• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

American Thighs: The Sweet Potato Queen’s Guide to Preserving Your Assets

From the book:

“If I can save one woman from these thighs, I will not have lived in vain,” #1 New York Times bestselling humorist Jill Conner Browne writes in American Thighs, her handbook and memoir for the Hot and Flashy. Whether young enough to look “hot” or of the age to only feel that way (in flashes with buckets of sweat), every woman has given, or will give, ample thought to preserving her best “assets” (thighs included), so that the dread transition from “cute girl” to “ma’am” won’t be quite so unsettling.

Here are stories of growing up and learning about life — usually the hard way! From disastrous haircuts and color jobs to fashion or verbal faux pas committed, from the kiss wished for but never gotten to the one that should have been skipped, these are the moments that mark each of our journeys from what we thought back then to what we now know. Since to say that Youth is wasted on the Young has got to be the understatement of all time, it falls upon Browne, as one older and wiser, to take a “Hit and Run” down Memory Lane for the sake of offering “Asset-Preserving Tips,” with astonishing disclosures about:

  • Why women have risked their lives just to get a little bit blonder
  • How the muumuu has been fashionably resurrected as the “patio dress”
  • Why it’s important to always have a good photo of yourself on hand — just in case
  • How, no matter what skin you’re in, to make it last a lifetime
  • Why you can never trust anyone over eighty-five

From Me:

Well, well, well.  This is a first.  I am actually doing a book review on a book that I never even finished.  Odd, huh?

Let me tell you why.

A good friend of mine recommended this book to me.  She told me that it was hilarious, and she laughed out loud as she listened to it.  You see, she listens to books as she does her work through out the day.  It makes the time go a lot faster, especially when you are doing redundant work.  I happen to know this first hand because I used to work with her.  We shared an office for a while, and started listening to books while we worked.  It drove the rest of the place crazy, but we loved it.  Oh, I digress.

So, when she recommended this book to me, she told me that she wanted to know if it was as good in print as it was on disc.  It was not.  I tried really hard to stick with it.  I tried really hard to like it.  It just wasn’t happening.

I will admit that there were some really funny stories at the beginning of the book, and I mean laugh out loud funny.  Then it all started to drag on, and on, and on some more.  I don’t really understand why people have to use the “f” word, and so I am sure that might have played a part in my not liking this one.

Honestly, I think this book might just be one of those books that would be better as an audio book.  The author reads the book, and being from the South I am sure her southern drawl makes the listening even more enjoyable.

I do not recommend that you “read” this one, just listen to it.  I like Audible.com, be sure to check it out if you like listening to your books.  I’m not really giving this one any flaming hearts because I feel like I need to finish it first.  Next time I will listen to it.

2 Responses

  1. Very interesting. I confess…I didn’t finish The Sweet Potato Queens, the first book. I wanted to like it. I really wanted did, but somehow, the jokes fell flat for me. But just for me. I had friends who LOVED her book and her writing.

    A good example of why there are so many different genres and writers. We all have different tastes…which is also why I love having you review with us. You always reach out for a different book!

  2. It’s an interesting question. I actually think it’s harder to write a book that works in audio than in text. The reader works WITH you on the page. If she doesn’t want to read description, she learns to scan it. If she doesn’t want to read sex, she learns to scan it. With an audiobook you are forced to listen to every. Single. Word. I’ve learned to NEVER listen to forensic murder mysteries, horror, etc. Because you can’t tell what/when to skip.

    So I’m betting if you didn’t like it in text, you’d have liked the audiobook even less. Some days it really does just come down to taste.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

