Feeling Lucky?

Yes, Spring is here and last week I missed a bit of the Irish fun because I missed blogging on that particular day… and I forgot to wear my green. Which meant, of course, I have a few little bruises up and down my arms. 🙂

But, I do believe that the Luck of the Irish has found me and stuck with me. Because if Clint Eastwood asked “Feeling lucky, punk?”  I’d have to say “yes.”

And that makes me wonder about luck.

Wilson Mizner said, “The only sure thing about luck is that it will change. “

And Langston Coleman said, “Luck is what you have left over after you give 100 percent.”

So which is it? Something random or the result of hard work? Do the  stars have to line up or is it a state of mind? Hmmm. I don’t know. But I feel as though fortune has finally found me after months of drudgery and things going wrong. And it feels good. So how is it good, you ask? Well, here’s my past week.

It started at NOLA’s conference. I went on a local newscast to promote the conference and talked a while with the features guy who told me that he’d like to do something on local writers. Then I moved on to conference where I did a pretty fair job with my workshop on emotion and won a great raffle basket. Then Monday hit and there was an email in my box from the features guy. He wanted me to meet him at another writer’s house to do a feature on romance writing with me. He did a great job and portrayed romance in a favorable light. I got lots of exposure. Seems everyone saw me 🙂

Next up, Friday and a “talk” with my editor about my new Louisiana series. In a nutshell, she loved it and told me she was ready to go to contract on the three books. They’ll be released back to back in the fall of 2012. And then today, I found out that my May book A Taste of Texas recieved 4 1/2 stars from RT magazine! Yeah, I’m feeling lucky….fortunate….thankful.

So was it just my turn? Did a change in seasons bring about a streak of good luck? Or maybe my quest to be centered and prayerful? I don’t really know. All I can say is that it’s been a good couple of weeks. And I hope it continues for a little while longer. Like so I can sell my house.

So what do you think? Do you make your own luck? Or do Irish eyes smile on you for no reason at all?

3 Responses

  1. that’s all so wonderful Liz! I think some of luck is up to us to create, but there’s only so many things we can do before we’re left to the mercy of Lady Luck to fall through us or smack us on our begging backend.

  2. Thanks, Keri. It has felt like a nice run of luck lately, and believe me, I’ve needed it.

    But, yes, I agree with you. I think there is a combination of both – hard work and stars aligning. Maybe if we do our part, then fate will do its.

    Thanks for the comment.

  3. That’s awesome news, Liz! Congratulations! That is especially great news about your editor giving you the ok to write more books. Congrats! 🙂

Show us some love and leave a comment!

