Can You Hear Me Now?

Sunday marked an important day in technology history.  Did you know that?  I sure didn’t.  I was surfing the web looking for interesting facts and I found a doozie!  38 years ago on the streets of New York, April 3, 1973, the first cell phone call was made by a 44 year old man named Martin Cooper.  He was a general manager for Motorola’s communications systems division with a vision.  And boy what a vision it was.  He’s still alive today, by the way.  He’s 82 and still works in the technology field.  Makes you wonder if his working on the next big invention we just can’t do without doesn’t it?  Well, what I read was kinda scary.  But I’m holding out till the end to add suspense. 🙂

I didn’t realize the cell phone had been around that long.  It did take a whopping ten years to bring it to market.  And it came with a whopping price tag too.  $3,500 for a 16-ounce “DynaTAC phone.  Even the name sounds like a dinasour. LOL   Seven years later and there were a million subscribers in the United States. Wow!

I remember clearly the day I got my very first one.  We moved from my small hometown to a suberb outside Houston in 1995.  It was only for emergencies back then.  Houston was huge and I had no friends or family near by, a 10 month old and one on the way.

Boy how times have changed.  Now I can’t imagine going anywhere without my phone.  Heck, I’ll even go back for it if I accidentally leave it behind.  How on earth did my parents get by without one?  I remember them being so excited over a CB radio and coming up with cool CB handles. (that was a nickname lol)  My cell phone is a link to my kids at all times.  A link I don’t think I could ever be without.  Now if you ask them, I’m sure at times they wish this link could be broken. LOL

I’m still lagging behind though.  They keep adding newer and greater models.  No smart phones for this chic.  I think it’s because I can’t handle a phone being smarter than me.   Now finally, what you’ve all been dying to find out.  Way back in 1973, Mr. Cooper also had another idea that makes me cringe just thinking about it.  He didn’t just want to make the personal telephone portable.  He wanted to “even have it embedded under your skin.” Ack!

Could this be what’s coming next?  I can’t even go there!

Do you remember where you were the day you held your very own cell phone?  What do you think about the “under skin” phone?  I guess it would be harder to lose that way. 🙂

18 Responses

  1. I’ve gone from the “wow!” phase to “Uh oh, where did I leave the darn thing?”

    I learned the hard way to be very careful about giving my cell phone number out along the way, too!

  2. My cell phone is glued to my hip (outside a shower), it lives with me. Heck, it even wakes me up. You’re right Melissa, it’s the gateway connection (tech talk) to my kids. Makes me wonder, if I didn’t have children, would I hold on to my cell as I do now.?.

    “…a 10 month old and one on the way”. You didn’t have cable either, did you.

  3. My very first phone was a bag phone. it stayed in the car. Then I had a bulky flip phone and then the cool nokia that was the 1st phone to have inter-changeable face plates. I worked for DHS and we could get the phones free (or discount for more expensive ones) because I worked for the State.

    Now I have an Iphone and go no where without it. I never thought I would like the touch screen but now I don’t want anything else. My dtr literally sleeps w/her phone. half the time it’s stuffed down her bra for safe keeping.

    Even my 2 yr old granddaughter knows how to work my Iphone and has her own folder with books and games. she knows how to go between her apps.

  4. My first candy bar phone was purple! I thought it was so cool. Before that, my only experience with a cell phone was the giant brick kind with the antennae sticking out the top. My Dad was part of the asset dispersal program after the Valdez spill in Alaska and he had one of those monsters. It cost $1 a minute back then!
    Now, I wish I wasn’t always so connected. In fact, I think I have connectivitus! Sometimes, the world just shouldn’t be able to contact you.

  5. Will, I know what you mean. It’s like once someone has that number they have a piece of you! LOL

  6. Too funny, Terri! And no comment on your last statement!! 🙂 I’m not sure my cell would be as important if I didn’t need it to stay connected to my kids. I probably use it to call my hubby maybe once a week! LOL

  7. Oh, Heather! I know someone who does that too. Makes me laugh everytime she pulls it out. LOL I’m almost scared to think what my kids will be doing in the near future as far as communication goes. They teach them all kinds of techno stuff now in school. Unbelievable!

  8. Hey, Stacey!! 🙂 I love purple! I’m so jealous. My first one was plain old gray and boring. LOL But I do agree that sometimes it’s just not cool to be reached. Mommy really can’t hide anymore! 🙂

  9. What a fun post! And I learned something new!

    My first phone was huge and I got it in 1994, right after my hubs and I married. We moved to New Orleans and felt like it the best money we spent. Of course, we couldn’t afford to use it unless it was an extreme emergency. LOL.

    And, yes, my iphone is the best gift my husband ever got me….except for the LSU National Championship tickets, of course. Okay, and my ring. But it’s a very close third.

  10. I remember when my parents got their first cell phone..bag phone. Moving it from car to car was such as hassle!

    My first cell phone was in 1987..It was one of those “brick phones” in the picture above. The only good thing about it was it was a great defensive weapon! You could beat an attacker to death. LOL

    I have a Droid X (smart phone) Love it.

  11. I remember my mother had a phone that needed a shoulder strap and it was the late 80s. My sister had a car phone perched next to her cassette deck, but it didn’t work. We used to pick it up and hold it to our ear when a car full of guys pulled up next to us. Boy…it was hard being that cool.

    My first phone was around 1995 and it was super thick, with a retractable antennae. Sexy!

    I’m all for implants actually. Tap it right to my brain to where all I have to do is think of the person and it’s dialing their number. Of course, there would have to be one heck of a password complete with dance routine I’d have to do to unlock my phone and keep me from sleep dialing whoever I was having a hot dream about.

    >.<

    That would be bad.

    LOL

    Great topic.
    All my best,
    Allure Van Sanz

  12. Liz! Your hubby is one of a kind. 🙂 Love his thoughtfulness!! Three perfect gifts! I’m so jealous!!LOL

  13. ROFL!! Defense weapon!! Oh, Cyndi…what a visual I have. 🙂 Maybe one day I’ll check out these smart phones. I think it’s so cool what you can do on them. It’s learning how to use it all that overwhelms me. I really need to find my big girl pants and get over it. LOL

  14. Allure, thanks for joining us! 🙂 Too funny! I have had so many people call me by mistake because they’ve got their cell in a back pocket. Heard some pretty interesting conversations this way as well…. hmm…Sleep calling while dreaming. LOL Now that could be pretty bad.

  15. Hubby still has the old bag phone upstairs in his office. And he still has the same phone number on his Droid. I can remember when we had phones hardwired into the car- those were for emergency personnel like cops or very important people! GACK! I’m old!

  16. Hi, Evelyn! Same phone number? Wow! Now that’s amazing. LOL Sure would have made things a lot easier if I could have kept my old one. I still forget sometimes. Who knows who my poor friends are calling by mistake. 🙂

  17. Luv the way you wrote this, Missy !

  18. Hey there, Chuck! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by. Glad you enjoyed it!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

