DOUBLE IDENTITY by Diane Burke A Review

I purchased this book to read for review and to give away.

I belong to a number of different RWA chapters. One of my absolute favorites is Space Coast Authors of Romance, which is in Florida. I don’t live in Florida. I live in Arkansas. You may wonder why I believe to a chapter in another state. Every year we like to spend time in Florida. The first time we spent a couple of months there, I decided to visit the local chapter (STAR.) I slipped in after the meeting started and grabbed a seat on the back row…next to Diane Burke. At this time, Diane was an unpublished author but everyone there knew it was just a matter of time. She was so kind and friendly to this newbie. In fact, the entire chapter was so inviting and friendly, I joined. I look forward to visiting my chapter mates when I go down.

Fast forward to February 2011. STAR is having a book signing in Melbourne. Diane is there signing DOUBLE IDENTITY, her SECOND book for Harlqeuin’s Love Inspired line. I picked up Double Identity to read the back.

This is what it said…

Sophie Clarkston is shocked to learn that she isn’t who she thinks. Her birth certificate is forged. Her name–made up. And her widowed “father” is suddenly missing, leaving behind a heartbreaking letter asking forgiveness. Desperate for answers, Sophie turns to private investigator Cain Garrison in tiny Promise, Virginia. But the moment they leave his office, her life is threatened and her home ransacked. Who is after her? And who, exactly, is she? With questions about his own past, Cain vows to help Sophie uncover the truth. Before someone comes out of the shadows to keep it hidden forever. 

Knowing that book is from Harlequin’s inspirational line, I wondered about the level of “preaching” I would find. Here’s what I found…A wonderful romance suspense staring a hero and heroine who are both deeply religious  but not pious about it. They trust their faith to carry them through in times of intense stress.

I found Diane’s writing to be tight and suspenseful. Her characters were well developed and well-rounded.

Apparently, I’m not the only ones who recognize Diane Burke’s excellence in writing. She was also a finalist in Virginia Romance Writers’ 2011 Holt Medallion contest with her first book, Midnight Caller.  Additionally Midnight Caller won first place in the Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Mystery and Suspense under the working title Whispers in the Dark.

I want to share Diane with our followers. I have autographed copies of Midnight Caller and Double Identity to give away to two luckpeople who leave comments.

Tell me…Have you ever read books in Harlequin’s Love Inspired line? If so, tell me what you read.

I’ll be picking two winners and posting them on July 5, so you have a few days to comment.

Good job, Diane!

16 Responses

  1. Oh, Cyndi, I’m sooo glad to see this review of Double Identity. Diane Burke is a fabulous writer, and I’m one of her biggest fans. I hear she has a couple more books in the pipeline, and I can’t wait to read them!

  2. Nice review, Cyndi! I haven’t read anything from that line, but I’d love to:)

  3. Maria, Cyndi’s on travel today–headed for New York City where she’s getting a jump on RWA #11, so I’m filling in. Or trying to. No one can ever take Cyndi’s place.

    That said, I think you’d absolutely love Diane’s books. What Cyndi said above is exactly right. Diane’s books are beautifully crafted stories with characters who absolutely ring true.

  4. Hooray, Diane, for another wonderful book and, Cyndi, for telling us about it. I’m a member of STAR too and we always look forward to having you in Florida! I hadn’t read the blurb for this book and now I want to win the prize! No worry, if I don’t. I’ll go to the store and buy it ’cause I don’t want to miss out on reading it! Congratuations, Diane!

  5. Judy, if Double Identity isn’t on your fav bookseller’s shelf, you can order it through eharlequin. I’m just sayin’. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

  6. That’s a good review on a wonderful book and a great author!

    Dee Gatrell

  7. Dee, I totally agree. So glad you stopped by ENLR today!

  8. We have some pretty severe lightning in the area so I’m going to log off for a while. I’ll check back in after the storm passes.

  9. Double Identity is a great read–and Diane is a wonderful writer. If you haven’t read her books yet, you are missing out!

  10. Connie, I couldn’t have said it better.

  11. Great reviews. So proud of you, Diane. Thanks Cyndi for jumping into the LI line of great books!

    Rachel

  12. Sounds good!

  13. Hi Cyndi,

    What a surprise to return from vacation and see this wonderful review. I am so happy that you liked the book. You’re right—many people avoide the LIS line for fear of being preached at. But they are really not like that. They are simply characters whose faith impacts their personalities and decisions. Sort of like if a hero in another line is a cop or FBI agent, the reader will expect him to act manly and alpha. Not necessarily because the cop made him that way but more because that kind of man BECOMES a cop. LIS is the same way. Hope more readers take a chance and read a few. They may be very pleasantly surprised.

    And thanks for the comment on being nice to you before I got published but, truthfully, that had much more to do with you than me. You are so much fun to be around.

    Take care and hope I run into you in NYC.

  14. Rachel, So good to see you at ENLR!
    Posey, you, too!
    It’s wonderful to see the great turnout for our friend, Diane.

  15. Diane, Cyndi’s in NY getting ready for another fantastic PRO Retreat and making sure everythig goes according to plan during this years fabulous RWA National Conference. It’s a lot of hard work, but she does it beautifully, doesn’t she?

    Glad you made it home from vacation in time to pack for Nationals next week. Have a terrific time and say hey to everyone there for me.

  16. […] Everybody Needs A Little Romance Share Posted in Prizes Tags: Romance « Bid for the 2nd in the Rosato & Associates series: Legal Tender by Lisa Scottoline You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site. […]

Show us some love and leave a comment!

