• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Only Mine Blog Tour, A Fool’s Gold Novel by Susan Mallery

WINNER: VICKI WHITTEN — Contact me at cp2006 at mac dot com

I’m so sorry for not posting over the weekend. All four of our youngest have been sick with fevers as high as 102. All is well now, and I’m super excited for the winner! Vicki, please contact me by Friday or I’ll have to draw for a new winner. This was such a blast. Not only did we have 90 entries for the drawing, we had lots of fun conversation. Thank you, readers! And thanks to Susan Mallery. We were honored to be apart of the blog tour.

 

ENALR is very excited to be a part of the Only Mine Blog Tour! Only Mine is the newest Fool’s Gold release from New York Bestselling Author, Susan Mallery. Today we have a quick review of Only Mine, a Q&A with Mallery, and for one lucky commenter, a gift certificate so you can buy the upcoming Fool’s Gold trilogy … on us!

If you haven’t been reading the Fool’s Gold series yet, then you are in for a great summer treat. Mallery is known for her wit, charm, and deeply emotional and satisfying books, but with Fool’s Gold Mallery—being inspired by her readers—has gone a step further in her current series by creating a virtual world for the series. This virtual world is a place where readers can connect with one another and Mallery, and, perhaps best of all, a place to peek in on their favorite characters. I find it just plain fun to see characters live on outside of the book itself. It’s a true treat. As are the books. Here’s my thoughts and a bit on the newest release Only Mine 

Only Mine is the fourth book of the series, but can still be read as a stand-alone. I loved the first three, Chasing Perfect being my favorite. But Only Mine came close to taking over the number one spot.

Shortly after the arrival of devastating news, Dakota is given the glorious job of overseeing the romance reality competition filming in Fool’s Gold. It proves an entertaining and hectic distraction. She not only has to make sure it doesn’t get out of control, as no one is too happy about the presence of a reality show that makes the Fool’s Gold women look desperate, she’s also screening all eligible bachelors. Bachelors that come from all over, and two of which have an irate sibling in tow.

Finn Anderssen is determined to keep his brothers off the show, but these brothers are classic TV material. They are not only perfect contestants, but Mallery is quick to throw in fun storylines for both. With Dakota doing the screening she’s the first to receive the wrath of Finn, but her smooth logic is well matched with his passion and love for his brothers. It’s against the better judgement of both Dakota and Finn to get involved, but with stress rising, chemistry boiling … what are they to do?

I loved many things about this book, but to keep things short and sweet I’ll tell you my favorite thing about this book. While I very much enjoy seeing a couple stumble, explore, and slowly find their perfect fit together, this couple was different. I think I had so much fun with Finn and Dakota because they fit immediately. There was a lot of logic and maturity with equal amounts of heat and laughter. There was still plenty of journey to enjoy. There was lots for the both of them to over come, but there was something very settled about the two of them as a pair, and I found myself experiencing a deeper enjoyment in watching them as a couple. Even if they didn’t see it from the start. Nothing better than two perfect-for-each-other, but blind people coming together in a land full of happy endings.

Up next is the other two sisters of the Hendrix triplets, Montana and Nevada. I foresee lots of more fun!

And now Susan Mallery herself will tell you a bit about Fool’s Gold and it’s newest release, Only Mine … 

Susan Mallery Q&A

You have a website, photos, newsletters, cheerleaders… you name it, you’ve got it. Fool’s Gold is beginning to feel as real as the town I live in. How long did it take to put all of this in motion, and is there a particular thing that inspired you take it so far?

My readers inspired me to create www.foolsgoldca.com. Over and over again, I hear from readers that they love series that create a true sense of community, and that’s what I wanted to give them with Fool’s Gold. On the Fool’s Gold website, you’ll find more than excerpts from the books – although they’re there, too. You’ll also find some pretty fabulous bonus content created by my team. Between-the-books updates, a map of the town, a colorful history going back about 800 years, the calendar of festivals, a free quilting pattern, a free knitting pattern, a free cookbook, how to send off for a free bookmark… I could go on and on, but you really have to check it out for yourself.

As for how long it took to put it together, well, I can’t answer that yet because it’s an ongoing thing. We continue to make changes and additions. I’ll return to Fool’s Gold in 2012 and 2013, and may continue the series beyond that.

I really enjoyed your main characters from ONLY MINE, Dakota and Finn. I liked them as characters, as well as a couple. I imagine that you had a fun time writing about them. What did you enjoy the most about each of them?

Thank you! I love them, too! Dakota has a very special sort of optimism – a very proactive sort of optimism. Last year, readers learned that Dakota was facing something pretty major in her life, but they didn’t learn what it was. In fact, Dakota hasn’t even told her mother or her triplets sisters yet because she keeps her problems to herself until she has a plan for solving them. Plus, Dakota’s funny and warm and adores her family more than anything. Which is why she’s so drawn to Finn.

Finn is a family man, even though he’s not sure he wants to be. When his parents died, Finn stepped in to raise his younger brothers. Now he thinks if he can just get the twins through college, he’ll be off the hook and can go back to being a carefree bachelor. What he hasn’t realized yet is how lonely he would be without a family around him.

