• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Good-bye is Never Easy

Ever have one of those days or weeks you just wish you could do over?

<Insert heavy sigh>

There are so many ways animals touch our lives.  From wonderful companions who are always happy to see us, to sources of great laughter and joy. They have sweet little personalities and sneak into your heart and become part of your family before you know what’s happened.  That’s what makes it so difficult when you have to say good-bye to one of these precious friends.

It’s been a sad week for our family.  We said our good-byes on Friday morning to Meow Meow, our twelve-year black and white cat.   She was the best cat ever.  Believe me.  We’ve had our share of crazy mean cats.  But Meow Meow had the sweetest temperament.  She never scratched the furniture or people even though she had claws, stayed off the counters for the most part and never missed an opportunity to spread her love and affection around.  Even to our Golden Retriever.  I think our dog is missing her too.  She’s been moping around looking in all the rooms.

I didn’t expect this to be so hard.  We’ve had other great animals over the years, but this one… <big gulp here>  She was my writing buddy.  Always there with me when I sat down to write.  Sometimes smack dab in the middle of my keyboard. LOL 

Boy, I’m gonna miss her a lot.

How do you deal with the loss of a pet? Is it best to wait a while before getting a new one? Or will bringing in another feisty fur ball to the family help ease the pain a little? I’m really at a loss here.  😦

18 Responses

  1. My heart is with you over your loss. The little things really do move in, take over, and become such a critical part of the family.

    Here’s one thing I’ve learned: When the time is right, the New Member will find you.

    From the ‘Don’t leave me here!’ look (Burke and Jezebel), to the middle of a nasty rainstorm (Max), walking out of a supermarket (BK, who perched on my monitor for years), or someone says, “We found a kitten way out back, want her? She’s so tiny, her eyes aren’t open yet and you’ll have to bottle feed her.” (Miss Galore), to “I’m never home anymore, it’s not fair to the dog.” (Boo and Emma)

    Someone once said, “If love died along with death, this life wouldn’t be so hard.” Truer words were never spoken when it comes to the dogs and cats who become so important in our lives.

    One thing I do take comfort in: my vet’s daughter will be able to attend Harvard….. on Venus….

    • Thanks, Will! I’ll keep my eyes open for that new memeber. Hope they arrive quick! LOL Love the little insights for your pets! Have you thought about writing comedy? 😉

  2. It`s really sad hearing about the loss of your dear cat but i think bringing another one may help ease your pain a little.

  3. Nothing makes it easier but time. Your Meow Meow looks almost identical to my Shubby, (he’s been gone for eleven years. )
    Each time I go through the loss I swear I won’t have another pet… and then a week or two may go by and I find myself visiting the shelters because the remaining pet is lonely (that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!) and fall for a face or an attitude. The last new one reached out of the cage and snagged me with his nails.

    My current writing partner sits on the back of the chair and hangs over my shoulder while I write. Heaven help me when its time for him to move on.

    So yes, you will survive. You will have another writing buddy and your dog will enjoy the new company too.

    • Katt, part of me feels that way right now. Never again. This just isn’t fair! But I know I’m fooling myself. I feel a trip to the shelter coming on. LOL

  4. (((hugs hon)))

    you’ll get there. I like William’s response. one will come to you.

  5. ((hugs))

    Losing a pet is never easy because they truly are members of your family, just like your kids.

    I am not looking forward to the day we lose our lab. we’ve had him since the year we got married, so he will be 15 this Nov and he is my hubby’s baby. My husband will be lost without that dog.

    I too like William’s response.

  6. Heather, Wow! 15 is a long time for a lab. I can see why that’s going to be a hard one. They really are like kids in so many ways. And the best part…they don’t talk back or give you dirty looks when they think you aren’t looking. LOL

    And Will…he is so wise and always knows just what to say. 🙂

  7. Ouchy-pants. Meow Meow is/was adorable. I feel your pain. We have a 14 year-old cat named Sophia, and were going to wait until getting new kitties, but then through some sort of miracle/accident, we ended up with two new kitties who are brother and sister. We were worried at first, because Sophia owns the house, and we weren’t sure how she’d handle new kitties. It worked out eventually. Now she loves them. So my point was, we were going to wait, but now I can’t imagine my life without all three of my precious babies. *hugs*

    • Thanks, Christel! It’s been better today. I’ve been writing outside instead of my office. Won’t be able to do that once summer hits though. That settles it. New kitty by summer! 😉

  8. Oh Melissa. I am so sorry. Another close friend had to put her 21 y/o cat down on Friday also. It is never easy. But William is right…a new family member will enter your life. You never know when or how. I know the new family member will not replace Meow Meow…nothing ever will.

    But always remember what a wonderful life you gave Meow Meow.

    • Cyndi, I love your advice. I’m going to remember the good times when I start feeling sad. 🙂 I can’t imagine having a pet for 21 years and then having to let go. Wow, my heart goes out to your friend.

  9. Awwww…so sorry. I know you’ll miss your sweet friend.

    So far we’ve lost only one cat – Rudy, who got smushed in the garage door. Very traumatic. And Elvis, our hamster who our lab Georgia caught….she didn’t know the strength of her colossal teeth. And then we lost Rosie, our anti-social schnauzer of old age. All these pets are buried in the backyard of the house we’re selling. Shhh! Don’t tell anyone. We’re trying to sell that blasted house.

    So, I know how hard it is on the kiddos. Hope it gets better soon.

    • Oh my GOSH!! Amy, I didn’t mean to, really I didn’t but this made me laugh so hard. LOL Not the traumatic losses, so sorry about those. But the fact they are buried in your backyard for the new owners is priceless!!

      I won’t tell! Promise!! 🙂

  10. I’m so sorry, Melissa!

    I was going to say whether you get a new one now or wait is a very individual decision and different for everyone, but William had the best advice. 🙂 It sounds like you’re ready, though. It’s not a replacement, it’s just an addition.

    I always go into a pet relationship knowing it has an end date, but of course that doesn’t make saying goodbye at all easier. *hugs*

    • Thanks, Natalie! I’ve always considered myself the strong one in the family. But this time, the kids and hubby are ready to move on. I’m the one with the huge lump in my throat. But a new addition sounds like just the right fix. I almost get excited thinking about it. 🙂

      You’ve all been great! Thanks for the hugs and kind words!!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

