• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Now I remember why I don’t bother…

I keep my nails short. Extremely short. And I don’t wear nail polish. Ever. It stems from always having to keep my nails cut down and unpolished for volleyball. Those were the rules. Show up to practice with polish on…run laps until you cry. Just the way it worked. Volleyball was my “job” back then, and whatever the job took, I’d do it. So I never got into the habit of wearing polish on my nails.

But the other day, I was bored and decided to just paint my nails while I watched TV. Nothing else to do, lazy night watching the tube. I painted them and they were all pretty pretty.

Next afternoon, I looked and they were completely screwed up. They’d dried just fine the night before, so why were they all jacked up?

My new job. Writing. Despite having my nails short, they still bang against the keyboard and it made an unholy mess of my manicure. Luckily, I have no real desire to make painting my nails a regular thing, nor do I plan on getting tips put on anytime soon. Lord, I can only imagine what it would look like for me to have fake nails on and try to type. That’d be amusing.

So, I guess I’ll just go back to my un-girly self. No polish. But it’s for a good cause. 🙂

8 Responses

  1. I’m a big polish fan and I have acrylic nails on because I’m a chronic nail biter. I keep them fairly short so that I can type (and do other things properly). I’ve learnt to type with the pads of my fingers rather than the tops of them like I used to when I had natural nails bitten down to the quick. It’s a more comfortable way to type for me. My fingers used to get sore when I was banging the tops down. Chipping is surprisingly slow to occur but I think the polish I use is the same one they use for coating space shuttles 😀

  2. Plus there’s that part where I let them get more than a millimeter long and then I rip them off while I’m roping. Really messes up the tough cowgirl image when you have to stop and cry in the middle of the arena.

  3. I’m an acrylic nails gal. Love them. Don’t chip. Rarely break. Don’t have to fuss with them between my nail appointments, which is usually 3 weeks.

    I bite my nail. Chew my cuticles. Pick at the nails, etc.

    As much as I love the idea of Shellac Nails, my nails are so thin and brittle (even before the acrylic) that I don’t have the patience.

    I do look at other people’s nails. I tend to notice either the extremely bad ones and the extremely pretty ones!

  4. My nails get long on their own but tend to break in the center so I put an overlay over them. I keep them short because I am on the computer all day at work and then on my laptop at home. I do keep them nice and polished though. I have the nail tech put polish on the tip and I only use OPI nail polish and then tend to stay nice looking longer.

  5. I’m with you, Jeanette! My nails are very slick and so thin they curl. I got a real manicure for a wedding once, and the polish was peeling off before I left the salon.

    I painted my fingernails last week for the RWA conference. Painted them Sunday afternoon. By Sunday night, they were worn off at the edges, so I touched them up. They did okay Monday, but I woke up Tuesday morning with huge chips that hadn’t been there when I went to bed! LOL Tried to touch them up, got very, very messy, and removed it all.

    I had pretty toes, though. 🙂

  6. I’m a short nails kinda girl too. 🙂 Only use clear polish to make them shiny if I have a special occasion to go to. Now my toes are a different story. Always painted. The brighter the better. And I have no idea why. LOL Love the way the professional ones look, just don’t have the desire to try them at this point.

  7. Currently, my nails are the prettiest they’ve been. I usually don’t bother much with them because they do tend to break off, but I’ve been using the gel manicures. They look very similar to acrylic but only last two weeks. I actually peeled the gel overlay off, but you can go and get them removed at the salon. I’m actually enjoying the longer nails..makes me feel girly 🙂

  8. So we’re a blog of ungirly girls! I can’t stand anything to do with my fingernails. I chop them short and file them smooth every two weeks and leave it at that. As soon as they get a little long they bug me. I hate how they look painted, and don’t have the patience for how short a manicure lasts either.

    But, I’m with Melissa on toes. For some reason my hot pink toenail polish lasts for weeks and I love it. My one concession to girlhood, but I’m still too cheap to pay someone else to do it! 😉

Show us some love and leave a comment!