Finn is my favorite hero of Fool’s Gold so far. And I still find myself thinking of Crystal Westland, who I found to be a deeply touching addition to the series. For me she’s a hero in her own way. I’m guessing that you don’t have favorites among your characters, but I gotta ask … Out of all the heros and heroines you’ve created in Fool’s Gold is there one particular hero and heroine that stands out to you more than the rest?

I do love them all, but I have a very special place in my heart for Dr. Simon Bradley, the hero of ONLY YOURS. As a child, Simon felt isolated by his astonishing intelligence. He just didn’t fit in. Then a tragedy left him with scars on half of his face, which made him feel like even more of an outcast. So here’s this man with such a big heart that he has dedicated his life to helping pediatric burn patients, but who feels unlovable. I paired him with Montana Hendrix, the youngest of the Hendrix triplets, a woman who is the physical embodiment of love. She has an amazing purity of heart, and only a heart that pure could heal the handsome doctor.

Although your books are lighthearted, you also write about some very serious issues, topics that are relatable to the women who read your books. Is it tough to balance a humorous tone with serious topics?

It’s a natural balance for me, not something I really think about. Even in moments fraught with emotion, I can find the funny. Sometimes that gets me in trouble in real life, but in fiction, I get lots of thumbs up from readers who love when I make them laugh and cry in the same scene.

In ONLY MINE, Dakota is struggling with an issue I think will feel familiar to a lot of my readers. Sharing a problem with a character in a book allows a reader a safe way to explore that problem, and to find a way to make peace with it. And the happy ending gives her hope!

Anyone who follows you on twitter knows that you love reality shows. How excited were you to fit one into this story? (Personally I found it a fun and clever way for a lot of conflict. I enjoyed it!)

Thank you! What I love about reality TV is that we get to be voyeurs. Even in the silliest of situations, those emotions are real. That’s why it’s so fun to watch celebrities out of their element on shows like Dancing with the Stars, because the façade drops and we see their pure joy, frustration, disappointment, anger… it’s all laid out there on screen.

That’s what reading fiction does for us, too. Although the characters aren’t real people, if the author has done her job, their emotions feel real. I think even readers who don’t love reality TV will enjoy ONLY MINE. In fact, they might enjoy it even more because things don’t go quite as planned for the show’s sleazy producer.

Your names for the triplets are fantastic. Did any particular thing inspired the names?

Dakota, Montana, and Nevada were named by their older brothers, who were all under the age of six at the time. You can read the full story in the Fool’s Gold Holiday Wishes magazine that’s available on the Fun Stuff page at www.foolsgoldca.com. It’s a very dramatic story, and funny, too. Wait till you see what the boys would have named their sisters if Mom and Dad had let them.

Do you know yet how many more books we can expect to come out of Fool’s Gold?

I know there will be at least seven more books after this year’s. In 2012, three delicious cowboy brothers and their younger sister will move to Fool’s Gold. And in 2013, I think I’m going to establish a bodyguard academy on the edge of town. After that, who knows? If readers clamor for more from Fool’s Gold, anything’s possible. (You can let me know you want more by writing to me at www.facebook.com/susanmallery, www.twitter.com/susanmallery, or http://www.goodreads.com/susanmallery.)

Are you working on anything new outside of Fool’s Gold?

BAREFOOT SEASON, my next women’s fiction novel, will be out in April 2012 and will launch a new series set on quaint Blackberry Island. The story is about two former best friends who have to work together to save the inn they both love.


New York Times bestselling author Susan Mallery has entertained millions of readers with her witty and emotional stories about women and the relationships that move them. Publisher’s Weekly calls Susan’s prose “luscious and provocative,” and Booklist says, “Novels don’t get much better than Mallery’s expert blend of emotional nuance, humor and superb storytelling.” While Susan appreciates the critical praise, she is most honored by the enthusiastic readers who write to tell her that her books made them laugh, made them cry, and made the world a happier place to live. Susan lives in Seattle with her husband and her tiny but intrepid toy poodle. She’s there for the coffee, not the weather.

Susan Mallery has one of the greatest author websites out there. Along with a member’s only section there is a press kit on the about page, which has a really great Q&A all about her and her writing!

Comment below with your favorite reality show to be entered to receive a $30 B&N gift card. If you don’t watch reality shows then comment with a favorite romance book that you enjoy recommending to others. Deadline is this Friday, August 12, 2011. This post, and the ENALR contest page will be updated over the weekend with the winner, who can also be emailed if preferred, and if you leave your email in the comments.

ETA: Please leave your name in the comments. You don’t have to leave your email unless you want to, but if you don’t you’ll have to come back to check for the winner over the weekend. I’ll do my best to post it Friday night.

*Received via Little Bird Publicity in exchange for an honest review. 

330 Responses

  1. I probably like American Idol the best because it’s something I can watch with my kids, and it give regular Joes a chance to get some exposure. And it’s uplifting, unlike some of the cheesy, sickening Bachelor/Bachlorette/Jersey Shore shows which thrive on bad behavior and shock and awe for the watchers. For that same reason, I also like Extreme Markover Home Edition because it creates good rather than slimy bad.

    • Oh, Liz! I love American Idol! I like to watch Idol (and Project Runway) while on Twitter. It’s like the world’s greatest slumber party. You can be dressed in your most comfortable clothes, and no one can see you… but you still get the benefit of great conversation!

