• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Life Celebrations

Another Mother’s Day has come and gone.  Hope everyone had a wonderful day celebrating!

Breakfast in bed, brisket smoking on the pit outside for supper, kids at my beck and call all day and me free to relax and do whatever I want.  Wow. Now that’s what I call my kind of day!  Too bad it only comes around once a year.  My alarm woke me up at 5:00 this morning and woosh…there went the fairy tale.  It’s back to the same old routine.  LOL

“So, what do you want for Mother’s Day, mom.”  This question gets harder and harder for me.  With each year that passes, I find my wishes change.  Starting out it used to be flowers or gift cards to my favorite stores, or maybe a great dinner at out with the family.  But now, I’m content to just sit back in the comfort of my own home with my hubby and kids, sharing funny stories from when they were younger and enjoying  their company.  It’s funny how life changes.  I’d always heard about the different stages, but never really understood exactly what it meant until now.

Even if you don’t have kids, the relationship you share with your parents and brothers and sisters changes over time.  Hopefully for the better.   I know I get along much better now with my younger brother than I did growing up.  Sibling rivalry should be outlawed!  My poor parents! LOL

With kids added to the mix, there is an entirely new set of rules.   As babies, your kids require so much love and attention it’s almost overwhelming.  And then, just when you think you’ve got it all figured out they move into the toddler years.  Ah, the toddlers…probably the most action packed, energy draining years by far. LOL  Next, the school years hit and you suddenly realize your little ones are growing up way too fast.  By the time they’re teenagers you’re scrambling around trying to figure out how to get off this crazy ride that is picking up speed and getting pretty darn bumpy along the way.

This last one is where I find myself today.  So far, no boyfriends or girlfriends have entered the picture so we are still getting along pretty well.  Actually, I love being around my kids.  They are young adults now and it’s so cool to watch these three grow up.  They all have the funniest personalities.  So different in so many ways, yet so perfectly matched.

I’m told there are several more stages to go through before this is all said and done.  And at this point, I’ll consider them new adventures and look forward to the future.  Since there is no way to stop this craziness we call getting old, I’m going to sit back and do my best to enjoy every precious minute.  🙂

Now if only I could figure out how to convince dear hubby that our Golden Retriever really does need a new playmate, this Mother’s Day would be complete.  We were at a friend’s house yesterday and his neighbor brought over the cutest puppy.  Black as midnight, soft curly hair and the sweetest face ever.  And the best part?  It doesn’t shed!  If you’ve ever had a Golden Retriever you know about the hair issues.  I swear you could stuff a pillow weekly with all the hair that falls off these dogs.  Great bred, especially with kids.  Loveable, loyal and the best companions you could ever wish for.  But way too much hair no matter how often you brush them.

I went around all day yesterday saying, “I just have to have a Havanese”!! LOL  Hasn’t worked yet, but I’m still trying.  Suggestions Welcome!! 🙂

How did you celebrate Mother’s Day? Any great gifts you’d like to share?

7 Responses

  1. Take Brandy with you to pick out the new puppy. Let them find each other, and that’s the new one you take home!

    Trust me, it works out lots better that way….:)

  2. Oh, great idea, Will! Then I can say it was all Brandy’s fault! Ha!! 🙂

  3. Glad you had a nice mother’s day. We just hung out around the house all day and didn’t really do much of anything.

    Had dinner out last weekend (just Hubs and I) to avoid the crowds then he cooked steak on the grill Sat night for dinner. overall very nice weekend.

    Got new pans for the kitchen and and Itunes g/c from dtr & grnddtr.

  4. My “four-legged kids” woke me at 5:55 am with cold noses and warm bellies that wanted to be rubbed.

    Hubby and I took mom and dad out to Olive Garden for lunch. I gave mom 2 cards, but lunch ($75!) was my gift. I think she really enjoyed it.

    Let me say, there were scads of mothers being treated at Olive Garden on Sunday!

  5. Sounds like my kind of day, Heather! We always avoid the crowds if we can. LOL And Pans for the kitchen and Itunes…great gifts if you ask me. 🙂

  6. Cyndi, awe….that sounds so sweet. Well except for the 5:55 a.m. part. LOL I did get to sleep late, which was heavenly. Olive garden is my all time favorite. Their noche soup will be the end of me yet! 🙂

    Glad everyone enjoyed Mother’s Day! I really do think it should come around more than once a year!!

  7. we visited with my mom for a bit, then visited with the MIL. then we came back to the house.

    the kid stayed the night before at grandma’s house so I *did* get to sleep in and that never happens!

    am so ready for the age when he wants to cook me breakfast!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

