Shameless Promotion – Am I Doing This Right?

Good morning!  Hope everyone had a very special day celebrating Father’s Day! 🙂

This marketing and promotion stuff is still so foreign to me.  I’m coming to the conclusion there is just no possible way to learn every avenue available.  I guess that’s really a good sign though.  I mean, if something doesn’t work, there will always be something new or different to try.  It all boils down to this one fact.  If we want our book to sell and sell well, we must get the book noticed.  But this is where it gets real tricky.  We have to be so careful how and where we try to post that promotional information.  I’ve seen some really brutal comments going back and forth over Shameless Promotion.  There really should be some kind of rule book out there to keep everyone happy.  I’ll let you know if I ever come across one.  All I can say at this point is tread lightly.

I do hope you won’t mind if I share my excitement with you.   So much is going on my head’s spinning. LOL  But “It’s all good” as my dear mom says.

My first book “Faithful Deceptions” is being highlighted this week on Marketing Tips for Authors .  Those who leave a comment will be entered into a drawing to win a free Kindle copy of the book.  This is a great blog to follow.  I’ve found an endless amount of helpful information here.

Faithful Deceptions is also The Book of the Day over at E-Readers News Today . All liking, tweeting and sharing will be greatly appreciated.

And if you’d like to read something a bit shorter, my short story prequel “Shattered Souls of Innocence” is now available on Amazon.com and Barnes & Noble for $.99 cents.

Love for you to stop by, say hello and share if you’d like.  I’ve got a $10.00 I-tunes gift card I’m just dying to give away.  Writing to music is a must for me.  Just post a comment here on this blog letting me know how you spread the love as well as a way I can contact you if you win.  🙂

Thanks a ton in advance and Have a Marvelous Monday!

5 Responses

  1. You are very correct that it’s hard to promote a book. No one knows what really works or how to generate the right buzz over a book. I find the best way for me to promote is merely to hang out on FB, blogs, and occasionally twitter. I don’t usually mention my books unless it’s hitting the shelves or winning something…then I might mention. I try to be more visible as a person, hoping it makes me visible as an author. I also think it’s good to try for workshops at various conferences to come to the attention of the industry. I guess I’m more of a sell the author rather than the book kind of gal.

    But I don’t really know what works. I’ll have to stop by and check out where you are featured. Good luck with the novella 🙂

    Liz

  2. Hey Melissa,

    stopped by E readers news today and read the post and liked it.

    As far as promoting your book, I know i pick up a lot of books based on posts on facebook, twitter and the blogs I follow, especially if they are reasonably priced.

  3. This is all such new territory, there are no rules yet. One thing I do know, Melissa, is you really are ‘going where no one has gone before!’…:)

  4. Congrats on your release!

    and promo–ick. I do it, but sometimes it makes me uncomfortable. the first few times on a new book it’s exciting. after that I feel like a broken record

  5. Congrats on your release!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