      About the bad behavior… I feel the same way about the show Bridezillas. It’s one thing to capture bad behavior spontaneously, but to set it up so these brides are encouraged to treat people horribly…

  2. I love extreme makeover home edition!

  3. I am a die-hard Amazing Race fan. I love seeing the geography and learning a little about the different cultures as the contestants travel around the world. I used to enjoy it more when they did real challenges that were about strength and coordination – the food challenges just make me feel ill! The reality show that Susan does in Only Mine would probably be the type of relationship reality show I’d watch because no one is dating multiple people. Ick…

  4. Loved this book. Very nice Q&A

  5. I’d like to know if Ms. Mallery spends most of her day “living” in Fool’s Gold in her head. Seven more books–YAY!
    I watch America’s Next Top Model and thank the good Lord that I only have boys to raise.

    • LOL. I only have one girl, Keri. She is enough.

      I’ve watched past episodes of America’s Next Top Model. It was against my better judgement, as I am not a Tyra fan. However, I actually enjoyed seeing how hard modeling can be, and REALLY liked seeing the set up VS the end result. There is some amazing photography on that show.

    • Oh, Keri, I love America’s Next Top Model… It’s so much fun to watch beautiful women behaving badly. LOL

      And yes, I do spend a good deal of time living in Fool’s Gold. It’s a good thing I love it so much! It’s a happy place to be.

  6. It’s a good one. I adore Fin.

    I’m glad you enjoyed the Q&A. It’s amazing how nervous doing a Q&A can make a person.

  7. Marily, My Q&A comment was for you.

    WordPress, Fix your reply option. It doesn’t work but every other darn comment.

  8. Crystal, Learn how to spell names.

  9. I am a reality show junkie much to my husbands dislike. We watch Dancing with the Stars, So you think you can Dance, American Ido, Project Runway, Extreme Makeover-Home Edition, The Voice and probably several others.

    I got tired of Amazing Race (do love seeing the places they go though) and Survivor. I still watch Big Brother, which is a train wreck according to my husband.

    We’ve recently gotten hooked on American Restoration, Pawn Stars and Storage Wars.

    The book sounds awesome, I will definitely have to check it out. thanks for sharing with us Susan.

  10. I am a die-hard Survivor fan. I could never do the show. Even if I could stand all the tough competitions, I figure the others would boot my bossy butt off the first chance they got! I also love the house hunting shows on HGTV. I watched The Voice this year and really enjoyed it more than I thought I would (since I gave up on American Idol YEARS ago.)

    Great interview. I confess I haven’t read this series but maybe it’s time I did!

    Thanks to Susan for stopping by today.

  11. not crazy about reality TV but I love Fool’s Gold!!!

    debr97 at yahoo dot com

  12. So You Think You Can Dance…

  13. I am the opposite of a reality show junkie! I don’t watch it much anymore, but the only one I really tolerate is Dirty Jobs. (Though I did watch Queer Eye for the Straight Guy for a while!).

    My daughter is named Dakota! It’s nice to find a heroine with that name, since everyone assumes she’s a boy. 🙂

    • Dakota is such a gorgeous name. I love all three names for the Hendrix triplets, and it’s just so sweet how they got their names too. Mallery ideas are often so endearing.

    • Aw, that’s nice! I’m glad the name made you smile. So if you have two more girls, will you name them Montana and Nevada?

      • LOL! Will NOT have any more kids, thank you very much. But I named the baby in my first published book Montana. 🙂 I think those are strong, freedom-oriented names for girls.

        Thanks for guesting with us, Susan, and for taking so much time with the comments! You’re awesome (and the book is in my to-buy folder. 🙂 )

  14. I love to hate The Bachelor/Bachelorette. After all, if someone doesn’t fall in love, there might be some great hair-pulling fights!

    • LOL, Julie. I think we all like just a little drama every now and then.

    • LOL, Julie! Exactly! I think what I find so compelling about the show is that some of the contestants seem genuinely earnest. They can’t possibly be that good of actors, can they? I really think the emotion is real, but at the same time, it’s manufactured by the producers who set the stage.

  15. I avoided reality shows for years, but now I’m hooked! Choose a favorite? Impossible!!! Master Chef, Hell’s Kitchen, Expedition Impossible…. Top Chef and it’s spinoffs; (maybe I’ll actually consider myself a cook one day); Storage Wars there are simply too many to choose from!

  16. I totally love watching The Amazing Race. I cannot imagine being thrown into another country with so little direction and guidance then having to find and solve puzzles too.

    Great interview! Thanks for the small town community books. They give me the warm and fuzzies and I look forward to each and every one!

    lalibrarybug@yahoo.com

    • I loved the first season of The Amazing Race! It was so great, unfortunately I’m not so great at making time for the really good reality shoes.

      We all love warm and fuzzies, I don’t care who you are.

    • Thank you, Valerie! I’m so glad you love small town romances as much as I do. It’s such a warm, happy feeling to return to a town where you know so many of the people.

  17. There are two reality shows if kind of follow. I watch DWTS Texas Women.

  18. Can’t get enough of those Real Housewives of Orange County and New Jersey. If you think your life is boring, just watch them. You’ll cherish your little piece of the world! LOL

  19. I am not a fan of reality tv, so I tend to not watch it.

    I recently purchased Eloisa James’ “Duchess in Love” and have since purchased the other three books in the quartet. “Duchess in Love” is a delightful romp. I couldn’t stop reading the book until I finished.

