Reader Survey Results

I didn’t get a statistically significant number of results to my reader survey, but they were still interesting. (You can still participate! Click here to take the survey.)

Respondents were evenly split in how many of my books they’ve read.

They all gave the last book they read a 4 or 5. That’s nice, since it’s all anonymous! šŸ™‚ But maybe they were afraid I’d know, anyway. That’s okay.

All who answered the question were female, not a surprise.

All but one are married! That one did surprise me a little.

All are over 30. Also not a surprise.

Jobs ran the gamut, though none are students or retired.

Income also covered the full range.

Other things they like to do also ranged widely, though every respondent likes to watch movies at home, though less than half like to do it in the theater.

Most said “Sports, uck!” That made me sad. One has a favorite team, one listed eight or more. But I think I can safely leave “sports lovers” out of my description.

The last question was the most meaty. No surprises here, either, which makes me really happy. My readers read all over the range. Everyone reads romantic suspense. The fewest picked literary. Everything else was chosen by a majority of respondents, with romantic adventure and contemporary romance tied for second.

Thanks to everyone who participated or had interest in the results! Like I said above, the survey will stay live, so feel free to take it any time!

6 Responses

  1. very interesting survey but how are you planning to use the information you collected? Target marketing? Tweaks to book plots that you know your readers would enjoy? Tweaks to the ages of your H/H based on your readership ages? Did you collect educational level? That’s always interesting. Can help set the tone of your stories.

    Or were you just curious?

  2. It’s not going to affect how I write, Cyndi, but it might help with marketing. Education would have been good to ask, but I ran out of questions in the free survey! LOL

    • see? It might affect what I wrote. For example, if my target market is 30-45 y/o women, they might rather read about heroines older than 18. Or if I noted that my readers enjoyed my cowboy novels more than my small-town lake-based novels, I might write more cowboys. That’s what I mean.

      • I get what you’re saying. But I don’t write to reach a target market. I write what I want to write, and this was to see what kind of readers are liking it. šŸ™‚ I would need a far more in-depth study to find out why, though.

  3. Hmm, interesting, though I have to say that even women who don’t watch sports might enjoy reading about a sports character. Myself included. šŸ˜‰

Show us some love and leave a comment!

