Same Kind of Different As Me

From the book:

Meet Denver, a man raised under plantation-style slavery in Louisiana in the 1960s; a man who escaped, hopping a train to wander, homeless, for eighteen years on the streets of Dallas, Texas. No longer a slave, Denver’s life was still hopeless-until God moved. First came a godly woman who prayed, listened, and obeyed. And then came her husband, Ron, an international arts dealer at home in a world of Armani-suited millionaires. And then they all came together.

But slavery takes many forms. Deborah discovers that she has cancer. In the face of possible death, she charges her husband to rescue Denver. Who will be saved, and who will be lost? What is the future for these unlikely three? What is God doing?

Same Kind of Different As Me is the emotional tale of their story: a telling of pain and laughter, doubt and tears, dug out between the bondages of this earth and the free possibility of heaven. No reader or listener will ever forget it.

From me:

I had absolutely no idea what to expect when I started reading this book.  Sure, I had heard that it was a great read and that it was hard to put down, but I had no idea that it would be so thought provoking.

For some reason, every book I read lately has a character fighting cancer and it hits too close to home for me.  I’m not usually a crier when I read, but this one made me choke-up.  Surely, it was because of my ongoing fight, right?

I enjoyed reading along as Ron’s life was changed by the homeless Denver.  He was trying to change Denver’s life, which he did, but he didn’t expect for his own life to be changed.

Deborah was a woman that I hope to be one day.  She made me really sit and think about how I treat people, and if maybe, just maybe I will ever be able to make a difference in someone else’s life.

It was very interesting to read about Denver’s life before he started hopping trains, and living a homeless life.   After reading how some of the homeless people make people think they are eating food out of the trash was kind of funny.

This is a quick and easy read.  I laughed, almost cried, and smiled throughout this autobiography.  It was really nice, for a change, to read about something real happening for the good, instead of all the bad things that are happening.

2 Responses

  1. I read this book last year and absolutely loved it. What an inspirational story all the way round. Thanks for the great review!

  2. Great Review, Julie.

    I love how the books you bring the blog always bring a different genre to the group,.

    Thanks

Show us some love and leave a comment!