  20. I love Susan and all of her books!

  21. I am a big Susan Mallery fan and can’t wait to read her latest book! Reality shows are my favorite things to watch -probably because human nature intrigues me. I like The Voice, Extreme Expedition, and Surprise Homecoming. My secret favorite is Big Brother. And I agree with HABrewer’s husband – Big Brother is a train wreck!! 🙂

    • Linda, So many of these I’ve never even heard of. I knew there were a lot of them, but I had no idea!

    • Yep, Train Wreck. Hubby will watch it even though he doesn’t “want” to. We fast forward through a lot of BB and just watch the competitions and elimations.

      He’s actually like that with most reality shows. He does like Pawn Stars, Am Restoration and Storage Wars though.

    • Oooh, Linda, I’ve been wanting to see Surprise Homecoming. That show looks like a happy tearjerker. As much as I love reality TV, I try to limit myself for my poor husband’s sake. LOL

  22. I love reading your books, can’t wait for all the new ones 🙂

    I don’t really watch reality tv, but my husband loves Pawn Stars and Storage Wars, so I’m going to go with those. lol My favorite show is Hot Shot, but it’s not a reality show 😛 lol

    Keep the awesome books coming 🙂

  23. If I had to pick a reality show, it would be Dancing with the Stars. Or Wipeout, is that a reality show? It makes me laugh.

    As for the Fools Gold series, I wish I lived there! The people, the town, the festivals, the atmosphere… it’s all so inviting! I feel like I’d want to be friends with Dakota Hendrix after reading Only Mine!

    • Kelly, My kids love wipeout so much they run around the house “playing” it. It is as hilarious as the show itself. I say it counts!

    • I think Wipeout could be considered a reality show. I suppose all game shows are reality shows, in the sense that they’re unscripted and feature “real” people, not actors.

      I’m so glad you want to be friends with Dakota, Kelly! I always try to create heroines I’d want to be friends with. After all, I have to spend several months with them while writing the book. Hard to do if you don’t like the woman.

  24. My favorite reality show (not sure if they are considered that or not) are all those HGTV shows House Hunters and My First Place. I just love those shows! I love to see the inside of houses there is no way I can buy!! 🙂
    So excited abou Fool’s Gold!!
    shannonjean14(at)gmail(dot)com

  25. I actually don’t watch reality tv shows anymore, but when Niecy Nash was still hosting “Clean House”, I couldn’t go one week without watching the new episodes. One book I would recommend is “Falling for Gracie”. I just love how passionate Gracie was when she was 14 years old and in love with Riley. Another book I would recommend is “Too Hot Too Handle” by Robin Kaye.

    • Mary, I think you are my twin. I love, love, love Niecy Nash! My husband and I watched all the episodes of Clean House with her hosting them. And FALLING FOR GRACIE was the first Mallery book I ever read, and stands as my all time favorite of her books. I simply adore that book.

    • Thank you, Mary! I love hearing that readers are recommending my books to their friends. I’m so glad you enjoyed FALLING FOR GRACIE. You might really response to ONLY YOURS, out on August 30, too. Montana reminds me of Gracie in some ways.

  26. The Villa, by Nora Roberts

  27. I am not much for watching TV at all unless it is sports…but I do LOVE reading and romance novels and biographies are my favorite. I just got 2 books by Claire Ashgrove that I am anxious to get started on and I just got done reading Covert by Bob Delaney, NBA Referee…a great book!!!

  28. I so love So You Think You Can Dance….I have always been a fan of dance…my four children, three daughters and a son, took ballet, for many years (until the economy got bad) I had seasons tickets to the ballet….I love musicals both in movie form and in theatre form…..in fact I always say that if a movie doesn’t make me sing, dance or laugh I don’t go. Dance fills me up…it is romance to my soul…it paints pictures, evokes emotions and is filled with beauty…much like a good book.

  29. I love your books. I started going to RWA Conference several years ago and the “free books” that I picked up went to create a Library at my job. The Superintendent at my work loves my library and encourages the workers there to take advantage of it. Employees there bring in all kinds of books to supplement it. But hands down, your books go out more than all of the others combined!

  30. I just love the Real Housewives…shows, especially The Real Housewives of New Jersey. It is such a guilty pleasure of mine :)!

  31. I watch Extreme Makeover Home Edition occasionally, but So You Think You Can Dance and The Voice are the two I’ve watched most recently, without fail.

    Susan Mallery’s books far outweigh other author’s on my book shelf. There isn’t a book of hers you can go wrong with 🙂 I’m also a fan of Lori Foster, Susan Andersen, Tara Janzen, and others.

  32. I’m fascinated with the Hendrix triplets! Can’t wait for the next one!

    • I’ve been waiting on these books as well. They are very fascinating. From the beginning I was hoping and wishing for a trilogy on them.

    • Thank you, Jilie! ONLY YOURS has gotten some amazing reviews so far, including this one from Library Journal: An adorable, outspoken heroine and an intense hero in need of emotional healing set the sparks flying in Mallery’s latest lively, comic, and touching family-centered story that is the second tale of the Hendrix triplets but the fifth in her larger “Fool’s Gold” series. Mallery (Only Mine) lives in the Pacific Northwest.

