• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Guest Blogger Jeffe Kennedy, Feeding the Vampire

Let’s get one thing straight, right off the bat: I totally did not set out to write a post-apocalyptic vampire erotic story.

It just kind of, um, happened.

I mean, I love vampires as much as the next red-blooded female. I’ve read Bram Stoker’s Dracula and seen most of the movie versions. I read Anne Rice’s Interview with the Vampire when I was a young tween and received it as the Science Fiction Book Club selection of the month. I loved that book. After that, I read pretty much every vampire book I could find, though few measured up. Then in college, one day a friend informed me over lunch that this obscure Interview book of which I spoke was now not only famous, but she’d written MORE. I went straight from the Deli to the Student Bookstore and glommed onto The Vampire Lestat.

(For the record, Interview came out in 1976 and Lestat, the sequel, first pubbed in 1985 – so it was a substantial lapse in time between the two. I bet I bought it in 1987.)

So, while I read every one of Anne Rice’s vampire books (and the others, too, but I’m talking about vampires right now), I often felt they lacked a certain something. What’s the word I’m looking for? Oh, yes: SEX. Yeah, yeah, she toys with some and there’s sexual tension, but for her vampires, really the blood is the orgasmic part and those of us interested in other body parts meshing were pretty much out of luck.

Since then there’s been lots of vampire sex and romance and, frankly, I think the world is a better place for it.

I even loved the Twilight books, though it’s gauche to admit it now. Stephenie Meyer accomplished an amazing feat, especially  in the first two books, by creating a sexually and emotionally tense love relationship that had no actual sex. I even forgave the lack of the good stuff, which is saying something for me.

Clearly I’ve stuffed my head full of vampire lore these past mumblety-mumblety years.

But I never wrote a vampire story until I had the dream. And boy, was it a doozy of a dream. It was essentially the opening scene of Feeding the Vampire.

I ran with it from there.

(Oh, incidentally, in the dream? Ivan totally looked like Nicholas Cage.)

~~~~~~~~

Blurb: Through good luck and healthy cowardice, Misty has survived the earthquakes that have torn the world apart, but has no skills to speak of. Or so she thinks. She does have blood, and someone must feed the vampire who has offered his protection and strength in exchange for sustenance. Feeding Ivan is a priority, and Misty finally serves a purpose.

But when she awakens tied to his bed, an unwilling gift to Ivan from the townspeople, she discovers he has hungers other than blood. Hungers he expects her to satisfy in the most carnal manner. Under his seductive persuasion, Misty discovers she has the power to sustain Ivan in all ways—while experiencing unspeakable pleasure herself.

~~~~~~~~

Thanks for being our guest today, Jeffe!

Find out more about Jeffe and her books (including Sapphire, coming soon from Carina Press) at her website. Read an excerpt of Feeding the Vampire here.

 

13 Responses

  1. Hi Jeffe. Welcome to ENLR!!

    Love the idea of a fully formed dream…wake up and have the story ready to go. What I wouldn’t give for that! LOL

    What do you see as the long-term viability for vampire romances? Do you think the demand will stay constant (and I’m sure you hope they will!) or do you think the demand may wane in the future?

  2. Thanks for guesting with us today, Jeffe!

    It sounds like the world in Feeding the Vampire is post-apocalyptic. Interesting combination! How does this affect your vamps?

  3. Thanks for having me here, gals!

    You know, Cynthia, I think there will always be a place for vampire romances. They’re sexy and compelling in ways that will always be fruitful to explore. It might be the same as saying “romances with men.” There’s always more stories – if the characters and situations are worth writing and reading about.

    Well, the shattering of the world has driven the supernatural creatures like vamps out of hiding and thrust them together with humans. Resources are limited, so they have to find ways to coexist. I’d like to continue to write about their world in the future

  4. […] Guest Blogging today at Everybody Needs a Little Romance, talking about Feeding the Vampire. Stop by if you can! And if you’re not sick of hearing […]

  5. Welcome to ENALR, Jeffe – btw, your name is so cool and sticks in the mind. Lucky for an author 🙂

    I have to admit. I don’t read vampire books. Never have…eh, but I may be persuaded. Honestly, I don’t like much paranormal – I tend to do light rather than dark if I read it. It all goes back to watching 1000 Maniacs in the 6th grade…oh, and that very tramatic haunted house trip. My vivid imagination can’t tell the difference and I get creeped out. Dracula has always scared the heck out of me. I don’t find biting sexy. I know, you totally don’t like me now.

    But, I am very happy for you. I love that romance is so diverse and encompasses authors like you who feed the imaginations of those who crave those pointy teeth, wings and full moons. And I do think vampires are the Starbucks of the paranormal world. Other “hot” creatures may come and go, but you’ll always find a good vampire tale on every corner, ahem, bookshelf.

    Congrats, Jeffe. May good luck flow on your career like…blood? LOL

  6. Welcome to the blog Jeffe!!

    Love ‘it just happened’ books…also, I too love books with a little extra sexy time in them! I think that’s what was wrong with all that stuff I had to read in high school in college: they lacked the good sexy parts!

  7. Welcome to ENLR Jeffee!!

    I primarily read either paranormal or erotica and love Ellora’s Cave books. I will definitely have to add this one to my list. I started my trek into paranormal with Anne Rice, from there I found Laurell K Hamilton, Christine Feehan and then JR Ward. I love the stuff she writes.

    There are so many good vampire writers out there but there are some that just need to go away.

    Good luck with your book – oh and when does Saphire come out?

  8. Congrats, Jeffe! FEEDING THE VAMPIRE is great stuff, and I’m thrilled for your release!

  9. Thanks, Liz! I’ve written other paranormal creatures much more than vampires. But I do like it dark!

    Keri, if only those teachers had figured out how to get our attention…

    Oh, I love LKH and JR Ward, too!. I agree on the “just go away” bit. Sapphire comes out October 24!

    Thank you Laura!

  10. HI Jeffe,

    A belated welcome! I agree, vampires can be, well, just freakin’ sexy.
    ; ) I don’t share your love of the Twilight series (I can hear the boos and hisses) I do admire Meyer for so successfully combining the dark sexy appeal of a vampire with the wholesome attraction of the knight in shining armor. She nailed it.

    I loved the blurb for FEEDING THE VAMPIRE. Absolutely peaked my interest. Congratulations and good luck!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

