• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

The Party, I Mean Procrastination is Over!

 

Yep, party’s over! Today is the first day of school for the kids.  We had a great summer, but it went way too fast. Now it’s back to the up by 5:00 routine. My girls will head out on their own around 6:45, with my son following around 8:45.

Now what on earth am I going to do with all this free time? LOL

Procrastination. Boy, do I know this word way too well.

The reality is, I’ll finally be able to catch up on the laundry, ironing and pesky housework I’ve slacked off on in order to spend extra time with the kids. Then after the first week is over, I’ll realize how silly I’m being worrying about them and get back to work on my edits.

For me, the start of the new school year is when I make new goals. The kids start a new adventure so it just makes sense that I do the same.  I think this is a coping mechanism and helps me feel like apart of their lives in some way. I mean, they don’t need me as much anymore.  I’m not allowed anywhere near the front doors of the school building and walking them to their first class is so off limits.  LOL I’m sad. I know.

But I’m looking forward to moving forward and finishing up the book I’ve been working on since May.  NaNoWrimo is just around the corner and that means I get to write something new. Gosh, I love the writing part. Edits not so much.

Someone told me to look at those edits like the chipping away of a diamond to get to the most beautiful parts. I like that picture. After all, diamonds are a girl’s best friend. 🙂

So here’s to routines, meeting deadlines and productivity!

What’s one goal you’re bound and determined to reach before the year is up?

29 Responses

  1. Two goals – both writing related.

    There is a call for cowboy short stories for an anthology. Very short -1500-4500. Deadline end of August.

    I’d like to get a series of blogs finished before the end of the year for a possible blog tour for February.

    And Emily – good luck with that potty-training.

  2. Keri: I love the idea of thinking as edits as chipping away to the diamond. I need to keep that in mind when I get frustrated.

    My kids don’t start back until the day after Labor Day, but this year’s going to be a struggle because they have swimming at 4:45AM (!!) four days a week. As a confirmed night owl, I will be struggling. And napping a lot. 😉

    My first goal is to get my RWA11 requests out the door by end of this month. My second is to finish the first draft of the book I’m working on now. And my stretch goal is to be able to start a new book during NaNo.

    And, Emily, good luck! We found Gummi Bears to be helpful. For the kids, I mean. 😉

    • We always started school after Labor day too growing up. Now it seems like they start earlier and get out later. Good luck with those goals and I look forward to trudging through NaNo with ya! 😉

  3. My goal is to get through my final MBA class and graduate in December. It’s the capstone class of Corporate Strategy and I have a professor that is new to the school that will be teaching the section I am taking. (Dr. Stone is still teaching it too Cyndi). I am counting down – 15 weeks and I’ll be completely done 🙂

    Dtr needs to work on potty training Lilly too. she’s home all day with her and there is no reason for her not to work on it. Lilly is 2 1/2 and is too smart not to pick up on it. Shoot she can recognize 1/2 her alphabet already.

    Good luck on finishing your books and your blog tour Cyndi.

    • Good luck with the final MBA class, Heather. You must be ecstatic to be so close. The Engineer and I did grad school at the same time when my kids were in early elementary school. Not sure what I was thinking, but it all worked out. In fact, I kind of miss it. Apparently, I’m a glutton for punishment. 😉

      • Hubby and I did Undergrad together but he graduated a semester before me (he already had some classes). We both got business degrees mine focus is HR and his is computers (MIS). We started grad school together too but he has only been able to take 1 class a semester so he still has 4 more to go.

        It was definitely cheaper because we shared books and we pushed each other to see who got the better grades. 🙂

        • My undergrad is in MIS too! I did my MS in Industrial Technology (similar to Operations Mgmt or Manufacturing Engineering).

          Unfortunately, hubby and I went to different schools and got different degrees (he got his MBA), so no sharing books or quizzing each other. The poor guy had to go at night after working all day, and I went full time while working part time on campus, but at least the Air Force paid for his. 😉

    • Go Heather! 🙂 December will be here before you know it. Congratulations!