  33. Biggest Loser and Extreme Home Makeover. I love before and afters 🙂

  34. I am a total reality tv junkie and while reading Only Mine I loved the references to several of the shows that I watch. Would love to have a bar in the neighborhood that was a “chick bar” where it is ladies night every night – someplace where you can go and just relax without the sports and men trolling.

  35. I love the series but,,,,I LOVE anything Susan Mallery does….She has kept me sane thru some very horrific times…Thank you Susan…

  36. I like Keeping Up with the Kardashians!8-) LOL!

  37. Haven’t read the series yet but it’s on my TBR list! I am a sucker for romance and can’t wait to read them!

  38. I’m hooked on Next Foodnetwork Star…..I get to see how the contestants evolve into potential series stars and watch them create delicious looking food!

  39. Oh, sorry fogot my email monika_restivow@yahoo.com

  40. I love Dancing with the Stars cuz I love DMitry Chaplin, thats the only reason I watch. Also enjoy the Amazing Race the The Bachelor/ette

  41. I haven’t read the series yet but it’s on my TBR list! I love romance and can’t wait to get started!!

  42. HGTV’s Design Star is probably my favorite. I love seeing the different styles and ideas that is brought out in the show.

    I am not a big reality TV show person, I am into Asian Romance Dramas.

  43. I dont really watch reality shows, but The Voice was good. Im better at recommending books 🙂 I always recommend the Virgin River series by Robyn Carr.

  44. LOVE HER BOOKS,, YOU CAN PICK ME AS ITS MY 60TH BIRTHDAY TODAY,, LOL,

  45. I love the Bachelor/Bachelorette! Watching romance unfold live is almost as good as reading the great stories from my favorite romance novels!
    helen_siomos@yahoo.ca

    • I came close to watching Sweet Home Alabama, as that is my home state. I watched the first episode, and I just can’t. It brings back the whole dating nightmare! LOL.

    • Does it break your heart when the Bachelor/Bachelorette couples break up? I must admit, I wasn’t at all surprised to hear that Jake and Vienna had called it quits. I never did see them going the distance.

  46. Love Susan’s books! Cannot wait to read the new Fool’s Gold series.
    I am not a huge fan of reality TV but I have been hooked on Auction Hunters lately. And I love the Deadliest Catch!

  47. I am a reality tv junkie, but I love the Bachelor/Bachelorette series. I live vicariously through romance on tv and of course through Susan Mallery’s books =)

  48. I’m not a reality show junky as I feel as if the drama in my own life is more than enough, but I do enjoy “Dancing With The Stars” mainly because I love dancing, and the “how-to” of it all. Watching them learn from the beginning to the end and seeing how they improve is pretty amazing. Kirstie Alley changed forms entirely, she was great and very inspiring for other women. You know I loved “ONLY MINE” cause I already told you, but I’ve read all of this series and am fully engulfed. Just waiting for “ONLY YOURS” now.

  49. I love all the Fools Gold books an this one is great too! Can’t wait for more

  50. I just got a Kindle and I am so looking forward to reading this series of books. They look so interesting.

  51. 1) Survivor 2) Amazing Race All the others I can do without!

  52. I love “So You Think You Can Dance” and “Amazing Race”. I also enjoy “Project Runway”, but it isn’t must see TV, like the other two.

  53. The only reality shows that I like are So You Think You Can Dance (thanks to my daughters), the ones on Food Network, Hell’s Kitchen and Project Runaway (again thanks to my daughter). We watch them together so that makes them more fun.

  54. Love all your books

  55. I don’t suppose Sponge Bob counts as reality TV? It’s as close to reality as I get most days. *sigh*

    American Idol is the only reality show I’ve ever followed, and that was for two seasons– when Jordan Sparks and David Cook won. Since then, there haven’t been contestants that really grabbed me, but that’s pretty tough to do these days. Rather be reading. 🙂

  56. I don’t like reality shows.I don’t watch them. However this series of books looks interesting and I’ll have to try them.
    My favorite all time romance to recommend is “Katherine” by Anya Seton in 1954. And now Alison Weir has written a new version of that story.

  57. the bachelor/bachlorette…..are my ALL TIME fav shows….but reading it, you actually get more details, and you feel like your actually in the room…..thats how susan makes me feel….i always fall right into her books….i havent yet finished only mine yet, and i dont want it to end….im reading it slow…so i can make it last til the next one comes out!!!

    • Oh, Christine! I have such a battle with this. I want to devour, but slow down. I can’t stop, but never want it to end.

    • LOL, Christine! That’s one of the downsides of reading a great book… on the one hand, you want to rip through the pages. On the other, you want to make the pleasure last as long as you can. The way I do it is to rip through the pages first and then re-read the book slowly. I hope ONLY YOURS will be worth the wait!

  58. Reality shows are soooo scripted and soooo boring, but if I have to choose one, it would be “The Voice”. My husband got hooked on that one, being a CA fan, and I will admit it sure beats the heck out of “Idol” and all that screeching the audience is subjected to during the early tryouts.

    I would much rather watch a show made from Susan’s “Fools Gold” books.

  59. I have a teenager so we watch Teen Mom and Jersey Shore the most.

  60. Not really into reality TV, or TV watching in general, but I do love my romance novels. I’d rather just disappear into a good book.

