• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

An Amazing Conference!

I had the best time at our local RWA chapter’s Written in the Stars conference.  I asked my amazing mom to be my roommate at the hotel because it is the only chance we have to spend time quality time together.  In addition, it’s the only chance she gets to have away from my dad and sister.  She told me, “This is our special time together, and it is my ‘ME’ time.”  While I am involved with workshops, pitch appointments, and socializing, she is out in town shopping until the evening when we go out to eat at a nice restaurant.  🙂

Me and Mom

 I also met the most awesome agent!  I love it when I can connect with their personality level or feel comfortable with them.  I felt so comfortable with this one, and I almost went over my pitch session talking to her.  We even almost forgot about doing my pitch!  Lol 

She asked me who my favorite authors were.  I named two of them, and they were Jacquelyn Frank and Julie Leto.  She grew excited when I said Julie Leto, and she said how she was her agent.   She calls Julie on her phone right there in the session and lets me talk to her.  😀  I was thrilled!  Then, she tells me to send her my work….after  I pitched to her.  😀 

That was a pitch I will never forget!   Julie even asked me to visit her blog and comment, and I told her I would.   🙂

I saw one of my critique partners, Cora, after the session and told her about it.  She was so happy for me.  I asked her to critique my newly written synopsis, and she did.    I made the corrections and she says, “You are going to blow her socks off!”  Lol  

                                                                                                                                                                             Me and Cora

I love how all of my critique partners support me, and I love supporting them.  They are VERY honest with my mistakes in my writing, and they make me feel very confident.  I asked another young lady to critique with me, who is a good friend of mine, at this year’s conference.  Betsy was more than happy to critique with me.  So now, I have a total of 4 critique partners.  😀  I love each of them very much.

This year’s conference was the best one yet.  🙂

Tell me about your favorite conference.  🙂

6 Responses

  1. Wonderful Jamie. How awesome that you not only take the time about conference to learn more–but you make more of the weekend with your mom.

  2. Awesome, Jamie! Isn’t conference fun? So glad you made some good connections. That’s the best thing about it. Never know when you’ll make a new friend, cp, or obtain a new agent. Very cool!

  3. Sounds like you had a lot of fun at the conference and quality time with your mom. Wish I could have made it. Las year was awesome! And I would have loved to see you again. Best of Luck with your submission!

  4. I agree, Keri. And I learned SO much more at this conference. And Mom and I had a wonderful time!

  5. The conference is a lot of fun, Liz. I had a wonderful time with my critique partners, and even got another one while there. Connections are good!

  6. Last year was great too, Melissa. I really enjoyed meeting you in person. I would love to visit with you again at another conference. 🙂 Maybe someday I will make it to one of your conferences in Texas. 🙂

Show us some love and leave a comment!

