubs. I use it for all of my Carina press books that are non-DRM. you add them to the library through itunes, File, add File to Library and then sync your phone and it will add the books to it.

    Probably more info than you wanted but if you can’t tell, I love my Iphone.

  4. I have a Droid x. LOVE IT!

    I’m on Verizon and iphone wasn’t available when I got mine but I’m not happy with Apple’s closed app business model.

    I had a Blackberry Storm before my Droid. Hated it with a passion.

  5. Heather, thank you! I’ll be checking all of those out. I’m not really sure how to use the folders yet, but I’m going to figure it out. I’ve got the kindle app on my phone, but didn’t think about the Nook and others. 🙂

  6. Cyndi – What makes the Droid x different? Different apps or other things? And was it easy to learn?

    I’m very happy with my phone, but I’m sure the day will come when I want to upgrade it.

  7. Vicki – Droid x is very much like an iPhone. Operates about the same. Very easy to learn.

    I use the heck out of my kindle app on my phone!

    I think Apple has more apps, but seriously? I have everything I want

  8. LOL Good for you, Vicki! I’m still waiting to join the party. Enjoy yours!! 🙂

  9. *unlurking* I love my Droid X and if I wanted an iphone capability, i’d just use my itouch. Droid has far more free apps than apple,which I like. And I can have moving wallpapers on my droid. Someone who has an apple told me that they can’t do that. I get better reception with Verizon, but even with the new iphone there, I’m still not tempted.

    Now I want the new Motorola Xoom Tablet. :sigh: gadgets

    :lurk mode:

  10. Melissa – I so know what you mean, like I said above, it took me five years to decide.

  11. Evelyn – I looked at the htc, which I think is a Droid X (totally not sure), and although I really liked the fact that I could also put a SD card in it, the iphone just seemed like it would be much easier to start with.

    Now give me six months (that’s when I can actually change without fees), and I may want to change to the Driod. For now, I’m happy with everything it’s doing, but again I’m so new to this that all of it is like a party.

  12. Evelyn,

    we just got the Xoom tablet. Hubs works for verizon and we bought one last week. It is very nice and I do like the moving wallpapers they are cool.

    We both have Iphones but he likes the new Thunderbolt at Verizon. Said it’s gonna be the Big Daddy of them all once it comes out.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