  61. uug………don’t care for reality shows but I do love romance books….I’m currently reading One night is never enough by Anne Mallory! It is very, very delish!!

  62. I don’t watch reality tv. Occasionally I watch Dancing with the Stars but I prefer tv shows for entertainment value. As to favorite books to share. Too many to mention. I am always recommending books to friends. all depends on how much I enjoy the book. but just about every book I read I recommend to a friend.

    ladyjeanamarie1@gmail.com

  63. Reality shows are a guilty pleasure for me, too. My favorite is Survivor. And I wholeheartedly agree that everyone needs a little romance in her life. I definitely do. Because of that, I really enjoyed the movie “Crazy, Stupid, Love” that I saw this weekend!

  64. I was determine that this summer I was going to start reading again. The first book I pick up this summer was Someone like you, I had finished it in a day. I can thank Susan Mallery for getting me back into books. Now I make a point to go shopping to the nearest B&N store and check to see if there is any other Susan Mallery and I have also started looking at the ones Susan has suggested.. As for Reality Tv. there is to much of it now and I am not a big tv buff. I have read all the Fools Gold book and anxiously waiting for the next.

  65. My current favorite reality show is The Next Food Network Star. The winner will be announced next week! ; ) I also love Dancing with the Stars!

    Susan, this is such an awesome concept! Congratulations! Only Mine sounds wonderful!

    Crystal, great Q & A and, once again, you’ve added to my TBR pile in a big way!

  66. My Fave reality show is America’s Got Talent! More and more acts are going to the extreme and really keep you on the edge of your seat.

    A book I would recommend is by Teresaa Medeiros, a Breath of Magic. I Love ALL my Authors! Ty for years and years of enjoyment.

    Kristin xo

  67. I have a love/hate relationship with watching The Bachelor/Bachelorette and I love watching Storage Wars although I’m not sure it qualifies as a reality show?? This season was the first time I did not watch American Idol. I just could not work up the interest without Simon! Even though I think he can be very cruel, I still think he makes the show interesting! :). Love reading and love Fools Gold!!

  68. Dancing with the stars!
    My husband bought me a kindle recently and I’m looking forward to adding more of your great books to my collection!!

  69. I haven’t read any of this series by Susan Mallery yet, but I definitely will look into starting it! Thanks for the info on this author!

  70. My favorite reality shows are the Amazing Race and Big Brother. They are both different but I can’t wait for them to start again after they are over. With Amazing Race, you can see other countries and their customs while cheering on your favorite team. Big Brother has lots of drama!
    But nothing takes the place of the Fool’s Gold books – I can’t wait to finish them, only to wish I had the next one!

  71. I like all the Real Housewives shows on Bravotv

  72. I don’t really watch tv, but a great romance to recommend is the JD Robb In Death series. Love it!

  73. LOVE J.D. Robb. I’m currently rereading the series. Started book three last night. Fantastic series.

  74. I just bought Only Mine… I can’t wait to start it. So far the Fools Golds series has been so much fun.

    I don’t watch a lot of reality TV, but I do watch too much House Hunters. Especially the International House Hunter. Totally addicting!

  75. Our Jeanette here has gotten me to watching all those bridal shows. Four Brides & Say Yes To The Dress (even watch bridesmaids!). as for other reality TV…um, America’s Got Talent, Dancing With The Stars and *sometimes* Biggest Loser (depends on the people on the show!)

    THANK YOU SO MUCH SUSAN for joining us on the blog!!!

  76. My favorite reality show is American Idol, and I am so excited because I will be traveling to Columbus tomorrow to attend the American Idol Show on tour!!!! This will be my 5th, I think!!! The shows are always so good and they get better every year! There production team has come a long way!!! Some of them are fabulous on tv but nothing like seeing them live!!!! I am 71, and a little outnumbered there!!!Become a young one again!!!
    Just finished Finding Perfect and it was raining in my living room this morning—-of course HAPPY TEARS!!! Such a heartwarming book! Will read the Help next—like to read book before I see the movie. I have heard nothing but favorable comments about this book!!! Have you read it Susan?

    • My husband read THE HELP. He told me I wasn’t allowed to read it, because he didn’t want to see me cry for the next month. Get the tissues ready!

    • Oh wow, that’s so much fun!!! Have a great time.

      Thank you so much for reading FINDING PERFECT! I love making readers cry. (Does that sound bad?)

      Yes, I read The Help and loved it! It’s a much more serious book than the movie previews imply, but it’s a unique look at a dark side of American history, and very compelling.

  77. Survivor is my all time favorite reality show!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  78. Have watched them all one time or another…am trying not to watch so many…especially those featuring rich, spoiled people…but Survivor and American Idol are still ones I like….Is American Pickers a reality show…it is sort of addictive to see all the stuff people have gathered all across America

  79. Totally – Swamp People. I could sit and visit with Troy Landry all night! Of course, I would probably need English subtitles.

  80. Congrats on the new release, Susan. I’m so happy there are more Fool’s Gold books. I can’t stop watching Celebrity Rehab and Sober House. I think part of it is that we get to see these celebrities who have fame and money, but have the same problems regular people have.

  81. One of my favorite romance books is Irish Throughbred, by Nora Roberts. The story line is just one of my favorites, a good horseman, a foreign beauty, horses and a great love story. She hass two follow up book to that, and I love when you find out what happens to characters you have read about in other books and how there lives have progressed and their families grown.

