• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Welcome Guest Blogger Inez Kelley

Welcome Guest Blogger Inez Kelley to Everybody Needs a Little Romance.  Her books include Carina Press Releases Salome at Sunrise, Coming Clean, Sweet as Sin and her newest release Turn it Up.  Her books have been known to take the reader on an emotional roller coaster ride you don’t want to miss.   Sweet as Sin was awarded a one of my rare 5 Heart reviews.   Welcome Inez and thanks for taking the time to visit with us.

Now on to the questions:

I’ve heard a lot of author’s mention play lists they listen to while writing, do you listen to music while you are working or do you have to have the quiet?

With three kids out of school for the summer, there is no such thing as QUIET. I don’t use the radio/TV/anything else but there is always the continual calls of “MOM!”.

I’m a Twitter junkie and I’m bad about reading Twitter posts when I am supposed to be working.   Do the social networking sites tempt you away from work when you are writing?  Do you allow yourself time on them or do you have to stay away from them completely while working?

I always have tweetdeck open, and usually my email program. It takes no time to glance up in between writing sessions and check in. It makes the day pass faster. I try not to get involved in tweet-discussions when writing though. Too much brain time I should be using in the book.

How has social media affected your career as a writer? I love it. If someone is reading my book and tweets me or emails or whatever and says something, I fly high all day. It is real time connection to readers that previous generations never had. I like that I can respond in live-time and forge a connection.

Facebook, I hate. I am just not good with that format.

“Be careful or you’ll end up in my book!”  Do your characters have traits of friends and family?  Or are they completely new individuals? I never know until after I am finished, honestly. For example, I wrote one story and moved on to edits on another. My BFF read the first book and called me squealing “That sounds exactly like so-and-so!”

I blinked and went, “well, crap, I guess it does, doesn’t it?”

So I don’t intentionally do it but some people do find their way into my stories.

Are you a full time writer or do you have to make time to write?  Is it difficult to juggle working, writing and family life? EXTREMELY in the summer. It is my least productive season. I joke that I got more writing done when I had an outside the house job than I do since I now stay home but it’s the truth during the summer.

Lightning round!

Favorite color? Chocolate brown
Favorite beverage? Sweet Tea
Favorite Food? Potatoes, almost any way
Favorite animal or pet? Cats, I have two, Banshee and Mojo
Sweet snacks or salty? Salty
Morning person or night owl? Night Owl
Mac or PC? PC
TV, Radio or Nothing when you are writing? Usually nothing
And because you’re a romance author:  Sweet or smutty? Yes to both, often at the same time

Now – will you tell us a little about TURN IT UP

I had a BLAST writing this book. It was probably the most fun story to write I’ve ever done. I really enjoyed letting the characters swap traditional romance-gender roles (the heroine is a former stripper, the hero is Ward Cleaver Type- She wants sex, he says no – She is forward and flirty, he is shyer but still manages to let the heat sizzle- etc)

TURN IT UP is a lighter look at sex and a deeper look at forever and infertility.

Dr. Bastian Talbot and self-proclaimed sex goddess Charlie Pierce heat up the air waves with their flirty banter as radio hosts Dr. Hot and the Honeypot. Off the air, they’re best friends…but Bastian wants to be so much more. He wants Charlie—in bed, and forever.

Problem is, Charlie doesn’t do commitment. Sure, she’s had X-rated fantasies of Bastian, but he was always just a friend—until he impulsively proposes and unleashes the lust they’ve been denying for years. Charlie’s willing to explore where their wild chemistry leads, but she won’t marry him. And he won’t have sex with her until she accepts his proposal, despite her seductive schemes.

What are Dr. Hot and the Honeypot to do? Ask their listeners for advice on how to tame a sex kitten and turn a perfect gentleman into a shameless lover. The Race to Wed or Bed is on…who will turn up on top?

TURN IT UP

Coming from Carina Press

August 1, 2011

Also, Mark your calendars for AUGUST 3rd and be sure to follow @DrHotBastian and @HoneypotCharlie on Twitter.

They are staging a  free-for-all. They’ll take questions about themselves and the book, Carina Press, sex and whatever else you throw at them both on the Carina Press blog and on twitter. That frightens me a little, frankly. When those two are left unsupervised, well, things can get rather… interesting.

Thanks again to Inez for stopping by and visiting with us.  I definitely recommend her book and I am loving Turn it Up, my review will be posted later this week.

Turn it Up can be purchased on August 1st at the retailers listed below:

Amazon
Barnes and Noble
All Romance ebooks
Carina Press
11 Responses

  1. *waves hello* *clicks on the Follow button on Twitter* I’d say more, but I am pre-caffeined on four hours sleep and not allowed to speak in public.

  2. Welcome Inez. Thank you for a wonderful interview. I can’t wait to finish Turn it Up and see who wins the battle between Charlie and Bastian. My vote is for Bastian. 🙂

  3. Welcome to the blog, Inez. the new book sounds like a lot of fun!

  4. Welcome, Inez. I follow you on Twitter and I know you are active there. I’m jealous. So many authors have found a nice cozy home at Twitter, but I struggle with it. I never know what people are talking about and I always feel like I’m horning it on folks conversations. I don’t even know how to post an image though I did finally figure out how to RT. Yay. Me. So what tips do you have for building excitement on Twitter…btw, I love your idea for the Doc and his honeypot. Cute!

  5. Sounds like a great book! I’ll have to look for it. I admire your ability to keep an eye on Twitter and keep going — I find email all by itself a massive distraction!

    Know exactly what you mean by summer distraction, by the way . . .

  6. Great interview questions, Heather! 🙂

    Thanks for being our guest, Inez! The book sounds great and I can’t wait to see them on Twitter! 🙂

  7. Hi Inez. SO sorry to be late. Someone gifted me with their cold this weekend, so I’ve just woke up.

    I’m like…I hate Facebook. I don’t know why but it seems to random. I don’t think I know half the people who have “friended” me there so many times their comments mean nothing.

    I love Twitter because it’s fast and to the point.

    I’ll be on the lookout for Turn It Up..both the review and the book!

    Thanks for coming by. Come by again, okay?

    • Cyndi, as an author, you’re not SUPPOSED to know half the people who friended you on Facebook! Actually, ideally, we shouldn’t know MOST of the people who friend or fan us. Those are our readers, hopefully. They might be people who want us to be their readers, but… 🙂

  8. Liz… I liken Twitter to a cocktail party and I eavesdrop on everyone, occasionally jumping into a conversation. Since I work from home, this is my water cooler.

    TALK to people, don’t always do the BUY ME thing. I have met some greatly interesting people that way. I follow people outside the industry too so my convos are varied. Share up and down on the foodchain. Don’t just talk to authors at the same success level as you. Newbies have a lot of great things to say as well as ultra-popular authors. A reviewer or a fellow cat-lover or a person who saw the same TV show you did last night, say hi to them all. Never be afraid to say HI to someone. It doesn’t hurt and you might make a new twitter buddy.

  9. Mmmm potatoes and a night owl … me too!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

