• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

A Rancher’s Pride by Barbara White Daille A Review

 I was given this book by the author for a fair review

A friend asked if I would read and review her book…always a dangerous proposition, sort of like skating on thin ice. Both situations have the possibility to go really bad. But in my situation, I had nothing to fear. The book in question, A RANCHER’S PRIDE, is well written, heart-warming, and memorable.

Sam Robertson’s life just changed. In one short day, he found out that he’s a daddy; that his beautiful little girl, Becky, is deaf; and that her aunt, sign language teacher Kayla Ward, intends to fight him for custody.

There are plenty of reasons Sam shouldn’t fall for Kayla. A city girl like her has no place on his ranch, particularly when she’s his ex-wife’s gorgeous sister. But thanks to the judge’s orders, Sam’s spending a lot of time with Kayla, trying to give Becky the stable home she’s never known.

Despite their ongoing custody battle, Sam and Kayla’s love for Becky brings them closer than they ever expected, and Sam knows that no matter who wins in court, he could still lose­-Kayla or his daughter.

Life has made Sam hard. The death of his father when Sam was only sixteen sent him down the road of teenage trouble-making, including burning down a neighbor’s barn, killing the animals inside. A rodeo-life and an ill-fated marriage winds him even tighter. His new wife spends money like it grows on trees. When she walks out on Sam, she leaves him heavily in debt. She also deprives Sam of the knowledge he’s going to be father. So when a four-year child is dropped into Sam’s world with the explanation that this is his daughter, he’s at a loss with what to do with a little girl, especially one he can’t talk to.

Watching Sam grow to love his daughter, as well as finding ways to communicate Becky is a wonderful, feel-good journey.

I know that I don’t read long book reviews and rather than lose site visitors because I rambled too long with this, let me say…

I LOVED THIS BOOK. I can recommend it without reservation. I give this book a rating of:

Good job, Barbara!

Barbara is giving away a copy of A RANCHER’S PRIDE. One lucky commenter here at the review or tomorrow HERE for an interview with the author, Barbara White Daille. (Tomorrow’s interview is on my personal blog. Join us there!)

GO. BUY A RANCHER’S PRIDE! Today!

B & N | Indiebound | Borders | Amazon | Powell’s |Harlequin

6 Responses

  1. Cyndi, I couldn’t agree more with your review of this book. I’ve had an opportunity to read A Rancher’s Pride, and you gave it a fair and accurate review. For romance readers who love a heart-tugging read and who want to know how couples can end up together, Barbara White Daille accomplishes this task in a most satisfactorily manner.

  2. I know Donnell! And I loved the deaf child aspect and how well Barbara handled the situation.

  3. Great review. I certainly want to read it. We shopped at WalMart today. I looked for it but it wasn’t on the shelves, otherwise I’d buy it.

  4. Having read one of Barbara’s books, I know how she writes emotion into her characters, so it doesn’t surprise me that this book gets 5 hearts. I’m on my way to download it to my Kindle now..

    And thanks for the review, Cyndi.

  5. Great Review Cyndi. The book sounds really good.

  6. […] talk about A Rancher’s Pride. I hope you got a chance to read my review yesterday of A RANCHER’S PRIDE.  One of the scary things about reading books written by […]

Show us some love and leave a comment!