    • Dani, It’s one of my favorite things about reading. To have sequels and series and spin-off books. I love to see how their lives progress and their families grow. It’s the best thing about Fool’s Gold.

    • The book I’m working on right now – one of next year’s Fool’s Gold books – features a hero who raises thoroughbreds. I have really enjoyed the research for this book. Each horse has such a distinct personality. The stallion in my book is a terror – temperamental, high strung – but he follows the heroine around like a lovesick puppy. I’m having so much fun with it!

      So you have to be sure to read this year’s Fool’s Gold books so you’ll be caught up in time for the cowboy books in 2012. 🙂

  82. I love Big Brother, it is a guilty pleasure.

  83. Reality shows are my weakness! Hard to pick just one, but I love so you think you can dance and my guilty pleasure that I don’t like to admit, is Teen Mom. Love your books!! Can’t wait for the next one.

  84. Big Brother is my favorite reality show. Drama, drama, drama! LOL!

    Love your Fool’s Gold series Susan!!!

  85. I love watching Chopped on the Food Network!

  86. I am obsessed with The Next Food Network Star.

  87. Big Brother is my favorite reality show. Drama, drama, drama. LOL!

    Susan, I love your Fool’s Gold series!

  88. I love The Next Food Network Star on the Food Channel.

  89. I watch The Bachelor/Bachelorette. Really lived the earlier seasons but now I think its just a spring board for “wanna be’s”. 😦

    Tami

  90. I LOVE American Idol! Last season was truly one of the best! Though, my favorite James Durbin didn’t win, I was happy with Scotty! I love the shows on HGTV, too. The Bachelor and Bachelorette shows just turn my stomach! There’s no way I’d want to compete for a man’s heart with 11 other women. No thanks, no way. That’s not “true love”, that’s competition. I don’t think I could get over the guy I was falling for spending time with another woman in a hot tub right before they went out with me. That’s not okay in real life, so it shouldn’t be okay in reality TV. I have been guilty of watching Survivor a few times, too. I don’t watch too much TV, though. I’d much rather read or play on the computer! Thanks for the journey into Fool’s Gold. It’s definitely one of my favorite series! Just waiting (not so patiently…LOL) for Only Yours.

    • Angie, I love Idol, too! I enjoyed this last season. Although I missed Simon’s blunt honesty, I thought Steven Tyler was pretty hysterical… and JLo is a really sweet lady! I was so sad when I heard that she’s getting a divorce.

  91. swamp people,its a great show.. now i got to wait intel next year for it to come on again:) I also Love Ghost Aventures!!

  92. Swamp People sounds like a nightmare to me. It makes me think of alligators. Nature kills, people!

  93. I like the reality shows that give an oportunity to those that have a talent but lack the connections to be known. I don’t like those that intrude in peoples everyday life (it feels fake) and do not believe in the romace ones either.

    • Sounds like you would like American Idol. It’s a pretty good one. 🙂 Thanks for coming by.

    • I do, too… like American Idol. The contestants are unbelievably talented, and it’s a real joy to discover that talent on the show. Of course, it drives me nuts a little when one of them says that if they get kicked off American Idol, they have no other way to succeed. There are lots of people making a living in music, so if these contestants want it badly enough, they can pursue that career whether or not they win Idol.

  94. Hi there. Cheerleader Julie, here. I watch very little television since I have been reading A LOT over the last 1.5 years. However, I really enjoyed American Idol this year and can’t wait for last show of So You Think You Can Dance this week. I do occasionally watch Food Network and HGTV, but that’s pretty much it. A far cry from 2 or 3 years ago. I love the escape reading gives me. Now that the 4 boys are a little older, youngest one almost 12, I have more opportunity. All I can say is keep those Fool’s Gold books coming. Loved Only Mine and can’t wait for the next installment.

  95. Hey all! I have to say my favorite reality T.V. show is The Challenge: (Insert what ever title they have for th season, this season it’s…)Rivals, on MTV. It is formerly know as Real World, Road Rules Challenge, and I have been watching it for years and I’m totally addicted! It’s so time for me to move on to something a bit more mature, but then maturity is not really what reality t.v. is all about is it?!lol I loved the parts in Only Mine that dealt with the reality t.v. show, it definately made me laugh! Can’t wait to see what the next installment will bring us:-)

  96. Probably my favorite show is Amazing Race. We also watch Survivor. We are watching Big Brother. Mostly because there truly is nothing on tv. Nothing! But I have to say, I adore Jeff & Jordan. They are the cutest couple ever! haha

  97. I’ve just started this series and love it. Can’t wait to get to Fools Gold.

  98. Susan, congratulations on the release of Only Mine! I haven’t read this series as of yet, but it sounds like a good one.

