• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Softly & Tenderly by Sara Evans

Have you ever picked up a book, read it, and then realized that it is the second book in a series?

Well, that is what I did with this one.  Who knew country music superstar Sara Evans would write a book, let alone, four of them.   Now I wonder why she waited so long.

Let’s get to the book.

Softly & Tenderly is basically a Southern Soap Opera, but a more realistic one.  The story is about Jade and her husband Max.  They are newlyweds struggling to conceive.  She suffers heartache with each and every miscarriage, and worries that she is not child-worthy.  Her ailing mother has moved in for Jade to take care of her.  If that isn’t enough to make life hard on Jade, she learns that her husband slept with his ex the night before their wedding and that they had a child together.  AND he wants her to help raise him.

She is reeling.  She doesn’t know which way to turn.  So she runs away to her mom’s farmhouse in the country, but she doesn’t go alone.  Her mother, and mother-in-law who has deep, dark secrets of her own, both join her.

Now, I might just be slow, but I had no idea that this was a Christian Fiction book.  No idea.  Nope, not even the title gave me the clue I needed.  But it is one of the best CF books I have ever read.  The story line kept you guessing, and just when I thought I had it figured out a curve ball came from out of nowhere and sent the story in a different direction.

Although it is the second book in the Songbird Series it was very easy to follow.  I have started reading the first book, and am loving it.

When I finished Softly & Tenderly, at 1 o’clock in the morning because I couldn’t put it down, all I could say was “Wow.”  I wiped the tears from my face, and said, “Wow.”

6 Responses

  1. Great review, Julie. I could feel your love for this book.

    You should come down to Hot Springs when Sara Evans sings here this summer!

    • Cyndi, I wish I could. I just checked our calendar and we will be on another business trip. I’m not complaining, but I would love to see her in concert.

      Glad you liked the review. I do love this book. I wish I had lots of copies to just hand out to people. It is a must read!

  2. What a wonderful review!

  3. The mother-in-law follow her…? After what her husband did? Wow, that does sound interesting. Adultery, betrayal, and if the mother-in-law is in the mix forgiveness… Yeah that sounds biblical. Good review. I’ll add it to my list and tell my daughter about it. She loves this kind of book.

    • Oh goodness, Orlando. I left out a lot of the story. The mother-in-law has a story all of her own, but I couldn’t give it all away now, could I? 🙂

      Start with the first book, the Sweet By & By. I failed to do that. I will review that one next. 🙂

Show us some love and leave a comment!