      Both my girls were around 2 1/2 when they finally realized I wasn’t going to give up on the potty training and decided it just wasn’t worth fighting anymore. LOL Good luck!

  4. My goal is to complete the book I’m on and have the last one mostly finished by the end of December. It’s going to be tough and I might have to do NaNoWriMo this year to get this done. My word counts have gone up by anoterh 10,000 since I signed the contract so things are tight, tight, tight. In other words I should be writing as I type this. Okay, I am, but, you know, on the wip.

    I’d also like to lose some weight. Hoping getting back into a schedule will help with that.

    • Liz, I find NaNo the best way to finish up novels. I’ve done three this way so far and hope to have a fourth this Novemeber. When they put the search feature back up on the site let me know your ID and I’ll cheer you on! 🙂 I too am looking forward to getting back into a schedule! These kids…LOL Got to Love’em!

  5. My goal: Balance writing and home school better!

  6. My goal is to re-evaluate my bucket list. At my age, some things just aint gonna happen. Time for a new list but this time, they have to be attainable.

    • I hear ya, Terri! I think it’s good to be flexible with these goals. Things change and life is always throwing us curves we have to maneuver around. Dang it! 🙂 Best of luck with the new list!

  7. Get a 3part novella series written and turned in (1/2 through writing roughs now!). edits on something else for 2013. and hopefully get started writing on something else scheduled in for 2013….then whatever else happens along in the mean time because there’s always going to be something!

  8. I’m like in the “downunder” zone when it comes to the end of summer. I get my summers off too. (Teacher) My luxury is having more time to write during the nine weeks I have off. Now that it’s over, I’m going to be scrambling for time to write. :0)

    • Wow! Was it nine weeks, Barbara? It felt like two at the most. Man, I feel guilty now. LOL I didn’t get much done at all. Hope you kind find those precious moments to write. And thanks! I admire those who teach, so much! 🙂 I can barely make it through the homework. LOL

  9. Dammit. Had a whole comment typed and lost it. Let’s see if I can remember everything without re-reading all the comments…

    Good luck on the potty training, E! I do not miss that stage!

    Gwen, 4:45?! I’d have to just stay up all night. No way I could handle that!

    Good luck, Heather, with the final semester! And congratulations on the achievement. (I know it’s early, but you deserve the accolades!)

    My goal: I have a book to finish by next month, another to revise by next month, and promo for back-to-back releases (literally, one day apart). By December, I’ll probably be a wobbling, drooling mass of inability. LOL

    • LOL Natalie! That happens to me all the time! I’ve started to copy my comments before trying to send, just in case. Looks like you’re going to be a very busy girl. 🙂 Best of luck with the releases and promotions!!

  10. I have 2 writing goals to achieve before the end of 2011. The first is an editing goal and the second a writing goal.
    I have two completed novels that needed a major overhaul. The first, Kill Shot, I have revised and polished to sheer brilliance (yeah, right) and it’s poised to be released this month. The other I have taken apart and it’s so fragmented I think I’ll have to kill a tree and print it, then lay it out like a jigsaw puzzle to find a cohesive story.
    My writing goal is to participate in the NaNo again this year. National Novel Writing Month is always in November so I will have to get the edits out of the way and jump in with a clear brain (hah!)
    Those are the goals…Let’s see how it unfolds.
    ~J.D.

    • JD: I couldn’t help mentioning that you might try Scrivener. It’s great for letting you move scenes around and playing with the order of things.

      Yes, I’m an overly enthusiastic fan. 😉 Good luck!

    • Hey, J.D.! I have a tree I’ll give ya! LOL Dang Gum tree has these horrible little pokie balls that do a real number on your tender feet! LOL Good luck! Sounds like you’re already on a roll to me! 😉

Show us some love and leave a comment!