    I am a sucker for a good reality show and there are quite a few on tv today. My favorites are the ones that show the creativity of the contestants. For example I love to watch Project Runway, Next Foodnetwork Star, Design Star, Faceoff, Sheer Genius and Master Chef to name a few.

    rjofus(at) gmail(dot)com

  99. Great to have you here today, Susan! Looks like I’ve got a new one to add to by TBR stash. 🙂 I like to watch Dancing with the Stars, Cake Boss and then all those Bridal ones. Boy are my girls in for a rude awakening when the time comes for them to get married! LOL I’m shocked at what some people pay for weddings these days! I’m in big trouble x 2! 🙂

  100. I am a sucker for ANTM, food shows, design shows, and bridal shows. 😀 I am also a HUGE fan of Fool’s Gold. Still waiting for my copy to arrive 😀

  101. Susan, absolutely love all of your books. This latest series is one of my favorites.

  102. I forgot to mention favorite reality show, I like america’s next top model.

    • I do, too. I love watching an ANTM marathon, but now I’ve seen all the seasons at least twice, I think. I’d love it if they would play seasons from other countries. Australia’s Next Top Model, etc. That would be fun, to see what they do differently.

  103. I’ve watched Survivor the longest so I think I just feel I have to lol. I enjoy DWTS, Idol and America’s got talent the most. I remember watching talent shows when young – anyone remember the Gong Show lol.

    catslady5(at)aol.com

  104. I love the reality shows on PBS – 1900 House, Manor House, etc!

  105. Love Top Chef – fun to watch all the drama, but also love how my cooking vocabulary has increased as well as my familiarity with different cooking methods.

    • Mmmm cooking vocabulary, huh? I should do this. Trick the family into thinking I know what I’m talking about when I’m in the kitchen. Yeah, that would never work. After all, I do burn macncheese!

    • I think Top Chef should create a subscription-based meal program. You watch an episode, then go online to say which meal you want them to mail to you. Wouldn’t that be fun? Because seriously, those shows make me want to eat!

  106. I still love the Bachelor/Bachelorette… I am excited to read Only Mine!

  107. I love to watch So you think you can dance. It’s my favorite show, I love that dance is considered a sport. It’s a great way to exercise and to have fun at the same time.

    A book that I would recommend is Diamond by Sharon Sala, I remembered that it was the first book that made me cry. I had felt the pain that the heroine had felt, and I was happy when she finally had her happily ever after.

    So I’m so excited to here that there will be more books to come for the Fool’s Gold series. I love to read Susan Mallery, I’m actually trying to read every book that she has written, I’m working off the goodreads list right now :).

  108. I’ve printed out Susan’s backlist & am catching up off of there. Being a FG cheerleader has opened my eyes to a whole new world of books & authors. I am blessed to have this opportunity & I highly recommend ALL of Ms. Susan’s books!

  109. Thank you to everyone who stopped by to comment! Good luck in the contest!!!!

  110. BIG BROTHER and THE BACHELOR. The 1st b/c it’s fun to love the good & love/hate the villains; and the latter b/c I always root for TRUE LOVE to be found.

  111. I love dancing with the stars. My DH and I tried ballroom dancing for awhile and it was just crazy. Takes alot of time to learn those dance moves. I love Extreme Home Makeover as I think Ty is a doll but the whole crew does amazing things and finally someone who gives back to the America we love.

  112. I love the Amazing Race, too. This last season, Unfinished Business, there were 3 teams from my homestate with two of them making it to the finals. The team that won were two alumnae of my own alma mater, which was very exciting.

  113. Hello Susan, well I must admit I’m not a reality TV show kinda Cheerleader. But I do love Stephen and Aurelia story in ONLY MINE!! I think that kind of show would be more fun to watch than what we have on TV now~a~days. I absolutely love all the Fools Gold series and so looking forward to the next few books. Keep up the magical writing and we will keep sharing it with the world.

  114. I have 2 little boys who take over our tv, watching movies and shows like Wipeout. The only thing I make sure I get to watch is True Blood!

    • We love wipeout at our house. Surely we can count this as reality, right? Ah, well. I watched True Blood for two or three season, but dang did that show go crazy. Haven’t watch much as of late. Thanks for coming by, Emily!

  115. Anyone getting these comments via your inbox, come back by ENALR today … we’re giving away a starbucks certificate. NOM!

  116. I thought I had left a comment but havent found it—so here I am again. My favorite reality show is American Idol. I have been to 6 live tour shows and just got back today from Columbus Ohio for the 6th!Sooooo talented but this was the first year that was too loud!!! Not their fault!!! Also like the dancing shows, especially So You Think You Can Dance. I am 71 and hopefully see The 11th American Idol show next year! Just finished Chasing Perfect and it was raining in my living room with tears of happiness!!! Such a good book—favorite Fools Gold book so far. Have you ever seen any of those shows live Susan? They are always so much better live!!! Hope I see this comment this time and hear from you Susan! You are so good about answering everyone!!! Looking for your comments!!!

  117. How does one enter for the Starbucks card? The only reference I see to it is in Susan’s post earlier today.

  118. Sorry. It was Posey’s comment, rather than Susan’s.

  119. My favourite reality tv show is The Amazing Race! I am inspired to visit so many places from this show. I also like watching Masterchef and Hell’s Kitchen.

  120. I agree that the way Dakota and Finn just clicked helped make the book a huge success. And interesting point about Crystal being a hero in her own right, I’d never thought of that. The little tease of Only Yours and the slight glimpse into the life of Simon Bradley has me basically salivating to get my hands on a copy. He sounds like the perfectly tragic and slightly flawed hero everyone roots for. Can’t wait!

    • I love Crystal, in this book, Kelly Lynn. And BTW, my kids have been sick this week so I’m just now able to do the drawing. You’re just in time! Thanks for dropping by!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

